Sign In

More than 35 journalists to be honoured by CMA at Ottawa gala

After receiving more than 100 submissions for the 2013 CMA's Media Awards for Health Reporting, a panel of judges has selected 10 winners in categories ranging from Excellence in Print Reporting to the Norman Bethune Award for Excellence in International Health Reporting.

"Once again, journalists have risen to the challenge of providing their audiences with insights into key issues affecting the lives of Canadians," said CMA President Louis Hugo Francescutti. "Our judges had some tough choices to make."

The winning recipients, whose names were announced Sept. 12, will receive their awards Oct. 2 during a gala celebration in Ottawa. They are:

  • The Michelle Lang Award for Excellence in Print Reporting: in-depth feature article - Ann Silversides, Maisonneuve, for an article entitled First do no harm; Special Mention, Pamela Fayerman, Vancouver Sun, Michael Douglas builds HPV, oral cancer awareness
  • Excellence in Health Reporting: print (large market) - Catherine Dubé, L'actualité, Le son de l'espoir; Special Mention, Sharon Kirkey, Postmedia News, Psychiatry's hour of crisis
  • Excellence in Health Reporting: print (mid-size market) - Marine Comiou, Québec Science, Nunavut: Au pays de la peste blanche
  • Excellence in Health Reporting: television news - Su-Ling Goh, Clarisse Porca, Morris Gamblin, Global Edmonton, Assisted suicide, parts 1 and 2; Special Mention, Leif Larsen, Gosia Sawicka, Joanne Levasseur, CBC Manitoba, Winnipeg thermography clinic ordered to stop operating
  • Excellence in Health Reporting: television in-depth reporting - Caroline Gauthier, Téléfiction Productions Inc., Télé-Québec, Une pilule, une petite granule - Emprisonné dans son corps : le syndrome de verrouillage; Special Mention, Avery Haines, Shayla Scott, City News, The Inside Story - Dystonia
  • Excellence in Health Reporting: radio - Dr. Brian Goldman, Kent Hoffman, Dawna Dingwall, CBC Radio One, White Coat, Black Art, The drug shortage; Special Mention, Mackenzie Grisdale, Christina Harnett, CBC Radio, Maritime Magazine, Where there's smoke
  • Excellence in Local Health Reporting: print and broadcast - Steve Fischer, Jennifer Beard, Paul Jay, Sarah Lalumiere, Paula Waddell, CBC News Ottawa - Fentanyl: Fatal addiction
  • Excellence in Emerging Health Care Issue: print and broadcast - Maria Cook, Ottawa Citizen, Village people: Too sick to move, too well to stay, hospitals urge elderly patients to 'move on'
  • The Norman Bethune Award for Excellence in International Health Reporting: print and broadcast - Dominique Forget, L'actualité, La chasse aux virus est ouverte; Special Mention, Ioanna Roumeliotis, Corinne Seminoff, Brent Roy, Aileen McBride CBC News, The National, Syria's most vulnerable
  • Excellence in Digital Health Reporting - Kelly Crowe, CBC News Online, Paying for plasma; Special Mention, Jim Williamson, Marie Caloz, Anita Elash, Amber Hildebrandt, Michael Pereira, CBC Television's The Fifth Estate and CBC News Online, Rate My Hospital

"Each year, we are increasingly impressed with the quality of the health-related journalism we see," said Francescutti.

Forward any comments about this article to: