Sign In

CMA updates return-to-work policy

Because of physicians' ever-increasing degree of responsibility in the return-to-work process, the CMA has updated its return-to-work policy, The treating physician's tole in helping patients return to work after an illness or injury. It is the second time the policy has been revised in three years.

The updated policy contains several new elements:

  • a description of the employer's role in helping patients return to work
  • the role of a return-to-work coordinator (who may or not be the physician) as an important facilitator in ensuring a timely return-to work process
  • a recommendation to develop educational sessions to support physicians wishing to assume the role of timely return-to-work coordinator
  • support for billing third parties (not patients) for the provision of services
  • a recommendation for stricter patient-consent requirements

The changes were made after consultation with groups that included the Canadian Medical Protective Association, Canadian Ophthalmological Society, Canadian Psychiatric Association, College of Family Physicians of Canada, Canadian Spine Society, Canadian Rheumatology Association and the Occupational Medicine Specialists of Canada (OMSOC).

"We received considerable feedback when we sent out a draft of the revised policy, and many of these suggestions have been integrated into the final document," said Dr. Trina Larsen Soles, chair of the CMA's Committee on Health Policy and Economics. She noted that input was sought from the OMSOC on several occasions because these specialists play such a major role in the handling of return-to-work issues.

CMA President Anna Reid described the policy update as "timely and important" because patients' return-to-work issues are dealt with by physicians in many specialties.

Queries about the updated policy can be forwarded to Aly Pira, aly.pira@cma.ca.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Mise à jour de la politique de l'AMC sur le retour au travail

Vu le degré sans cesse croissant de responsabilité qui incombe aux médecins dans la démarche de retour au travail, l'AMC a revu sa politique en la matière, intitulée Le rôle du médecin traitant dans le retour au travail de patients après une maladie ou une blessure.

La politique révisée comporte plusieurs nouveaux éléments :

  • une description du rôle de l'employeur lorsqu'il s'agit d'aider les patients à retourner au travail;
  • le rôle d'un coordonnateur du retour au travail (qui peut être ou non le médecin) comme facilitateur important d'une démarche appropriée de retour au travail en temps opportun;
  • une recommandation portant d'offrir des séances de formation pour aider les médecins qui souhaitent prendre en charge le rôle de coordonnateur du retour au travail en temps opportun;
  • un soutien pour obtenir des services facturés par un fournisseur tiers (non patient);
  • une recommandation portant sur le resserrement des exigences de consentement des patients.

Les modifications ont été apportées après consultation avec divers groupes, notamment l'Association canadienne de protection médicale, la Société canadienne d'ophtalmologie, l'Association des psychiatres du Canada, le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, la Société canadienne du rachis, l'Association canadienne de rhumatologie et les Occupational Medicine Specialists of Canada (OMSOC).

« Nous avons reçu beaucoup de commentaires lorsque nous avons fait circuler une version préliminaire de la politique révisée, et bon nombre de ces suggestions ont été intégrées dans la version finale du document », a expliqué la Dre Trina Larsen Soles, présidente du Comité de la politique et de l'économique de la santé de l'AMC. Elle a souligné que l'on a consulté les OMSOC à plusieurs reprises, car ces spécialistes jouent un rôle déterminant dans les dossiers de retour au travail.

La présidente de l'AMC, Anna Reid, a dit de la mise à jour qu'elle était « pertinente et importante » parce que des médecins de nombreuses spécialités doivent composer avec des enjeux de retour au travail des patients.

Pour toute question au sujet de la mise à jour, veuillez consulter Aly Pira (aly.pira@cma.ca).

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.