Sign In

CMA's 2013 leadership conference rapidly approaching capacity

In yet another sign of physicians' growing interest in their leadership role within medicine and health care, registration in the 2013 Canadian Conference on Physician Leadership is rapidly approaching capacity, with organizers expecting more than 400 physicians to attend.

The theme of this year's conference, which is jointly organized by the CMA and the Canadian Society of Physician Executives (CSPE), is "Connecting: An essential skill for physician leaders." The two-day meeting will be held in Vancouver May 31-June 1.

The annual conference, which has been growing in size and stature for four years, is designed to provide physicians who have leadership aspirations with an opportunity to hear from physician leaders and experts in leadership training.

This year's keynote speakers are:

  • Chris Ham (PhD), CEO of the King's Fund in London, England, who will be addressing leadership lessons from within the National Health Service;
  • Linda Duxbury (PhD), from the Sprott School of Business, Carleton University, Ottawa, who will be speaking about "connecting across the different generations";
  • Dr. Larry Chu, an anesthesiologist from Stanford University in California and executive director of Stanford's successful Medicine X conference, who will look at the impact of new technologies on the delivery of health care.

In addition, three high-profile physician CEOs will discuss lessons they have learned during their careers in a panel discussion moderated by Dr. Brian Postl, dean of medicine at the University of Manitoba, and Globe and Mail columnist Jeffrey Simpson will discuss "doctors and the future of Canadian health care."

Many additional leadership topics will be addressed at concurrent, interactive workshops held during the meeting. Topics range from learning how to interest and engage health care workers in patient safety to tutorials on the basics of using social media tools.

The conference will be preceded by four Physician Management Institute courses and a two-day course from the Canadian Society of Physician Executives dealing with communications and managing interactions with others.

Details on the conference and registration information are available at www.2013leadership.ca.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L'édition 2013 de la conférence de l'AMC sur le leadership, bientôt à guichet fermé

Signe additionnel de l'intérêt croissant des médecins pour leur rôle de leadership en médecine et soins de santé : la Conférence canadienne sur le leadership des médecins, édition 2013, affichera bientôt complet. Les organisateurs attendent plus de 400 participants médecins.

La conférence de cette année, organisée par l'AMC et la Société canadienne des médecins gestionnaires, aura pour thème « Créer des liens, une compétence essentielle pour les médecins chefs de file ». L'assemblée de deux jours aura lieu à Vancouver, les 31 mai et 1er juin.

Cet événement annuel, qui a gagné en taille et en importance en quatre ans, vise à donner aux médecins qui aspirent à des rôles de leadership l'occasion d'entendre des médecins chefs de file et des experts en formation au leadership.

Voici les principaux conférenciers de cette année :

  • Chris Ham (PhD), directeur général du King's Fund de Londres, Angleterre, qui parlera des leçons de leadership tirées du National Health Service anglais;
  • Linda Duxbury (PhD), de l'école de commerce Sprott de l'Université Carleton d'Ottawa, qui parlera de la création de liens intergénérationnels;
  • le Dr Larry Chu, anesthésiologiste rattaché à l'Université Stanford, en Californie, et directeur général d'une conférence très populaire de Stanford, " Medicine X ", qui examinera l'impact des nouvelles technologies sur la prestation des soins de santé.

Un panel de discussion mettra en vedette trois médecins hauts dirigeants éminents qui parleront des leçons apprises au cours de leur carrière. Le panel sera animé par le Dr Brian Postl, doyen de médecine à l'Université du Manitoba. Le chroniqueur Jeffrey Simpson, du Globe and Mail, parlera des médecins et de l'avenir des soins de santé au Canada.

Beaucoup d'autres sujets touchant au leadership seront explorés au cours d'ateliers parallèles interactifs, allant des moyens à prendre pour intéresser les travailleurs des soins de santé à la sécurité des patients et les mobiliser en ce sens, jusqu'aux tutoriels de base sur l'utilisation des outils de médias sociaux.

La conférence sera précédée par quatre cours de l'Institut de gestion médicale et un cours de deux jours de la Société canadienne des médecins gestionnaires, au sujet des communications et de la gestion des interactions avec autrui.

On trouvera tous les détails de la conférence et des renseignements au sujet de l'inscription ici : www.2013leadership.ca

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.