Sign In

2017 CMA Workforce Survey highlights doctors' concern over patient access to care

A new survey released today by the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) shows physicians are very concerned over Canadians' ability to access care, particularly long-term care.

The CMA Workforce Survey, a new survey taking the place of the National Physician Survey, found an overwhelming majority (80.9%) of responding physicians rated Canadians' access to long-term care beds as unsatisfactory. Further, only 58% rated Canadians' access to hospital care for elective procedures as either satisfactory (48.6 %) or excellent (9.4%).

In terms of workload, Canadian physicians work on average 51 hours per week (not including on-call time) delivering patient care, teaching, research and administration ― a 2-hour increase from 2014. In addition to their weekly work life, more and more physicians are on-call for an additional 28 hours each week (or 112 on-call hours per month, an increase of five hours compared to 2014).

The survey, conducted earlier this year by the CMA, received input from over 7,000 physicians on the realities of their practice – from working hours, access to care and job satisfaction.

Other highlights from the survey include:

Working & on-call hours:

  • Physicians are spending an average of 2 full hours a week filling in paperwork on behalf of patients.
  • More than 7 in 10 physicians (73%) have on-call duties ― a 6 percentage point increase from 2014.

Main practice setting:

  • Around 4 in 10 physicians practice primarily in a private office/clinic (41%), followed by academic health science centre (AHSC) (21%), community hospital (13%), community clinic (6%) and non-AHSC teaching hospital (6%). The proportion of physicians in each setting remained relatively constant since 2014, with a slight increase in private offices (38% in 2014) and community clinics (8% in 2014).
  • Over half of family practitioners (FPs) (58%) identified a private office as their main work setting followed by community clinic (9%), community hospital (7%) and emergency department (6%). The other specialists were more likely to be primarily in an AHSC (38%) followed by private office (21%), community hospital (20%), and non-AHSC teaching hospital (10%). This trend is similar to 2014, but with more FPs working in a private office (54% in 2014), and a greater proportion of other specialties practising in an AHSC (33% in 2014).

Collaboration:

  • Over 4 in 10 physicians (44%) participate in a collaborative practice with their colleagues and other health professionals.
  • Collaboration was more likely among female physicians (48%) than male (41%), as well as among younger physicians (50% of the <35 age group) compared to 41% of the 65+ age group.

Satisfaction with professional life and work-life balance:

  • While most physicians are satisfied with their professional life (75%), more than 1 in 10 (11%) are dissatisfied or very dissatisfied with their professional life, compared to 10% in 2013.
  • While more than half of physicians are satisfied with their work-life balance (53%), more than a quarter (26%) claim to be dissatisfied or very dissatisfied with the balance between their personal and professional commitments, compared to 24% in 2013.

Connexion

L'édition 2017 de l'Enquête de l'AMC auprès de l'effectif médical met en évidence les préoccupations que l'accès aux soins pour les patients soulève chez les médecins

L'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a dévoilé aujourd'hui les résultats d'une nouvelle enquête qui révèle que la capacité des Canadiens d'avoir accès aux soins, et en particulier aux soins de longue durée, suscite de grandes préoccupations chez les médecins.

L'Enquête de l'AMC auprès de l'effectif médical, nouvelle enquête qui remplace le Sondage national des médecins, a révélé qu'une majorité écrasante (80,9 %) des médecins répondants juge insatisfaisant l'accès pour les Canadiens aux lits de soins de longue durée. De plus, 58 % seulement des répondants jugent satisfaisant (48,6 %) ou excellent (9,4 %) l'accès pour les Canadiens aux soins hospitaliers dans le cas des interventions électives.

En ce qui concerne la charge de travail, les médecins du Canada travaillent en moyenne 51 heures par semaine (sans compter les périodes de garde), temps qu'ils consacrent aux soins fournis aux patients, à l'enseignement, à la recherche et à l'administration – c'est deux heures de plus qu'en 2014. En sus de leurs heures de travail hebdomadaire, de plus en plus de médecins sont de garde pendant 28 heures par semaine (ce qui représente 112 heures de garde par mois, soit cinq heures de plus qu'en 2014).

L'Enquête, que l'AMC a réalisée plus tôt cette année, a reçu les commentaires de plus de 7000 répondants. Leurs réponses portaient sur les réalités de leur pratique – depuis les heures de travail jusqu'à la satisfaction professionnelle, en passant par l'accès aux soins.

Autres points saillants tirés de l'enquête :

Heures de travail et de garde 

  • Les médecins passent en moyenne deux heures complètes par semaine à remplir des documents pour des patients.
  • Plus de sept médecins sur 10 (73 %) ont des obligations de garde – ce qui représente une augmentation de six points de pourcentage par rapport à 2014.

 

Principal milieu de travail 

  • Quelque quatre médecins sur 10 (41 %) exercent principalement dans une clinique ou un cabinet privés. Suivent les centres universitaires des sciences de la santé (CUSS) (21 %), les hôpitaux communautaires (13 %), les cliniques communautaires (6 %) et les hôpitaux d'enseignement qui ne sont pas un CUSS (6 %). Le pourcentage des médecins dans chaque contexte demeuré relativement constant depuis 2014 et l'on constate une légère augmentation dans les cabinets privés (38 % en 2014) et les cliniques communautaires (8 % en 2014).
  • Plus de la moitié des médecins de famille (MF) (58 %) déclarent travailler principalement dans un cabinet privé. Suivent les cliniques communautaires (9 %), les hôpitaux communautaires (7 %) et les services d'urgence (6 %). Les autres spécialistes étaient susceptibles de travailler principalement dans un CUSS (38 %) et ensuite dans un cabinet privé (21 %), un hôpital communautaire (20 %) et un hôpital d'enseignement qui n'est pas un CUSS (10 %).

Cette tendance ressemble à celle de 2014, mais davantage de MF travaillent dans un cabinet privé (54 % en 2014) et les autres spécialistes qui exercent dans un CUSS sont plus nombreux (33 % en 2014).

Collaboration

  • Plus de quatre médecins sur 10 (44 %) exercent en collaboration avec leurs collègues et d'autres professionnels de la santé.
  • La collaboration est plus probable entre les femmes médecins (48 %) qu'entre leurs collègues masculins (41 %), ainsi qu'entre les jeunes médecins (50 % des moins de 35 ans) que chez les 65 ans et plus (41 %).

Satisfaction à l'égard de la vie professionnelle et de l'équilibre travail-vie 

  • La plupart des médecins sont satisfaits de leur vie professionnelle (75 %), mais plus d'un sur 10 (11 %) en est insatisfait ou très insatisfait comparativement à 10 % en 2013.
  • Plus de la moitié des médecins sont satisfaits de leur équilibre travail-vie (53 %), mais plus du quart (26 %) se disent insatisfaits ou très insatisfaits de l'équilibre entre leurs engagements personnels et professionnels, comparativement à 24 % en 2013.
On trouve les résultats complets de l'enquête à https://www.cma.ca/fr/pages/physician-workforce-surveys.aspx. ​