Sign In

New CMA 150th Anniversary Bursaries and Awards Program launched

More than 34 annual bursaries and awards will be given to medical students to build a strong future for the profession

Quebec City, Quebec, August 22, 2017 — As part of its 150th anniversary being celebrated in Quebec City this week during General Council, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA), in partnership with the CMA Foundation, announces the new CMA 150th Anniversary Bursaries and Awards Program to support the future of medicine.

Over the next five years more than 170 students from Canada’s 17 medical schools will benefit from the newly founded program.

“The future of our profession rests on the students entering medical school and we need to recognize their leadership and provide the appropriate financial support required during those early years,” explains Dr. Granger Avery, CMA President.

In partnership with each of Canada’s 17 medical schools the CMA Foundation will provide funding for a $15,000 award that will recognize student leaders who best represent the values of the medical profession. As well, an $8,500 bursary will provide financial assistance to those who need it the most.

“The CMA Foundation is proud to assist and support the next generation of physicians,” states Allison Seymour, President. CMA Foundation. “This investment is a key legacy initiative we know will contribute to a strong and meaningful future for the medical community.”

The CMA Foundation was launched earlier this year by the CMA, in partnership with its subsidiaries, MD Financial Management and Joule™ to provide impactful charitable giving to further excellence in health care. The Foundation is also trustee for a collection of Donor Advised Funds offered through MD Financial Management. It is governed by a board of directors comprised of Canadian physicians and business leaders.

Grant applications will be accepted beginning in September 2017 through the individual schools. For more information on the CMA 150th Anniversary Bursaries and Awards Program, please visit https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/cmaf-medical-education-bursaries-awards.aspx.

The Canadian Medical Association unites 85,000 physicians on national health and medical matters. Formed in Quebec City in 1867, the CMA’s rich history of advocacy led to some of Canada’s most important health policy changes. As we look to the future, the CMA will focus on advocating for a healthy population and a vibrant profession.

 

To schedule an interview or for further information, please contact:
CMA Media Relations:
MediaInquiries@cma.ca
613-806-1865

Connexion

Lancement du Programme de prix et bourses du 150e de l’AMC

Plus de 34 bourses et prix annuels seront remis à des étudiants en médecine afin de bâtir un avenir solide pour la profession

Québec (Québec), le 22 août 2017. – Cette semaine, dans le cadre des célébrations de son 150e anniversaire durant le Conseil général à Québec, l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a annoncé en partenariat avec la Fondation AMC le lancement du Programme de prix et bourses du 150e de l’AMC pour favoriser l’avenir de la médecine.

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, plus de 170 étudiants des 17 facultés de médecine du Canada bénéficieront du nouveau programme.

« L’avenir de notre profession repose sur les étudiants qui commencent leurs études en médecine, et nous devons souligner leur leadership et leur fournir le soutien financier dont ils ont besoin durant ces années de formation », explique le Dr Granger Avery, président de l’AMC.

En partenariat avec chacune des 17 facultés de médecine du Canada, la Fondation AMC offrira un prix de 15 000 $ qui souligne les accomplissements des leaders étudiants représentant le mieux les valeurs de la profession médicale. Une bourse de 8 500 $ sera également remise comme soutien financier à ceux qui en ont le plus besoin.

« La Fondation AMC est fière d’aider et d’appuyer la prochaine génération de médecins, précise Allison Seymour, présidente de la Fondation AMC. Cet investissement est une initiative patrimoniale importante aux retombées durables qui contribuera certainement à bâtir un avenir solide et prometteur pour la communauté médicale. »

Créée plus tôt cette année par l’AMC, en partenariat avec ses filiales Gestion financière MD et Joule, la Fondation AMC verse des dons à des organismes de bienfaisance qui contribuent à promouvoir l’excellence en santé. La Fondation AMC est aussi fiduciaire de fonds orientés par le donateur, offerts exclusivement par Gestion financière MD. Elle est régie par un conseil d’administration constitué de médecins canadiens et de chefs d’entreprise.

Les demandes de subventions se feront par l’intermédiaire des facultés et seront acceptées dès septembre 2017. Pour en savoir plus sur le Programme de prix et bourses du 150e de l’AMC, veuillez visiter le site https://www.cma.ca/Fr/Pages/cmaf-medical-education-bursaries-awards.aspx.

Créée à Québec en 1867, l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) rassemble 85 000 médecins autour de questions nationales liées à la santé et à la médecine. La noble tradition de représentation de l’AMC a mené à certains des changements les plus importants dans les politiques de la santé au Canada. Pour les années à venir, l’AMC concentrera ses efforts sur la promotion de la santé de la population et du dynamisme de la profession.

 

Pour organiser une entrevue ou pour obtenir un supplément d’information :
Relations avec les médias de l’AMC
relationsmediatiques@amc.ca
613 806-1865