Sign In

CMA sets new membership mark

Less than five years after the CMA surpassed the 70,000 mark in membership, it has reached a new milestone. And the announcement came on its 146th birthday.

Tabulations completed Oct. 9, 2013, indicated that membership in the association had surpassed the 80,000 mark for the first time, with the total reaching 80,081 physicians, residents and medical students. Exactly 146 years earlier, on Oct. 9, 1867, 167 founding members gathered in Quebec City to form the CMA.

"I'm sure those founding members would be surprised - if that's a strong enough word - by the changes that have taken place in medicine and this association since 1867," said CMA President Louis Hugo Francescutti. "I do know they would be proud of what they created."

The developments that ultimately emerged as a result of that long-ago meeting range from creation of the country's first Code of Ethics for physicians to the launch of Canada's most important medical journal, CMAJ.

Later, the CMA would play a major role in creating national bodies such as the Canadian Medical Protective Association and Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and in forming a financial services subsidiary that is unique among the world's medical associations.

"It is safe to say we are the leading national voice for Canada's physicians, and that's exactly the role our founders had envisaged," said Francescutti. "As they put it, the CMA was created to 'give a frequent, united, and decided expression of the medical opinion of the country,' and that's just what it has done."

Today, the CMA's membership includes more than 52,500 practising physicians, over 21,000 residents and medical students, and more than 6,000 retired doctors.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Effectifs : l'AMC atteint un autre jalon

Moins de cinq ans après avoir franchi la marque des 70 000 membres, l'AMC a atteint un autre jalon et l'annonce est venue le jour de son 146e anniversaire.

Les calculs effectués le 9 octobre 2013 indiquent en effet que les effectifs de l'association ont dépassé les 80 000 pour la première fois, pour atteindre un total de 80 081 membres médecins, résidents et étudiants en médecine. C'est 146 ans auparavant, jour pour jour, soit le 9 octobre 1867, que les 167 membres fondateurs se réunissaient à Québec pour former l'AMC.

« Je suis certain que ces membres fondateurs seraient étonnés, et c'est peu dire, des changements survenus en médecine et au sein de cette association depuis 1867 », a déclaré le président de l'AMC, Louis Hugo Francescutti. « Je sais qu'ils seraient fiers de leur création. »

Les développements qui ont suivi cette assemblée d'autrefois ont mené à la création du premier code de déontologie des médecins et au lancement du journal médical le plus important du Canada, le JAMC.

Plus tard, l'AMC devait jouer un rôle marquant en créant des entités nationales telles que l'Association canadienne de protection médicale et le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, et en lançant une filiale de services financiers inégalée parmi les associations médicales du monde.

« Il n'est pas exagéré de dire que nous sommes le principal porte-parole des médecins du Canada, et c'est là précisément le rôle que nos fondateurs envisageaient », a ajouté le Dr Francescutti. « Comme ils l'ont affirmé, l'AMC a été créée pour "exprimer fréquemment, avec unité et fermeté, l'opinion médicale au pays", et c'est exactement ce qu'elle a fait. »

Aujourd'hui, l'effectif de l'AMC se compose de plus de 52 500 médecins en exercice, 21 000 médecins résidents et étudiants en médecine et 6000 médecins à la retraite.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.