Sign In

Twenty-nine MDs earn leadership credential in 2013

Twenty-nine physicians, including the CMA's new president, have been awarded the Canadian Certified Physician Executive (CCPE) credential that recognizes knowledge, skills and leadership accomplishments within the health care field.

The credential, which was introduced three years ago by the CMA and Canadian Society of Physician Executives, was developed to assist physicians in senior management and executive positions by recognizing leadership excellence.

"I think the credential is also a good indicator that the people who have earned it have the skills and experience needed to influence and bring about change in today's complex health care environment," said then CMA President Anna Reid after the 2013 credentials were awarded earlier this year. Her successor as president, Dr. Louis Hugo Francescutti, is one of this year's recipients.

The 2013 recipients are:

  • Dr. Nahid Azad, Ottawa; professor of medicine, University of Ottawa, and past president, Federation of Medical Women of Canada
  • Dr. Marilyn Baetz, Saskatoon; professor and unified head, Department of Psychiatry, University of Saskatchewan and Saskatoon Health Region
  • Dr. Davy Cheng, London, Ont.; distinguished university professor and chair, Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Medicine, University of Western Ontario, and anesthesiologist-in-chief, London Health Sciences Centre and St. Joseph's Health Care
  • Dr. Frank Dicke, Calgary; chief, Division of Cardiology, Alberta Children's Hospital, and director, Pediatric Heart Transplant Clinic
  • Dr. Arbind Dubey, Regina; radiation oncologist, Allan Blair Cancer Centre, and clinical associate professor, Division of Oncology, University of Saskatchewan
  • Dr. Louis Hugo Francescutti, Sherwood Park, Alta.; professor of epidemiology, University of Alberta, emergency and preventive medicine physician, immediate past president, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and current president, Canadian Medical Association
  • Dr. Randall Friesen, Prince Albert, Sask.; chief, Division of General Surgery, Prince Albert Parkland Health Region, and surgical director, ESS Residency Program, University of Saskatchewan
  • Dr. Mamta Gautam, Ottawa; clinical professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Ottawa, and founding president and CEO, PEAK MD
  • Dr. Richard Gibson, Dartmouth, NS; chief, Department of Family Practice, Capital Health District, Halifax, and community-based family physician
  • Dr. Ellen Giesbrecht, Vancouver; head, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and interim senior medical director, Acute Perinatal Services, BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre
  • Dr. John (Jack) Michael Haggarty, Thunder Bay, Ont.; medical director, Mental Health Programs, St. Joseph's Care Group, and professor, Northern Ontario School of Medicine
  • Dr. Lynne Harrigan, Kentville, NS; vice-president, medicine, Annapolis Valley Health, and assistant professor, Dalhousie Medical School
  • Dr. Brian Holroyd, Edmonton; professor and chair, Department of Emergency Medicine, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Alberta, and senior medical director, Emergency Operational Clinical Network, Alberta Health Services
  • Dr. Rachel Kassner, Charlottetown; chair of the Board and immediate past president, Medical Society of Prince Edward Island, and general practitioner
  • Dr. Rashmi Koul, Regina; radiation oncologist, Allan Blair Cancer Centre, and clinical associate professor, Division of Oncology, University of Saskatchewan
  • Dr. Trevor Lee, Winnipeg; associate head, clinical operations, and medical director, equipment and drug supply and acquisition, University of Manitoba and WRHA Anesthesia Program; site medical manager, Department of Anesthesia, St. Boniface Hospital
  • Dr. Andrew McCallum, Kingston, Ont.; president and CEO, ORNGE, and immediate past chief coroner for Ontario/general inspector of anatomy
  • Dr. David Price, St. John's; division chief, pediatric surgery, Dr. Charles A. Janeway Child Health Centre, and clinical associate professor of surgery, pediatrics, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Dr. Nicole Racette, Vancouver; clinical assistant professor and head, Division of General Gynecology and Obstetrics, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of British Columbia
  • Dr. Ivelin Radevski, Swift Current, Sask.; senior medical officer, Cypress Health Region
  • Dr. Charmaine Roye, Ottawa; immediate past chief of medical staff, Brant Community Healthcare System, and director, Professional Affairs and Strategic Health Alliances, Canadian Medical Association
  • Dr. Abraham (Rami) Rudnick, Victoria; medical director, Mental Health and Substance Use Services, Vancouver Island Health Authority, and associate professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of British Columbia
  • Dr. Richard Seeley, Hamilton; chief, Departments of Complex Care and Aging and Palliative Care, St. Peter's Hospital Site, Hamilton Health Services Centre
  • Dr. Margaret Steele, London, Ont.; vice-dean, hospital and interfaculty relations, and professor, Departments of Psychiatry, Pediatrics and Family Medicine, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Western Ontario
  • Dr. Wadea Tarhuni, Windsor, Ont.; president and CEO, Windsor Cardiac Centre, clinical associate professor, University of Saskatchewan, and adjunct professor, Department of Medicine, and clinical associate, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry (Windsor Program)
  • Dr. Laura Tate, Toronto; assistant professor, University of Toronto, and immediate past chief of surgery/co-program medical director surgical services, Toronto East General Hospital
  • Dr. Myron Thiessen, Steinbach, Man.; vice-president, medical services, Southern Health-Santé Sud
  • Dr. Michael Trew, Calgary; senior medical director, Addiction and Mental Health Strategic Clinical Network, Alberta Health Services, and clinical associate professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Calgary
  • Dr. Michelle Welsford, Hamilton; regional medical director, Hamilton Health Sciences Centre for Paramedic Education and Research, and associate professor, Division of Emergency Medicine, Department of Medicine, McMaster University

To receive the CCPE designation in 2014, eligible physicians must apply by Oct. 31, 2013. Application details are available online.

Forward any comments about this article to: