Sign In

CMA's online CME courses earning high marks from users

The CMA's rapidly expanding list of accredited online learning courses is receiving positive reviews from the physicians who use it.

A recent summary of user feedback about CMA-produced courses shows that a resounding majority of physicians (97.1%) who took one of the courses from January to March 2013 would participate in another one, while 91.2% would recommend the learning modules to colleagues.

"We were delighted with the feedback," says Dr. Sam Shortt, the CMA's director of quality initiatives. "What we want to do now is make more of our members aware not only about the breadth of the learning that is available, but also how simple it is to track the CME credits you earn. Basically, we do all of the work for you via the automatic transfer of credits to both colleges."

The feedback summary, which was prepared by Memorial University of Newfoundland, also determined that:

  • 97.8% of respondents said the content in the learning modules was consistent with the stated objectives;
  • 96.4% felt that taking one of the CMA's online courses "had enhanced my knowledge in this area";
  • 94.1% said the material was "credible and non-biased," and 93.5% judged it as "relevant to my practice."

The CMA courses, which are available only to members, are all eligible for CME credits from the Royal College and College of Family Physicians of Canada. The 11 courses available so far deal with topics ranging from Alzheimer's dementia to the treatment of obese patients and the diagnosis of acute coronary syndromes. Credits are automatically transmitted to the member's college upon course completion.

Details about all the courses are available online.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les cours d'EMC offerts en ligne par l'AMC ont la cote auprès des utilisateurs

La liste de cours agréés d'EMC offerts en ligne par l'AMC prend rapidement de l'expansion et les cours reçoivent une évaluation positive des médecins qui utilisent cette ressource.

Un récent sommaire des commentaires d'utilisateurs des cours produits par l'AMC a révélé qu'une écrasante majorité des médecins (97,1 %) qui ont suivi un cours entre janvier et mars 2013 en suivraient un autre, tandis que 91,2 % recommanderaient les modules d'apprentissage à leurs collègues.

« Nous avons été ravis de cette réaction », a déclaré le Dr Sam Shortt, directeur des initiatives de qualité à l'AMC. « Nous voulons maintenant faire connaître à un plus grand nombre de nos membres non seulement l'éventail des occasions d'apprentissage offertes, mais aussi les mécanismes qui simplifient l'inscription des crédits d'EMC obtenus. En fait, nous faisons tout le travail pour vous puisque les crédits sont transférés automatiquement aux deux collèges. »

Le sommaire des commentaires, préparé par l'Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve, a aussi permis de faire les constatations suivantes :

  • 97,8 % des répondants ont dit que le contenu des modules d'apprentissage correspondait aux objectifs énoncés;
  • 96,4 % ont jugé que le cours en ligne de l'AMC leur avait permis « d'améliorer leurs connaissances dans le domaine »
  • 94,1 % ont dit que le matériel était « crédible et impartial » et 93,5 % l'ont jugé « pertinent pour leur pratique ».

Les cours de l'AMC, offerts exclusivement aux membres, donnent tous droit à des crédits d'EMC du Collège royal et du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Les 11 cours offerts à date portent sur des sujets aussi variés que la maladie d'Alzheimer, le traitement des patients obèses et le diagnostic du syndrome coronarien aigu. Les crédits sont transmis automatiquement au collège du membre une fois le cours complété.

Pour plus de détails, consultez www.amc.ca/emc.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.