Sign In

​Medal of Service

The Medal of Service is awarded to a CMA member who has made exceptional contributions to the advancement of health care in Canada.

Recipients must have made contributions in at least two of the following areas:

  • service to their profession in the field of medical organization
  • service to physicians by enhancing the overall health and well-being of physician colleagues on both personal and professional levels
  • service to Canadians by helping to raise the standards of medical practice in Canada
  • personal contribution to the advancement of the art and science of medicine

Nomination form | ​ Terms of reference


2018 Dr. John Dossetor
2017Dr. Jean-Claude Forest
2016Dr. Dana Hanson
2015Dr. John Gray
2014Dr. David Butler Jones
2013Dr. Léo-Paul Landry
2012Dr. Richard Cruess
2011Dr. Balfour Mount
2010Dr. Hugh E. Scully
2009Dr. Michel G. Bergeron
2008Dr. Ruth Collins-Nakai
2007Dr. Paul Walfish
2006Dr. Étienne LeBel
2005Dr. Eldon R. Smith
2004Dr. Normand J. Belliveau
2003Dr. William D.S. Thomas
2002Dr. Victor D. McLaughlin
2001Dr. Jack Armstrong
2000Dr. Mamoru Watanabe
Dr. May Cohen
1999Dr. Estelle Simons
1998Dr. Peter Banks
1997Dr. Arthur Maxwell House
1996Dr. Charles Scriver
1995Dr. Donald Richards Wilson
1994Dr. Augustin Roy
1993Dr. Ernest Henry Baergen
1992Dr. Robert Earl Beamish
1991Dr. James Hutcheson Graham
1990Dr. Donald Laurence Wilson
1989Dr. Paul Henrik Thorbjom Thorlakson
1988Dr. Dorothy C.H. Ley
1986Dr. Marc A. Baltzan
1985Dr. Donald Ingram Rice
1984Dr. Chester Bryant Stewart
1983Dr. Lloyd Grisdale
1982Dr. Robert Orville Jones
1981Dr. E.W. Barootes
1980Dr. R.D. Atkinson
1979Dr. Harold David Dalgleish
1978Dr. Robert Kenneth Colquhoun Thomson
1974Dr. G.I. Sawyer
1973Dr. T.L. Fisher
1971Dr. N.H. Gosse
1970Dr. J.R. Lemieux
1969Dr. E. Kirk Lyon
1967Dr. A.D. Kelly
1964Dr. J.A. McMillan