Sign In

CMA gives back in Quebec City: 150 school kids to benefit from additional support to commemorate 150th year since foundation

​​​Quebec City, Quebec, August 23, 2017 — To commemorate the Canadian Medical Association's (CMA's) 150th  anniversary in the city where it was founded, delegates and participants at its annual meeting have donated school supplies to help over 150 students as they begin the school year.

The supplies were provided this morning by new CMA president, Dr. Laurent Marcoux, to the Fondation Petits bonheurs d'école, an organization that lends a hand to elementary school students in Quebec who are less fortunate.

"We know that education is a key determinant of health, and ensuring that kids succeed in school is paramount to their future health and well-being," explains Dr. Marcoux. "It was therefore a natural cause for us to embrace and we're so pleased to support this organization - Quebec City has been good to us and we wanted to collectively give back."

To commemorate our 150th anniversary, the CMA has a year-long program that includes an interactive timeline showcasing the organization's history, a series of '150 in Focus' videos and an anniversary celebration planned in October.

To learn more about the CMA's celebrations for its 150th anniversary, please visit www.cma.ca/150. To find out how you can help the Fondation Petits bonheurs d'école, please visit www.petitsbonheursdecole.com

Connexion

L'AMC redonne à Québec : 150 élèves vont bénéficier d'un soutien additionnel afin de commémorer le 150e anniversaire de sa fondation 

​​Québec (Québec), le 23 août 2017 — Pour commémorer le 150e anniversaire de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) dans la ville où elle a vu le jour, les délégués et les participants à son Assemblée annuelle ont donné des fournitures scolaires afin d'aider plus de 150 élèves alors qu'ils commencent l'année scolaire.

Les fournitures ont été remises ce matin par le nouveau président de l'AMC, le Dr Laurent Marcoux, à la Fondation Petits bonheurs d'école, une organisation qui vient en aide aux élèves du primaire de milieux moins favorisés de la région de Québec.

« Nous savons que l'éducation est un important déterminant de la santé, et l'assurance que les enfants réussissent à l'école est essentielle à leur santé et à leur bien-être futurs », explique le Dr Marcoux. « Il était donc tout naturel pour nous d'adopter cette cause, et nous sommes très contents de soutenir cette organisation. La ville de Québec a été bonne pour nous et nous voulions redonner quelque chose collectivement. »

Pour commémorer son 150e anniversaire, l'AMC a un programme d'une durée d'un an comprenant un calendrier interactif expliquant l'histoire de l'Association, une série de vidéos « Point de mire 150 » et une célébration anniversaire prévue en octobre.

Pour en savoir plus sur les célébrations de l'AMC dans le cadre de son 150e anniversaire, veuillez visiter www.amc.ca/150. Pour savoir comment vous pouvez aider la Fondation Petits bonheurs d'école, veuillez visiter le www.petitsbonheursdecole.com