Sign In

Big data, augmented intelligence and the future of better health: 100 days before inaugural CMA Health Summit

OTTAWA – May 12, 2018 – In exactly 100 days, Canada's doctors will join innovators, disruptors and health and patient advocates to discuss and learn how to revolutionize health care. With the focus on precision medicine, robotics, augmented intelligence and technological innovation, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) will be holding its first Health Summit, bringing together thought leaders from various sectors to break down barriers to innovation and technological advancements in health.

"Canada is falling behind in health care delivery, and that's simply not acceptable when we have all that is needed to deliver the best health care in the world. We need a vision and a plan, and the Health Summit will drive this agenda of change and help identify solutions for the future," says Dr. Laurent Marcoux, CMA president.

From August 20-21, a lineup of speakers — including physicians, scientists, policy makers, patients, and innovators— will spark a national conversation on embracing disruptive and innovative practices. Throughout the conference, participants will discuss how to embrace innovative solutions to reach vulnerable populations and leverage data to drive quality outcomes.

Health Summit speakers include:

  • Brian Brodie

    Brian Brodie is a physician, board chair and the principal visionary for the CMA's bold vision of change. He has shared his vision for the future of the medical profession and a renewed health care system at numerous conferences. He is also a 2018 fellow with the Institute of Corporate Directors. 
  • Judith John

    A dedicated patient advocate, Judith John works to improve the patient experience within health care systems. She also works with physicians, residents and medical students, is participating in innovation projects with the CMA's subsidiary, Joule, and regularly contributes to numerous articles, media appearances and speaking engagements in both Canada and the United States.
     
  • Philip Edgcumbe

    A medical student at the University of British Columbia, Philip Edgcumbe is looking to positively impact the health of a billion people by connecting medicine, biomedical research and entrepreneurship. He is a 2017 recipient of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Award, which recognizes medical students for community leadership, communication skills and advancing knowledge and innovation in Canadian health care

Yanick Beaulieu, Cindy Blackstock, Dawnmarie Harriott, Kendall Ho, Zayna Khayat, Tara Kiran, Sonny Kohli, Alika Lafontaine, Kevin Pottie, and Peter W. Vaughan are also scheduled to speak. Learn more about the speakers here.

The CMA is welcoming participants to the Health Summit who want to immerse themselves in learning, discovery and inspiration. To register, or for more information, click here.

Connexion

Mégadonnées, intelligence amplifiée et avenir des soins de santé : plus que 100 jours avant le premier Sommet de l'AMC sur la santé

​OTTAWA, le 12 mai 2018. – Dans exactement 100 jours, des médecins canadiens se joindront à un groupe d'innovateurs, d'idéateurs-transformateurs, de promoteurs de la santé et de représentants des patients pour discuter, et apprendre comment révolutionner les soins de santé. Le premier Sommet sur la santé de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC), qui réunira des leaders d'opinion de secteurs variés dans le but de supprimer les obstacles à l'innovation et aux progrès technologiques en santé, portera essentiellement sur la médecine de précision, la robotique, l'intelligence amplifiée et l'innovation technologique.

« Le Canada a du retard dans la prestation des soins de santé, ce qui est tout simplement inacceptable étant donné que nous avons tout ce qu'il faut pour offrir les meilleurs soins de santé au monde. Nous avons besoin d'une vision et d'un plan; le Sommet sur la santé permettra de mettre en branle ce programme de changements et nous aidera à trouver des solutions pour l'avenir », affirme le Dr Laurent Marcoux, président de l'AMC.

Les 20 et 21 août, une série de conférenciers, notamment des médecins, des chercheurs, des décideurs politiques, des patients et des innovateurs, lanceront une discussion nationale sur l'adoption de pratiques transformatrices et novatrices. Tout au long de l'événement, les participants discuteront de la façon d'adopter des solutions novatrices pour atteindre les populations vulnérables et tirer profit des données disponibles pour améliorer la qualité des soins.

Voici quelques-uns des conférenciers du Sommet de l'AMC sur la santé :

  • Brian Brodie

    Brian Brodie est médecin, président du Conseil d'administration de l'AMC et principal visionnaire des changements audacieux apportés à la vision de l'AMC. Il a communiqué sa vision de l'avenir de la profession médicale et d'un système de santé renouvelé à l'occasion de nombreuses conférences. Il est également Fellow 2018 de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés. 
  • Judith John

    Représentante dévouée des patients, Judith John se consacre à l'amélioration de l'expérience des patients au sein des systèmes de soins de santé. Elle travaille également avec des médecins, des médecins résidents et des étudiants en médecine, participe à des projets d'innovation avec Joule (société de l'AMC), contribue régulièrement à la rédaction de nombreux articles, rencontre les médias et donne des conférences tant au Canada qu'aux États-Unis.
     
  • Philip Edgcumbe

    Étudiant en médecine à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Philip Edgcumbe souhaite exercer une influence positive sur la santé de milliards de personnes en combinant la médecine, la recherche biomédicale et l'entrepreneuriat. Il a reçu en 2017 l'un des Prix du Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne décernés aux étudiants en médecine pour leur leadership communautaire, leurs aptitudes en communication et leur participation à l'avancement des connaissances et de l'innovation dans les soins de santé au Canada. 

Yanick Beaulieu, Cindy Blackstock, Dawnmarie Harriott, Kendall Ho, Zayna Khayat, Tara Kiran, Sonny Kohli, Alika Lafontaine, Kevin Pottie et Peter W. Vaughan seront aussi de la programmation. Pour en savoir plus sur les conférenciers, cliquez ici.

​L'AMC invite les gens qui souhaitent plonger dans l'apprentissage, la découverte et l'inspiration à participer à son Sommet sur la santé. Pour vous inscrire ou pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, cliquez ici.