Sign In

Action needed to combat climate of fear

The continuing warming of the global climate is one of the greatest threats to human health in the 21st century and physicians must step up and help lead in the search for solutions. That was the stark warning delivered by Dr. James Orbinski to delegates and observers attending the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) annual meeting in Vancouver.

Dr. Orbinski — former President of Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors Without Borders,  Research Chair in Global Health at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health and professor of both medicine and political science at the University of Toronto — stressed that the threat is no longer arguable and that mitigating the effects of climate change requires action on many fronts.

"This is a problem of the commons, of the global commons and people need to understand that, while there are individual impacts, it's not just individual action that is going to mitigate or reduce the impact of climate change," said Dr. Orbinski. "It actually requires collective action in order for there to be meaningful efforts to mitigate climate change."

Dr. Orbinski highlighted the multiple policy domains touched by climate change, including mass transit, urban planning, design, energy and health care systems.

Instances of extreme drought were highlighted as a critical consequence of climate change. He also pointed to recent large forest fires in Fort McMurray this year and in Yellowknife in 2014 as sentinel events showing that Canada is far from immune to the effects of climate change.

Another issue is the emergence and re-emergence of infectious diseases such as malaria. The massive increases of malaria in various parts of the world are being brought on by changes in climate and ecosystems, which then impact the vector patterns of diseases such as malaria.

Dr. Orbinski also stressed that climate change leads to increased conflict and migration, particularly in developing countries. "Is climate change a variable in the emergence of violent conflict? The answer is unequivocally yes and the answer is that we're seeing already the impact of climate change as a variable in a cascade of causality."

With these challenges in mind, Dr. Orbinski urged physicians generally, and the CMA specifically, "to step up and to step out" to advocate for solutions.

"Health professionals have a critical role to play to ensure that the serious health impacts of climate change are understood by governments and individuals," he said. "We have to see the effects of our actions differently and we must take responsibility for our actions. It is profound and it is unacceptable."

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Il faut agir pour combattre un climat de peur ​

Le réchauffement continu du climat mondial est l'une des pires menaces pour la santé humaine au 21e siècle, et les médecins doivent se mobiliser et aider à trouver des solutions. C'est le signal d'alarme que le Dr James Orbinski a lancé aux délégués et aux observateurs qui assistent à l'Assemblée annuelle de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) à Vancouver.

Le Dr Orbinski — ancien président de Médecins sans frontières, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche en santé mondiale à l'École de santé publique Dalla Lana et professeur de médecine et de sciences politiques à l'Université de Toronto — a souligné que cette menace n'est plus à démontrer et que l'atténuation des effets des changements climatiques nécessite une action sur de nombreux fronts.

« C'est un problème d'intérêt commun, un problème d'intérêt commun mondial, et les gens doivent comprendre que bien qu'il y ait des répercussions individuelles, les mesures individuelles seules ne permettront pas d'atténuer ou de réduire l'impact des changements climatiques », a dit le Dr Orbinski. « Il faut des actions collectives pour que des efforts significatifs soient faits afin d'atténuer les changements climatiques. »

Le Dr Orbinski a mis en lumière les nombreux domaines politiques touchés par les changements climatiques, dont le transport en commun, l'urbanisme, la conception, l'énergie et les systèmes de santé.

Il a parlé de cas de sécheresse extrême comme étant l'une des conséquences critiques des changements climatiques. Il a également dit que les récents incendies de forêt majeurs à Fort McMurray cette année et à Yellowknife en 2014 sont des mises en garde montrant que le Canada est loin d'être à l'abri des effets des changements climatiques.

Un autre enjeu est l'émergence ou la réémergence de maladies infectieuses comme la malaria. L'augmentation massive de cas de malaria dans diverses parties du monde est due aux changements du climat et des écosystèmes, qui modifient les modèles vectoriels de maladies comme la malaria.

Le Dr Orbinski a également souligné que les changements climatiques entraînent une augmentation des conflits et de la migration, en particulier dans les pays en développement. « Est-ce que les changements climatiques sont une variable dans l'émergence des conflits violents? Il ne fait aucun doute que la réponse est oui, alors que nous voyons déjà les effets des changements climatiques en tant que variable dans une série de causalités. »

Face à ces défis, le Dr Orbinski a exhorté les médecins d'une manière générale, et l'AMC en particulier, à se mobiliser et à intervenir afin de trouver des solutions.

« Les professionnels de la santé ont un rôle essentiel à jouer pour faire en sorte que les gouvernements et les gens comprennent les graves répercussions des changements climatiques sur la santé », a-t-il dit. « Nous devons considérer les conséquences de nos actes différemment, et nous devons assumer la responsabilité de ces actes. C'est un enjeu grave et inacceptable. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.