Sign In

​​​​​CMA annual meeting undergoing major rejuvenation

The highlight of the Canadian Medical Association year – the annual General Council meeting – is undergoing a major update this year to make it more relevant to members.

The 147th annual meeting of the association will be held Aug. 17-20 in Ottawa and will feature a number of changes aimed at ensuring the General Council sessions have a greater impact.

“This year’s meeting will provide a balance between continuing the respected traditions of General Council while introducing modern elements to ensure the meeting is more inclusive and relevant,” said CMA President Dr. Louis Hugo Francescutti.

“These changes are being made in response to suggestions from General Council delegates and observers and other stakeholders with a focus on ensuring the sessions promote meaningful debate on issues that matter to our members and all Canadians.”

Changes are planned for all components of the meeting from the opening ceremonies, to seating arrangements in the Council chambers. All changes to the meeting were made by a planning committee that included both the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of General Council.

These changes are personified in the selection of one of the main keynote speakers at the meeting – Dr. Brian Goldman, an emergency physician, author and host of CBC’s White Coat, Black Art. Goldman will address social responsibility and the role of the medical profession.

This is one of the three major themes at this year’s meeting with the others being end-of-life care issues and the medical use of marijuana.

Discussions around end-of-life care will build on debates held at the meeting last year and will be informed by a series of town hall meetings with the public and members and an online dialogue on the issues that the CMA has hosted.

Ensuring member input is heard at the meeting and that the deliberations at General Council are better communicated through a number of media channels including social media and video is another priority of the refresh process.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’assemblée annuelle de l’AMC prend un coup de jeune

Le point saillant de l’année pour l’Association médicale canadienne – la réunion annuelle du Conseil général – est complètement mis à jour en 2014 afin d’être plus pertinent pour les membres.

La 147e assemblée annuelle de l’Association aura lieu du 17 au 20 août à Ottawa et mettra en vedette un certain nombre de changements visant à assurer une plus grande productivité des séances du Conseil général.

« Cette année, l’assemblée fera l’équilibre entre le maintien des traditions respectées du Conseil général et de nouveaux éléments modernes visant à rendre la rencontre plus inclusive et plus pertinente », a expliqué le président de l’AMC, le Dr Louis Hugo Francescutti.

« Ces changements sont apportés en réponse aux suggestions des délégués et des observateurs du Conseil général et d’autres intervenants, dans le but d’assurer que les séances encouragent un débat fructueux sur les questions qui comptent pour nos membres et tous les Canadiens. »

Des changements seront apportés à toutes les composantes de l’assemblée, des cérémonies d’ouverture à l’attribution des sièges dans la salle du Conseil. Tous les changements ont été déterminés par un comité de planification auquel siègent l’orateur et l’orateure adjointe du Conseil général.

Ces changements sont parfaitement illustrés par le choix de l’un des orateurs principaux – le Dr Brian Goldman, un médecin de service d’urgence, auteur et animateur de l’émission White Coat, Black Art, sur la chaîne CBC. M. Goldman parlera de responsabilité sociale et du rôle de la profession médicale.

C’est l’un des trois principaux thèmes de la rencontre de cette année, les autres étant les soins de fin de vie et l’utilisation de la marijuana à des fins médicales.

Les discussions sur les soins de fin de vie reposeront sur les discussions initiales tenues à l’assemblée de l’année dernière et seront alimentées par l’information découlant d’une série d’assemblées de consultation auprès du public et des membres, et d’un dialogue en ligne, organisés par l’AMC.

Une autre priorité de ce processus de rajeunissement consiste à assurer que les commentaires des membres sont entendus à l’assemblée et que les débats au Conseil général sont mieux communiqués par divers moyens, dont les médias sociaux et des vidéos.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.