Sign In

2016 Joule Innovation grant recipient update—CMA members driving changes in health care

In 2016, Joule™ awarded its inaugural innovation grants to five CMA members. Six months after having received their grants, these physicians continue to prove that their ventures have immense possibility to drive changes in health care.

Dr. Doug Kavanagh, Medical Director and Co-founder of CognizantMD, received a $50K innovation grant for transforming the way we share medical information between patient and physician. With the advent of the Ocean Tablet, Dr. Kavanagh has effectively created a technology where patients can complete clinical questionnaires on a secure, easy-to-use digital interface, either prior to appointments or while they wait in the language of their choice. In the six months since receiving the grant, Dr. Kavanagh has further developed the tool to reach First Nations populations, and even introduce core mental health focused forms to the system. With over 1.5M patient updates so far, reports show that clinics are seeing a 65% decrease in time needed for appointments.

Dr. Julielynn Wong, a Harvard educated physician and entrepreneurial powerhouse, was awarded a $25K grant for her astounding work in 3D printing. Dr. Wong, founder of 3D4MD – uses a solar-powered, plug-and-play, ultra-portable 3D printing system to produce a range of medical supplies right-on-site, as needed, at a remarkably low cost. Dr.Wong is using grant funds to build a digital library, like iTunes, for people to select and download crowd-sourced 3D printable files to make quality-tested, cost-efficient and even personalized medical and surgical supplies on demand. These solar-powered tools are not only appealing to people who live remotely without electricity, their prompt manifestation eliminates weeks of waiting for delivery.

Dr. Dale Podolsky, an engineer and resident in plastic reconstructive surgery at The University of Toronto was awarded a $25K innovation grant recipient for his cleft palate simulator. Dr. Podolsky is the founder of Simulare Medical Corp, a company that provides the necessary time, space and patience required for trainees to learn and practice complex surgical procedures at their own pace. With help from the grant, Dr. Podolsky says he was able to hire staff, attend high level conferences promoting the company’s work, and even purchase a new 3D printer. In addition, the company has managed to partner with the largest Cleft NGO in the world. Dr. Podolsky is currently working to build a training hub for burgeoning surgeons with the hopes of building stronger surgeons for healthier patients everywhere.

Dr. Kamran Khan, a practicing infectious disease physician-scientist at St. Michael’s Hospital, received a $25K grant for BlueDot, a social benefit corporation dedicated to carving a healthier and safer world by helping to address global infectious disease threats. The company works in big data, connecting experts in geographic information systems and spatial analytics with content experts in the field of infectious disease and public health. The company’s most notable achievement, PanMEDIC, is a web-based global warning system that curates the latest data on tropical emerging diseases and connects it with worldwide air patterns. Monitoring the movements of more than 4 billion passengers on commercial flights worldwide, PanMEDIC is a watchdog for potential outbreaks, allowing us to deliver “just in time” warning alerts to nearby physicians who might be affected. Dr. Khan claims the Joule grant has brought PanMEDIC to life, and looks forward to developing a working prototype that can be tested among physicians on the frontlines. A powerful tool and important step toward preparedness, PanMEDIC could revolutionize the way we approach infectious diseases.

Dr. Jacob Jaremko, a board-certified pediatric musculoskeletal radiologist and Assistant Professor at the University of Alberta, received a $25K grant for the Collaborative Ultrasound Deep Learning (CUDL) initiative—a cloud-based computer-aided diagnostic tool that will allow physicians to give an on-the-spot diagnosis of a 2D and 3D ultrasound image based on advice and knowledge from thousands of similar cases across the world. With help from Joule funding, the project has focused on hip dysplasia, a condition which requires a stressful six-week waiting period prior to any definite follow-up of ambiguous results. Dr. Jaremko’s next task is to take a closer look at Developmental Dysplasia of the Hip (DDH), and see how CUDL can help diagnose.

Are you a physician innovator? Check out the 2017 Joule Innovation grant program closing May 1, and apply today!

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Des nouvelles des bénéficiaires de subventions à l’innovation de Joule de 2016 — Des membres de l’AMC font bouger les choses en matière de soins de santé

En 2016, JouleMC a décerné ses premières subventions à l’innovation à cinq membres de l’AMC. Six mois après avoir reçu leur subvention, ces médecins prouvent une fois de plus que leurs projets ont un immense potentiel pour susciter des changements dans les soins de santé.

Le Dr Doug Kavanagh, directeur médical et cofondateur de CognisantMD, a reçu une subvention à l’innovation de 50 000 $ pour transformer le partage de renseignements médicaux entre les patients et les médecins. Avec la conception d’Ocean Tablet, le Dr Kavanagh a réussi à mettre au point un outil technologique grâce auquel les patients peuvent répondre, dans la langue de leur choix, à un questionnaire médical à l’aide d’une interface numérique conviviale et sécurisée, avant un rendez-vous ou dans la salle d’attente. Depuis qu’il a reçu sa subvention il y a six mois, le Dr Kavanagh a développé davantage son outil afin de l’adapter aux Premières Nations et y a même intégré des formulaires de base axés sur la santé mentale. Plus de 1,5 million de dossiers de patients ont été mis à jour jusqu’à présent, et les cliniques auraient observé une diminution de la durée des rendez-vous de 65 %.

La Dre Julielynn Wong, diplômée de Harvard ayant une grande fibre entrepreneuriale, a reçu une subvention de 25 000 $ pour son travail remarquable dans le domaine de l’impression 3D. La Dre Wong, fondatrice de 3D4MD, utilise un système d’impression en trois dimensions ultraportable, prêt à l’emploi et alimenté à l’énergie solaire pour fabriquer sur place toute une gamme de dispositifs médicaux selon les besoins et à très faible coût. La Dre Wong utilise sa subvention pour bâtir une bibliothèque numérique, semblable à iTunes, dans laquelle les gens pourraient sélectionner et télécharger des fichiers 3D « approvisionnés par le public » pour fabriquer sur demande des fournitures médicales et chirurgicales économiques, de qualité éprouvée et même personnalisées. Ces outils alimentés à l’énergie solaire, en plus d’être intéressants pour les gens vivant dans des régions éloignées sans électricité, éliminent l’attente de plusieurs semaines associée à la livraison grâce à leur rapidité d’exécution.

Le Dr Dale Podolsky, ingénieur et médecin résident en chirurgie plastique et reconstructive à l’Université de Toronto, a reçu une subvention à l’innovation de 25 000 $ pour son simulateur de fente palatine. Le Dr Podolsky est le fondateur de Simulare Medical, une société qui offre aux personnes en formation le temps, l’espace et la patience nécessaires pour apprendre, à leur propre rythme, à effectuer des interventions chirurgicales complexes. Le Dr Podolsky dit que grâce à sa subvention, il a pu embaucher du personnel, assister à des congrès de haut niveau pour promouvoir le travail de sa société, et même acheter une nouvelle imprimante 3D. La société a également conclu un partenariat avec la plus grande ONG dans le domaine des fentes palatines à l’échelle internationale. Le Dr Podolsky travaille actuellement à la conception d’un centre de formation à l’intention des nouveaux chirurgiens dans le but de former de meilleurs chirurgiens et ainsi d’améliorer la santé des patients de partout.

Le Dr Kamran Khan, spécialiste scientifique des maladies infectieuses à l’Hôpital St. Michael’s, a reçu une subvention de 25 000 $ pour BlueDot, une entreprise à vocation sociale qui s’applique à créer un monde plus sûr et en meilleure santé en contribuant à prévenir les maladies infectieuses qui menacent le monde entier. L’entreprise de mégadonnées réunit des experts en systèmes d’information géographique et en analyse spatiale et des spécialistes des contenus relatifs aux maladies cliniques infectieuses et à la santé publique. La plus grande réalisation de l’entreprise est PanMEDIC, une aide clinique Web relayant les plus récentes données sur les maladies tropicales émergentes et les associant aux tendances mondiales de voyage aérien. PanMEDIC, qui surveille les déplacements de plus de 4 milliards de passagers de vols payants dans le monde, est un « chien de garde » qui permet de détecter les épidémies potentielles et d’en aviser rapidement les médecins qui pourraient être touchés. Le Dr Khan affirme que c’est grâce à la subvention de Joule que PanMEDIC a vu le jour, et qu’il a hâte de concevoir un prototype fonctionnel qui sera mis à l’essai par des médecins sur le terrain. PanMEDIC est un outil puissant qui favorisera grandement la préparation : il pourrait révolutionner notre manière de gérer les maladies infectieuses.

Le Dr Jacob Jaremko, radiopédiatre certifié spécialiste du système musculosquelettique et professeur adjoint à l’Université de l’Alberta, a reçu une subvention de 25 000 $ pour l’initiative Collaborative Ultrasound Deep Learning (CUDL), un outil diagnostique infonuagique grâce auquel les médecins pourront offrir sur-le-champ, à partir d’échographies 2D et 3D, un diagnostic fondé sur les connaissances issues de milliers de cas semblables de partout dans le monde. Grâce au financement de Joule, le projet a pu être recentré sur la dysplasie de la hanche, une maladie pour laquelle une période d’attente stressante de six semaines est nécessaire avant l’obtention d’un suivi sur un résultat ambigu. La prochaine étape pour le Dr Jaremko consiste à se pencher sur la dysplasie congénitale de la hanche et à évaluer comment son outil pourrait en faciliter le diagnostic.

Vous êtes un médecin innovateur? Consultez le programme de subventions à l’innovation de Joule en 2017. Vous avez jusqu’au 1er mai pour soumettre une demande!