Sign In

CMAJ embraces open-publishing concept, launches CMAJ Open

CMAJ has launched a new digital-only open-access journal that will provide a home for researchers whose papers may be too narrowly focused to qualify for publication in CMAJ itself.

"The main reason we went this way is that CMAJ only has room for the roughly 70 high-impact papers we publish every year," says Dr. Diane Kelsall, a deputy editor at CMAJ who will serve as editor at the new online publication, CMAJ Open. "But all the time we are selecting those papers, we are also rejecting a lot of well-written and solid work because it is not of broad enough interest to meet CMAJ's publishing criteria."

"The idea behind CMAJ Open is to offer these researchers a platform for disseminating their work while putting CMAJ editorial expertise and the CMAJ brand behind them."

Kelsall says the new journal is "open" in several ways. For instance, it will consider for publication some types of research studies that CMAJ itself will not, and it will employ an open peer review system in which reviewer comments, author responses and previous versions of all articles are available, along with the final published version. It will also consider submissions involving medical and health care research, including work from allied health professionals.

As well, all content appearing in CMAJ Open will be available free of charge to all readers upon publication (some online CMAJ articles are available free only to CMA members and journal subscribers, although all research it publishes is open access).

In launching the new model, CMAJ is joining online open-publishing pioneers such as the Public Library of Science (PLoS) and the BMJ Group. As is the case with them, researchers submitting to CMAJ Open will be asked to help cover editorial costs by paying $2,250 (plus HST) following acceptance of their paper (PLoS Medicine charges US$2,900, BMJ Open £1350). "The ability to pay will not affect editorial decision-making," Kelsall says.

She said initial response to the new journal has been positive, and four papers have already been accepted. Papers are published immediately following acceptance, and every four months they will be collected into a quarterly issue.

Details for authors, including frequently asked questions, are available online.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Le JAMC adopte un nouveau modèle de publication en lançant le JAMC Ouvert

Une nouvelle revue libre-accès permettra aux chercheurs de faire publier leurs articles qui portent sur un sujet trop pointu pour être acceptés par le JAMC.

« La principale raison pour laquelle nous avons choisi cette voie », explique la Dre Diane Kelsall, rédactrice adjointe au JAMC qui dirigera la nouvelle publication en ligne, le JAMC Ouvert, « c'est que nous n'avons pas suffisamment d'espace dans le JAMC pour publier chaque année plus de quelque 70 articles à haut facteur d'impact. Or, lorsque nous acceptons ces articles pour publication, nous refusons en même temps énormément d'articles de qualité portant sur des travaux de recherche solides, mais qui ne présentent pas un intérêt d'assez grande envergure pour répondre aux critères de publication du JAMC. »

« Le JAMC Ouvert a pour objet d'offrir à ces chercheurs un moyen de diffuser leurs résultats en bénéficiant de l'expertise rédactionnelle et de la réputation du JAMC. »

La Dre Kelsall explique que le nouveau journal est « ouvert » de plusieurs façons. Par exemple, il n'étudiera pour publication que des types de travaux de recherche que le JAMC ne retient pas et il utilisera un système ouvert d'examen par les pairs dans lequel les commentaires des examinateurs, les réponses des auteurs et les versions antérieures de tous les articles seront accessibles, aussi bien que la version finale publiée. Il étudiera aussi des articles de recherche en médecine et en santé, y compris les travaux des membres des professions paramédicales.

Tout le contenu publié dans le JAMC Ouvert sera offert aux lecteurs gratuitement dès publication (certains des articles en ligne du JAMC ne sont offerts gratuitement qu'aux membres de l'AMC et autres abonnés, bien que la recherche publiée soit offerte en libre-accès).

En lançant le nouveau modèle, le JAMC suit l'exemple de pionniers de la publication ouverte tels que la Public Library of Science (PLoS) et le Groupe BMJ. Tout comme le font ces derniers, le JAMC Ouvert demandera un droit de publication de 2250 $ (plus TPS) aux chercheurs dont les articles sont acceptés pour publication (PLoS Medicine demande 2900 $US et le BMJ Open, 1350 £). « La capacité de payer n'influencera pas la prise de décision de la rédaction », souligne la Dre Kelsall.

Elle ajoute que la réaction initiale au nouveau journal a été positive et que quatre articles ont déjà été acceptés. Les articles, publiés dès leur acceptation, seront regroupés tous les quatre mois en un numéro quadrimestriel.

Les auteurs trouveront en ligne plus de détails et une FAQ.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.