Sign In

CMA's call to action opens the door for federal government to support much-needed United Nations Convention on the Rights of Older Persons

​New York, New York – July 26, 2018 The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) has been pursuing improved health care and quality of life for our aging population for the past five years. As part of a Canadian delegation strongly advocating for a United Nations (UN) Convention on the Rights of Older Persons, we were thrilled to see the Government of Canada take a step forward and lend their support in front of the global community. In fact, when the Canadian delegate stood up yesterday and said that Canada would consider the international convention, she was met with an enthusiastic round of applause.

We are pleased to see the Government of Canada demonstrate leadership on the important issue of the rights of older persons. This convention will help bridge gaps in areas such as elder abuse, dementia, nursing home regulation, employment and pensions, social security and the right to an adequate standard of living and health for seniors around the world.

Canada has traditionally played a leadership role at the UN and our federal government now has an opportunity to build on that proud tradition. We congratulate the Canadian government for taking this important step and we look forward to the mandate letter of the new Minister of Seniors with great anticipation.

Dr. Laurent Marcoux
CMA President

Connexion

L'appel à l'action de l'AMC ouvre la porte au soutien du gouvernement fédéral à la très nécessaire Convention des Nations Unies sur les droits de la personne chez les aînés 

​New York (New York) – 26 juillet 2018 Depuis cinq ans, l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) fait des pressions afin d'améliorer les soins de santé et la qualité de vie de notre population vieillissante. Nous sommes ravis de voir que, dans le cadre d'une délégation canadienne défendant vivement la Convention des Nations Unies (ONU) sur les droits de la personne chez les aînés, le gouvernement du Canada agit et lui offre son soutien devant la communauté internationale. En effet, quand la déléguée canadienne s'est levée hier pour dire que le Canada envisagerait la convention internationale, elle a été accueillie avec enthousiaste par des applaudissements.

 Nous sommes contents que le gouvernement du Canada fasse preuve de leadership sur la question importante des droits de la personne chez les aînés. Cette convention aidera à combler les lacunes dans des domaines comme la maltraitance des aînés, la démence, la réglementation des foyers de soins infirmiers, l'emploi et la retraite, la sécurité sociale et le droit à un niveau de vie adéquat et à une bonne santé pour les aînés partout dans le monde.

Le Canada a toujours joué un rôle de leadership à l'ONU, et notre gouvernement fédéral a maintenant la possibilité de maintenir cette fière tradition. Nous félicitons le gouvernement canadien d'avoir pris cette mesure importante, et nous attendons avec impatience la lettre de mandat de la nouvelle ministre des Aînés.

Dr Laurent Marcoux
Président de l'AMC