Sign In

CMA members named to Order of Canada

Several prominent members of the Canadian Medical Association were appointed Dec. 26, 2014, to the Order of Canada.

“It is an honour to see these 14 physicians being recognized by their country for their contributions to medicine and society,” said CMA President Chris Simpson.

Named as an Officer of the Order of Canada, Dr. Julio Montaner, from Vancouver, was recognized for his leadership in the international HIV/AIDS research community and for contributions in establishing the global standard of care for HIV/AIDS treatment — work that has been ongoing since the 1980s.

“I will continue in my lifelong pursuit to eliminate HIV and AIDS in BC, in Canada and the world, so that we can truly achieve an AIDS-free generation globally,” Montaner was quoted as saying when informed of the announcement.

Montaner will also be inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame this year.

Dr. Wendy Levinson, Toronto, who heads the Choosing Wisely Canada campaign to improve the appropriate use of medical procedures and tests in Canada, was also named as an Officer, in recognition for her contributions to promote effective communication between physicians and patients and her sustained leadership in academic medicine. The CMA has been working closely with Levinson on the Choosing Wisely campaign.

Also named an Officer to the Order was Dr. Shaf Keshavjee, surgeon-in-chief at the University Health Network, Toronto, and director of the Toronto Lung Transplant Program. He was acknowledged for his innovative contributions to thoracic surgery, notably in the development of a process to improve lung transplantation.

Dr. Norman Marcon, a Toronto-based clinical leader in the treatment of gastrointestinal diseases and use of therapeutic endoscopy, was also named an Officer.

Named as Members to the Order of Canada in these most recent appointments were:

  • Dr. Joanne Douglas, Vancouver, for her contributions to the profession of obstetrical anesthesia, making childbirth safer for women and newborns
  • Dr. Brenda Gallie, Toronto, for her contributions to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of retinoblastoma, a childhood eye cancer
  • Dr. Serge Gauthier, Montreal, for his contributions to advancing our understanding of Alzheimer’s disease and dementia, and for fostering research networks in his specialty
  • Dr. John Kelton, Dundas, ON, for his research into blood cell disorders and his contributions to making Hamilton a hub for health science research
  • Dr. Laurence Klotz, Toronto, for his contributions to the treatment of prostate cancer, notably for leading the adoption of active surveillance as a standard aspect of patient care
  • Dr. Keith MacLellan, Bristol, QC, as a driving force behind the Society of Rural Physicians of Canada
  • Dr. Thomas Marrie, Halifax, as an expert in infectious diseases, a medical educator, and as dean of medicine for Dalhousie University and former dean at the University of Alberta
  • Dr. Jean-Claude Tardif, Montreal, for his contributions to health care and to the advancement of cardiology research
  • Dr. H. Bruce Williams, Montreal, for his contributions to the practice of plastic surgery, particularly for helping burn victims as well as young people with congenital abnormalities
  • Dr. Catherine Zahn, Toronto, for her contributions as a neurologist, health care administrator and advocate for those living with mental health and addiction issues

Forward any comments about this article to: