Sign In

Best practices in physician health available on podcast

Best practices and emerging knowledge about physician health are featured in a new series of podcasts released by the Canadian Physician Health Institute (CPHI).

The podcasts feature such Canadian physician leaders in the field of physician health and well-being as Dr. Derek Puddester, director of the CPHI, Dr. James Sproule, managing director of physician services, Canadian Medical Protective Association and Dr. Michael Kaufmann, medical director, Physician Health Program, Ontario Medical Association. Other podcasts feature powerful presentations by Canadian Medical Association leaders such as Past-President Dr. Anna Reid

Topics range from managing boundaries between life and technology, to dealing with disruptive physician behavior and addressing addiction in physicians.

“Healthy doctors practice better medicine,” Puddester states in a presentation on the importance of physician health that is available as part of the series.

“If the profession does not take care of itself, who will,” asks CMA President Dr. Louis Francescutti in another podcast.

The podcasts were prepared last fall in Calgary during the 3rd Canadian Conference on Physician Health and so are both timely and relevant for Canadian doctors.

“Everybody tells us what we should do but they don’t tell us how,” notes Christopher Hurst, a Wellness Consultant in the Office of Resident Wellness in the office of postgraduate medical education at the University of Toronto. The podcasts help to address the ‘how’ for many of the day-to-day challenges facing physicians as they strive to maintain their own health.

The short videos are available on the CPHI website. CPHI is national program focused on promoting physician mental health and wellness that is governed by the Canadian Medical Association, the Canadian Medical Foundation and the provincial / territorial medical associations.

The podcasts are just one initiative underway through CPHI. Another is involvement in helping plan the International Conference on Physician Health to be held in London, UK from September 15-17 as a co-partnered event of the American Medical Association, CMA, and British Medical Association.

Held every two years, the conference will showcase the latest research in physician health and well-being as well featuring innovative keynote speakers and panel discussions.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les pratiques exemplaires en matière de santé des médecins maintenant en baladodiffusion

Les pratiques exemplaires et les nouvelles connaissances sur la santé des médecins sont présentées dans une nouvelle série de balados de l’Institut canadien pour la santé des médecins (ICSM).

Les balados présentent des médecins chefs de file canadiens œuvrant en la santé et mieux-être des médecins, notamment le Dr Derek Puddester, directeur, Santé des médecins, Association médicale canadienne; le Dr James Sproule, directeur administratif, Services aux médecins, Association canadienne de protection médicale; et le Dr Michael Kaufmann, directeur médical, Programme de santé des médecins, Association médicale de l’Ontario. Sur d’autres balados, on peut entendre des présentations captivantes de chefs de file de l’AMC, dont le Dr Louis Francescutti, président, et la Dre Anna Reid, présidente sortante.

Les sujets varient, allant de la gestion des frontières entre la vie et la technologie à la prise en charge des comportements perturbateurs des médecins, en passant par la toxicomanie chez les médecins.

Lors d’un exposé sur l’importance de la santé des médecins, le Dr Puddester déclare que « Les médecins en bonne santé pratiquent une meilleure médecine ». Cet exposé fait partie de cette série de balados.

« Si les médecins ne prennent pas soin d’eux-mêmes, qui le fera ? », demande le Dr Louis Francescutti, président de l’AMC, dans un autre balado.

Les balados ont été préparés l’automne dernier à Calgary lors de la 3e Conférence canadienne sur la santé des médecins. Ils sont donc à la fois opportuns et pertinents pour les médecins.

« Tout le monde nous dit ce que nous devrions faire, mais ils ne nous disent pas comment le faire », fait remarquer Christopher Hurst, consultant en mieux-être des résidents au Bureau de la formation médicale postdoctorale, Université de Toronto. Les balados expliquent comment relever de nombreux défis quotidiens auxquels font face les médecins qui s’efforcent de se maintenir en santé.

Les vidéos sont disponibles sur le site web de l’ICSM. L’ICSM est un programme national axé sur la promotion de la santé mentale et du mieux-être des médecins. Il est régi par l’Association médicale canadienne, la Fondation médicale canadienne ainsi que les associations médicales provinciales et territoriales.

Les balados ne sont que l’une des nombreuses initiatives en cours à l’ICSM. L’institut participe entre autres à la planification de la Conférence internationale AMA–AMC–BMA 2014 sur la santé des médecins, qui se tiendra à Londres, au Royaume-Uni, du 15 au 17 septembre. Il s’agit d’un événement coparrainé par l’American Medical Association, l’AMC et la British Medical Association.

Tenue tous les deux ans, la conférence présentera les dernières recherches sur la santé et le mieux-être des médecins ainsi que des conférenciers novateurs et des tables rondes sur le thème « Jalons et transitions – Préserver l’équilibre ». L’inscription à cette conférence est maintenant ouverte. Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous à la page www.bma.org.uk/icph2014.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.