Sign In

Another sold-out conference expected as interest in MD leadership mushrooms

As online registration opens for the 2014 Canadian Conference on Physician Leadership (CCPL), interest in the subject matter appears to be reaching new heights.

The conference, co-sponsored by the CMA and Canadian Society of Physician Executives (CSPE), will be held in Toronto April 11-12.

Last year’s conference, held in Vancouver, attracted a record crowd of more than 450 physician leaders, and CMA President Louis Hugo Francescutti thinks he knows why.

“The leadership concept is everywhere today,” said Francescutti, who pointed out that the CMA has just launched an online course in leadership skills for medical students and residents.

“Individually, physicians know that by developing leadership skills they will help themselves advance professionally. Collectively, we know our profession must show leadership if we are to have the health care system we want.”

The extent of the leadership training available for today’s doctors will be readily apparent in Toronto, where the conference will be preceded by six Physician Management Institute (PMI) courses from April 9-10:

  • leadership strategies for sustainable physician engagement
  • managing people effectively
  • leading change and innovation
  • strategic influence: advocacy, alliances and accountability
  • crucial conversations for physicians (a CSPE course offered through the PMI program)
  • professionalism and ethics

Conference organizers say early registration is encouraged for the pre-conference courses because enrolment is limited to 40 registrants per course.

The conference itself will feature numerous keynote speakers, and each day will be highlighted by eight concurrent sessions that feature topics ranging from “The courage to lead in uncertain times” to “Tips and techniques for dealing with the media.”

Keynote speakers include Dr. James Merlino of the Cleveland Clinic, who will speak on “Patient experience: a critical differentiator in health care,” and Dr. Aidan Halligan of University College London Hospitals in the UK, who will discuss “Rediscovering lost values.”

Francescutti said the conference has attracted an “outstanding” roster of speakers. He described Halligan, the first director of clinical governance at the UK’s National Health Services, as “simply brilliant — he’ll hit it out of the park.”

He said the conference will also provide a chance to reflect on the growing importance of “followership,” an emerging concept about the active role people who follow leaders play in an organization’s success. “When we focus on leadership we should look at followership as well,” said Francescutti, who described the best followers as “independent thinkers” who do not blindly accept a leader’s decisions.

“There are many types of followers,” he said, “and those are the ones you want.”

Although the leadership conference is co-sponsored by the CMA and CSPE, the number of additional supporters is growing. In 2014, MD Physician Services (the CMA’s financial subsidiary) is the lead supporter. Seven additional organizations are also contributing: the Ontario Medical Association, Alberta Health Services, Canada Health Infoway, Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement EXTRA, Royal Roads University, Novari Health and Accreditation Canada.

Complete registration details for the PMI courses and the 2014 CCPL are available online.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’intérêt pour le leadership des médecins prend de
l’ampleur : on prévoit une autre conférence à guichet fermé

Alors que débutent les inscriptions pour la Conférence canadienne sur le leadership des médecins (CCLM) 2014, l’intérêt que suscite le domaine semble atteindre de nouveaux sommets.

La conférence, coparrainée par l’AMC et la Société canadienne des médecins gestionnaires (SCMG), aura lieu à Toronto les 11 et 12 avril prochains.

La conférence de l’an dernier, qui avait lieu à Vancouver, a attiré une foule record de plus de 450 médecins gestionnaires; le président de l’AMC, Louis Hugo Francescutti, croit connaître la raison de cet engouement.

« Le concept de leadership est partout aujourd’hui », a affirmé le Dr Francescutti, qui a souligné que l’AMC vient juste de lancer en ligne un cours de compétences en leadership à l’intention des étudiants en médecine et des résidents.

« Individuellement, les médecins savent qu’en développent leurs compétences de leadership, ils s’aident à faire progresser leur carrière professionnelle. Collectivement, nous savons que notre profession doit faire preuve de leadership si nous voulons avoir le système de santé que nous désirons. »

L’ampleur de la formation en leadership disponible aujourd’hui pour les médecins sera facilement évidente à Toronto, où la conférence sera précédée de six cours du Physician Management Institute, les 9 et 10 avril (cours en anglais) :

  • stratégies de leadership pour un engagement durable des médecins
  • la gestion efficace des ressources humaines
  • diriger le changement et l’innovation
  • influence stratégique : la représentation, les alliances et la responsabilité
  • conversations déterminantes pour les médecins (cours de la SCMG offert par le biais du programme du PMI)
  • professionnalisme et éthique

Les organisateurs de la conférence encouragent une inscription hâtive aux cours qui pré-conférence, car le nombre de places est limité à 40 participants par cours.

La conférence elle-même mettra en vedette de nombreux conférenciers de marque et huit sessions parallèles seront offertes chaque jour; elles aborderont sur des sujets tels que « Le courage de diriger en période d’incertitude » et « Astuces et techniques dans les relations avec les médias ».

Au nombre des conférenciers de marque figurent le Dr James Merlin de la Clinique Cleveland, qui présentera « L’expérience du patient : facteur de différenciation crucial en soins de santé », et le Dr Aidan Halligan des Hôpitaux de Londres du University College du Royaume-Uni, dont la communication s’intitulera : « La redécouverte des valeurs perdues ».

Le Dr Francescutti a souligné que la conférence a attiré un éventail « remarquable » de conférenciers. Il décrit le Dr Halligan, premier directeur de gouvernance clinique des National Health Services du Royaume-Uni, comme un homme « tout simplement brillant », qui sera « éclatant ».

Il ajoute que la conférence fournira aussi l’occasion de réfléchir à l’importance croissante des « dirigés », un concept émergent selon lequel les gens qui suivent les chefs de file jouent un rôle actif dans le succès d’une organisation. « Lorsque nous nous penchons sur le leadership, nous devrions aussi examiner les dirigés », a expliqué le Dr Francescutti, qui décrit les meilleurs dirigés comme étant des « penseurs indépendants » qui n’acceptent pas aveuglément les décisions du dirigeant.

« Il existe plusieurs types de dirigés », a-t-il affirmé, « et ce sont ces derniers que vous recherchez ».

Même si la conférence sur le leadership est coparrainée par l’AMC et la SCMG, le nombre de commanditaires est à la hausse. En 2014, Services aux médecins MD (la filiale financière de l’AMC) en est le commanditaire principal. Sept autres organisations y contribuent également : l’Association médicale de l’Ontario, les Services de santé de l’Alberta, Inforoute Santé du Canada, la Fondation canadienne pour l’amélioration des services de santé FORCES, l’Université Royal Roads, Novari Health et Agrément Canada.

Les renseignements complets au sujet de l’inscription aux cours du PMI et à la Conférence sont disponibles en ligne.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.