Sign In

CMA targets students, residents with first online leadership course

For the past 35 years the CMA has encouraged and nurtured medical leadership by focusing its leadership-related teaching efforts on practising physicians, and the main tool has been face-to-face meetings offered by its Physician Management Institute (PMI).

This year, however, some of that attention will switch to the leaders of tomorrow when the CMA launches a leadership course for medical students and residents. The initiative will also mark the first time the CMA has offered leadership training online.

The course, which at this time is open only to students and residents who are CMA members, is eligible for up to 22 credits from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the College of Family Physicians of Canada.

Participants have two options.

A facilitated leadership course will be offered five times throughout the year (Feb. 3-March 16, March 24-May 4, May 19-June 29, Sept. 15-Oct. 26, and Nov. 10 to Dec. 21). Participants will move through the course together by completing one module per week, but can schedule their time online to meet personal requirements.

Although it is a virtual course, instructor Paul Mohapel, PhD, will be available to provide participants with guidance and feedback throughout the course. The facilitated course also includes three webinars, virtual meetings with peers from across the country, and three online assessments. It costs $499.95, but discounted prices are available for groups of 10 or more students and residents.

A self-led leadership course that allows participants to proceed at their own pace is also available, and students and residents can start the course work at any time. It costs $49.95.

“We decided to pursue online training because we wanted to find a new way to foster leadership development among students and residents, although this will soon be extended to practising physicians as well,” explained Patricia Lightfoot, PhD, the CMA’s associate director of online physician learning.

The idea for this course took root after the release of recommendations from Future of Medical Education in Canada committees that leadership development should be part of both undergraduate and postgraduate medical training. Further support was provided during the 2012 Canadian Conference on Physician Leadership, which was co-hosted by the CMA and Canadian Society of Physician Executives. Feedback from students and residents following that meeting “indicated a desire that we design some program content aimed specifically at those two groups so that they could have access to leadership development at an early stage in their careers. This course is the result.”

Further details are available at www.cma.ca/onlineleadership or from Lightfoot, patricia.lightfoot@cma.ca.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC cible les étudiants et les résidents en leur offrant un premier cours de leadership en ligne

Au cours des 35 dernières années, l’AMC a encouragé et appuyé le leadership médical en ciblant les médecins praticiens dans ses programmes de formation au leadership; les cours en personne du Physician Management Institute (PMI) ont constitué le principal moyen à cet égard.

Cette année, toutefois, les chefs de file de demain feront l’objet d’une partie de cette attention lorsque l’AMC lancera un cours de leadership à l’intention des étudiants en médecine et des médecins résidents. Cette initiative marquera aussi la première fois que l’AMC offre un cours de leadership en ligne.

Le cours, réservé pour le moment aux étudiants et aux médecins résidents membres de l’AMC, donne droit à un maximum de 22 crédits du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et du Collège des médecins de famille du Canda.

Les participants ont deux options :

Un cours de leadership dirigé sera offert à cinq reprises au cours de l’année, soit du 3 février au 16 mars, du 24 mars au 4 mai, du 19 mai au 29 juin, du 15 septembre au 26 octobre et du 10 novembre au 21 décembre. Les participants évolueront ensemble pendant le cours, à raison d’un module par semaine, mais ils pourront organiser leur temps en ligne selon leurs besoins personnels.

Bien qu’il s’agisse d’un cours virtuel, l’enseignant, Paul Mohapel, PhD, sera à la disposition des participants pour leur offrir ses conseils et commentaires, tout au long du cours. Le cours comprend aussi trois webinaires, des rencontres virtuelles avec des pairs de partout au pays et trois évaluations en ligne. Les frais sont de 499,95 $, mais les groupes de 10 étudiants et résidents ou plus peuvent se prévaloir d’un rabais.

Un cours de leadership autodirigé, qui permet aux participants d’évoluer à leur propre rythme, est également offert et les étudiants et résidents peuvent débuter le cours à n’importe quel moment. Les frais sont de 49,95 $.

« Nous avons décidé d’aller de l’avant avec la formation en ligne parce que nous voulions trouver une nouvelle façon de favoriser le développement du leadership chez les étudiants et les résidents. Cette formule s’étendra bientôt aux médecins praticiens », a expliqué Patricia Lightfoot, PhD, directrice associée de l’apprentissage en ligne pour les médecins à l’AMC.

L’idée de ce cours a pris racine après la diffusion de recommandations des comités de l’Avenir de l’éducation médicale au Canada selon lesquels le développement du leadership devrait faire partie autant des études médicales de premier cycle que de la formation postdoctorale. Le projet a obtenu un soutien additionnel au cours de la Conférence canadienne de 2012 sur le leadership des médecins, coparrainée par l’AMC et la Société canadienne des médecins gestionnaires. Suite à cette conférence, des étudiants et des médecins résidents « ont dit souhaiter qu’une partie du contenu du programme soit créé spécifiquement à l’intention des membres de ces deux groupes afin qu’ils puissent avoir accès au développement du leadership dès le début de leur carrière. Ce cours en est le résultat ».

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site www.amc.ca/learning/coursdeleadershipenligne ou communiquez avec Patricia Lightfoot patricia.lightfoot@cma.ca.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.