Sign In

Calgary to host major November meeting on the health of physicians

Health issues facing physicians will take centre stage in Calgary Nov. 15-16, 2013, when the Canadian Physician Health Institute (CPHI) and the Alberta Medical Association co-host the Canadian Conference on Physician Health.

Registration for the meeting - the theme is Harnessing wisdom across generations to promote physician health - opened June 18.

The CPHI, a national program that focuses on promoting physician mental health and wellness, is governed by the CMA, the Canadian Medical Foundation and the provincial and territorial medical associations. The institute focuses on issues such as physician stress and burnout, topics that will be front and centre in Calgary.

The November meeting will focus on several major themes, including:

  • identifying how technologies are both a benefit and a challenge to physician health;
  • acquiring knowledge and skills to assist physician, resident and student colleagues;
  • developing a personal plan for improved health and well-being.

Speakers include Dr. Michael Myers, who will discuss "Remembering our past: A beacon for today and tomorrow." Drs. James Sproule and Todd Watkins of the Canadian Medical Protective Association, as well as Dr. Paul Farnan, will address disruptive behaviour throughout the physician lifecycle. In another plenary session, Dr. David Topps will moderate a debate on whether digital connectivity is a positive determinant of physician health.

CMA President Anna Reid says the meeting is important because it publicizes issues and resources many physicians are unaware of and seldom discuss. "This is a chance to step back and take a look at some very serious issues affecting our profession," she said.

The CPHI says a 2008 survey revealed that one-third of Canadian physicians feel depressed and almost two-thirds "feel that their workload prevents pursuit of personal interests or family time." Registration details are available online.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Calgary accueillera en novembre une importante conférence sur la santé des médecins

Les enjeux de santé des médecins prendront l'avant-scène à Calgary, les 15 et 16 novembre 2013, lorsque l'Institut canadien pour la santé des médecins (ICSM) et l'Association médicale de l'Alberta coparraineront la Conférence canadienne sur la santé des médecins.

L'assemblée aura pour thème « Mettre à profit la sagesse de toutes les générations pour promouvoir la santé des médecins »; les inscriptions sont ouvertes depuis le 18 juin.

L'ICSM, programme national voué à la promotion de la santé mentale et du mieux-être des médecins, est dirigé par l'AMC, la Fondation médicale canadienne et les associations médicales provinciales et territoriales.

L'Institut se penche sur des enjeux tels que le stress et l'épuisement professionnel chez les médecins, questions qui seront au centre des préoccupations à Calgary.

L'assemblée de novembre abordera plusieurs sous-thèmes importants, notamment les suivants :

  • avantages et inconvénients des technologies pour la santé des médecins;
  • acquisition de connaissances et de compétences pour aider les collègues médecins, résidents et étudiants;
  • formulation d'un plan personnel d'amélioration de la santé et du mieux-être.

Signalons, parmi les conférenciers, le Dr Michael Myers, dont la présentation s'intitulera " Avoir souvenir de notre passé : un phare pour aujourd'hui et demain ". Les Drs James Sproule et Todd Watkins, de l'Association canadienne de protection médicale, ainsi que le Dr Paul Farnan, parleront des comportements perturbateurs tout au long du cycle de vie du médecin. Au cours d'une autre séance plénière, le Dr David Topps animera un débat dans lequel les participants se demanderont si la connectivité numérique est un déterminant positif de la santé des médecins.

La présidente de l'AMC, Anna Reid, explique que la réunion est importante parce qu'elle fera connaître des enjeux et des ressources que de nombreux médecins ne connaissent pas et dont ils et elles discutent rarement. " C'est une occasion de prendre un peu de recul pour examiner certains des problèmes très sérieux qui touchent notre profession ", dit-elle.

Selon l'ICSM, les résultats d'un sondage effectué en 2008 ont révélé que le tiers des médecins canadiens se sentent déprimés et que les deux-tiers " ont l'impression que leur charge de travail les empêche de prendre du temps pour leurs intérêts personnels ou pour leur famille ".

On trouvera en ligne tous les détails au sujet de l'inscription.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.