Sign In

​CMA launches cross-country discussions to build a strong future for medical culture and professionalism

​May 17, 2017 – As it celebrates its 150th anniversary, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is launching a country-wide series of discussions, online and face-to-face, to modernize and strengthen medicine’s values and commitments to reflect the contemporary expectations and professional responsibilities of the profession. The CMA is inviting physician members to weigh in on key topics through the CMA Community​ (login required).
 
Key themes being discussed:
  • Our culture and community as a profession
  • Our development and support as physicians
  • Care delivery and the patient experience
  • Leveraging our voice and influence
  • Generational change and diversity within our profession
 “Amidst revolutionary changes in health care, we can’t lose sight of the fundamental pillars that guide how we interact with patients, physician-colleagues, and other health care professionals. It is timely to have a conversation on the values and principles that define our profession,” said Dr. Granger Avery, the CMA president. “The CMA is committed to working with physicians to develop a new, inclusive vision for the profession.”
 
The CMA is involving physicians and trainees directly as “co-creators” of the new progressive, values-based vision for medicine.
 
The CMA’s work on professionalism will focus on three key deliverables:
  • ​A Charter of Shared Values – articulating the values and commitments that further strengthen professional responsibilities to which physicians can commit to in support of a unified profession, in the service of patients.
  • A  new Code of Ethics and Professionalism –   identifying the fundamental values and commitments to which the profession aspires and articulating physicians’ obligations to patients and society, to guide the ethical practice of medicine.
  • An Accountability Framework – creating a framework to which physicians are accountable as a commitment to the health system.
 From now to the end of the year, the CMA will be meeting with physicians and others to move this issue forward and it will be the main topic of discussion at the CMA’s Annual General Meeting in Quebec City in August.

Connexion

L'AMC lance des discussions à l'échelle nationale afin de bâtir un avenir prometteur pour la culture et le professionnalisme du monde médical

17 mai 2017 – Alors qu’elle célèbre son 150e anniversaire, l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) lance une série de discussions d’un bout à l’autre du pays, en ligne et en personne, afin de moderniser et de renforcer les valeurs et les engagements en médecine et de refléter ainsi les attentes et les responsabilités professionnelles du monde médical en cette ère contemporaine. L’AMC invite ses membres médecins à se prononcer sur des sujets précis par l’intermédiaire de la Communauté AMC (connexion requise).
 
Voici les principaux thèmes qui feront l’objet de discussions :
  • ​Notre culture et notre communauté comme profession\
  • Notre épanouissement personnel et professionnel ainsi que notre soutien en tant que médecins
  • La prestation des soins et l’expérience des patients
  • L’influence qu’exercent nos prises de position
  • Les changements générationnels et la diversité au sein de notre profession
 « Parmi les changements révolutionnaires dans les soins de santé, il ne faut pas perdre de vue les piliers fondamentaux qui guident la façon dont nous interagissons avec les patients, avec nos collègues médecins et avec les autres professionnels de la santé. Il est grand temps d’avoir une discussion sur les valeurs et les principes qui définissent notre profession », a affirmé le président de l’AMC, le Dr Granger Avery.  « L’AMC s’engage à travailler avec les médecins pour élaborer une nouvelle vision inclusive pour la profession. »
 
L’AMC demande la participation directe des médecins et des médecins en formation en tant que « ​co-créateurs » de cette nouvelle vision progressive fondée sur les valeurs propres à la médecine.
 
Le travail de l’AMC sur le professionnalisme vise la réalisation de trois projets :

  • ​ La Charte des valeurs commune, qui vise à établir les valeurs et les engagements qui renforcent les responsabilités professionnelles dont peuvent s’acquitter les médecins en appui à l’unification de la profession, au service des patients.
  • Un nouveau Code de déontologie et de professionnalisme, qui vise à déterminer les valeurs et les engagements fondamentaux auxquels aspire la profession et à établir les obligations des médecins envers les patients et la société afin d’orienter une pratique éthique de la médecine.
  • Un cadre de responsabilisation, qui vise à mettre sur pied un modèle auquel doivent se conformer les médecins en guise d’engagement envers le système de santé.
 À compter de maintenant et jusqu’à la fin de l’année, l’AMC rencontrera des médecins et d’autres personnes afin de faire avancer ce dossier, qui sera l’objet principal des discussions à l’occasion de l’Assemblée générale annuelle de l’AMC qui se tiendra à Québec au mois d’août.