Sign In

Budget 2018 Takes Some Steps to Address the Needs of Canada's Seniors

​OTTAWA – February 27, 2018 – The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is encouraged that today's Budget 2018 addressed a number of areas where the Government of Canada can act to improve seniors' care across the country. As outlined in CMA's submission to the government, many of these initiatives will ensure social equity and increase productivity, both clear themes in the Budget.

Given that recommendations about caring for Canada's aging population are expected shortly from the House of Commons Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities, the CMA and its members are encouraged to see funding allocated in areas of dementia, home and community care, and the impact of gender for an aging population.

In addition, CMA welcomes several initiatives that address important public health issues – along with the social determinants of health -- such as providing funds to help address the opioids crisis, awareness efforts regarding the potential health impact of cannabis, and the provision of clean and safe water on reserves that keep families healthy in their communities.

Dr. Laurent Marcoux, President
Canadian Medical Association

Connexion

Le budget de 2018 : quelques mesures pour répondre aux besoins des aînés canadiens 

​OTTAWA – 27 février 2018 – L'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) se réjouit de constater que le budget de 2018 présenté aujourd'hui aborde certains domaines où le gouvernement du Canada peut agir pour améliorer les soins aux aînés partout au pays. Comme l'avait indiqué l'AMC dans son mémoire présenté au gouvernement, nombre de ces initiatives assureront l'équité sociale et augmenteront la productivité, deux thèmes clairs dans le budget.

Comme le Comité permanent des ressources humaines, du développement des compétences, du développement social et de la condition des personnes handicapées de la Chambre des communes devrait présenter sous peu ses recommandations sur les soins à la population vieillissante du Canada, l'AMC et ses membres trouvent encourageant qu'un financement soit prévu pour améliorer l'approche dans les domaines de la démence, des soins à domicile et communautaires, et des conditions de vie souvent différentes pour les femmes au sein de la population vieillissante.

De plus, l'AMC applaudit plusieurs initiatives portant sur d'importants enjeux de santé publique – et les déterminants sociaux de la santé – comme l'octroi de fonds pour aider à contrer la crise des opioïdes, une sensibilisation aux effets potentiels du cannabis sur la santé et l'offre d'eau salubre dans les réserves afin d'assurer la santé des familles.

Dr Laurent Marcoux, président
Association médicale canadienne