Sign In

CMA's accreditation program still growing after 75 years

The CMA has been involved in accrediting the education programs of allied health professionals for more than 75 years, and a new survey shows that a strong majority of doctors (91%) consider this type of education oversight to be either "critical" or "very important."

CMA President Anna Reid says the positive response is not hard to understand, since physicians rely on these professionals to help provide care for their patients every day.

Today, CMA Conjoint Accreditation Services (CMA Accreditation) is responsible for reviewing, assessing and evaluating 236 college and university education programs that cover 15 professions ranging from paramedicine (67 programs) to clinical genetics (2 programs).

In the process, CMA Accreditation works with over 40 national associations, provincial regulatory bodies and physician specialty societies to ensure that the training programs meet rigorous national standards. "These professionals often work behind the scenes, but the very technical and skilled work they do is essential to health care," says Reid. "Physicians certainly know this, and I think that helps explain why the CMA has been involved in accrediting this training for so long."

Another physician offered a similar observation in the 2013 CMA Member Survey on CMA Accreditation's activities. "I think the fact that almost all medical and allied health professions require accreditation contributes to higher quality medical care. Physicians, knowing that allied health professionals are coming from an accredited system, can rely on them to make the best judgment call in critical situations."

Reid says accreditation provides assurance that training programs are sound and reliable. "It helps guarantee that today's training translates into tomorrow's excellent care," she said.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les Services d'agrément de l'AMC poursuivent leur croissance après 75 ans d'existence

L'AMC participe au processus d'agrément des programmes de formation des professionnels de la santé depuis plus de 75 ans. Un récent sondage révèle qu'une forte majorité des médecins (91 %) considèrent que ce type de contrôle de la formation est « essentiel » ou « très important ».

La Dre Anna Reid, présidente de l'AMC, n'est pas étonnée de la réponse positive des médecins, puisqu'ils comptent sur ces professionnels de la santé pour les aider à soigner les patients au quotidien.

Aujourd'hui, les Services d'agrément de l'AMC examinent, analysent et évaluent 236 programmes de formation collégiale et universitaire dans 15 professions des sciences de la santé, des services paramédicaux (67 programmes) à la génétique clinique (2 programmes).

Ce faisant, les Services d'agrément de l'AMC collaborent avec plus de 40 associations nationales, organismes de réglementation provinciaux et sociétés de spécialistes pour s'assurer que les programmes de formation répondent à des normes nationales rigoureuses. « Ces professionnels travaillent souvent dans les coulisses, mais leur travail très technique et perfectionné est essentiel aux soins de santé, explique la Dre Reid. Les médecins en sont conscients, et je crois que cela explique en partie pourquoi l'AMC participe au processus d'agrément depuis si longtemps. »

Un autre médecin a offert une observation similaire dans le cadre du Sondage de 2013 auprès des membres de l'AMC concernant les activités d'agrément de l'Association. « Je pense que le fait que presque tous les médecins et autres professionnels de la santé doivent être agréés contribue à la prestation de soins médicaux de qualité supérieure. Les médecins savent qu'ils peuvent compter sur les autres professionnels de la santé pour prendre la meilleure décision dans les situations critiques, sachant qu'ils sont agréés. »

Selon la Dre Reid, les Services d'agrément assurent la solidité et la fiabilité des programmes de formation. « Cela permet de garantir que la formation d'aujourd'hui est la base de l'excellence des soins de demain », dit-elle.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.