Sign In
CMA Awards

The Canadian Medical Association is now inviting nominations for the 2019 CMA awards. These awards recognize the dedication, successes and talents of Canadians who are making significant contributions to our health and health care.

Click on the awards listed below to access each award’s nomination form and terms of reference. For an overview of criteria and qualifications required for each award, please click here.

The nomination deadline is November 30.

Recipients are notified in March; awards are presented at the CMA Annual Meeting in August.

Nominators of those not selected are contacted in April and encouraged to resubmit their candidate for the following year.

If you have any questions, please contact

Important notes:

  • Nominations must include the online nomination form containing two letters of support and the nominee’s biography or CV (three-page maximum).
  • Only electronic submissions will be considered.
  • Should fewer than three nominations be received for an award, that award will not be given out and the nomination(s) will be held on file for the following year.
  • Previous F.N.G. Starr Award winners are ineligible to receive the Medal of Service and vice versa.


2018 award recipients