Sign In

​​​Canada's doctors set sights on innovation and shaping health issues 

​Québec City, August 23, 2017 – The 150th annual meeting of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) ended with physicians vowing to intensify their efforts to advocate on critical issues, including opioids and medical aid in dying.

"Technology is opening up new frontiers in medicine; advances that were unimaginable a few years ago are now within reach," said CMA President, Dr. Laurent Marcoux. "As our practices undergo this sweeping change, the CMA will continue to be a partner to patients and physicians—a driving force for collaboration and a positive source of inspiration."

The meeting in Québec City, which united over 600 participants from across Canada and the world, featured discussion on a wide range of health care issues, including physician health and burnout, opioid use in Canada and medical aid in dying.

The CMA continues to press the federal government to lead development of a national coordinating system that encompasses all aspects of end-of-life care, including advance planning, palliative care and assisted dying.

"A patchwork of provincial policies will only lead to further inequities," said Dr. Marcoux. "The CMA will continue to be an active, expert participant in the national discussion on the health issues that matter to Canadians."

The CMA contends that the health care system needs to be redesigned to meet the health care needs of our nation's growing senior population. Seniors care should be a top public policy priority for all governments in Canada and a pan-Canadian strategy is needed to address the more complex and chronic health care needs of seniors.

"The number of seniors expected to need help or care will double in the next 30 years, and Canada is not ready," warned Dr. Marcoux. "Maintaining the status quo is a prescription for disaster."

Connexion

Les médecins du Canada se concentrent sur l'innovation et les enjeux de la santé 

​Québec, le 23 août 2017 – La 150e Assemblée annuelle de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) est terminée, et les médecins se sont engagés à intensifier leurs efforts de représentation sur des enjeux critiques, notamment la consommation d'opioïdes et l'aide médicale à mourir.

« La technologie ouvre de nouvelles frontières en médecine. Des avancées qui étaient inimaginables il y a quelques années sont maintenant à notre portée », a dit le Dr Laurent Marcoux, président de l'AMC. « Dans cette transformation radicale de nos pratiques, l'AMC restera partenaire des patients et des médecins en étant un moteur de collaboration et une source d'inspiration positive. »

La rencontre de Québec, qui a rassemblé plus de 600 participants de partout au Canada et du reste du monde, a permis de discuter d'une vaste gamme d'enjeux sur la santé, dont la santé et l'épuisement professionnel chez les médecins, la consommation d'opioïdes au Canada et l'aide médicale à mourir.

L'AMC continue à presser le gouvernement fédéral de diriger l'élaboration d'un système national de coordination qui englobe tous les aspects des soins de fin de vie, ce qui comprend la planification préalable des soins, les soins palliatifs et l'aide à mourir.

« Une mosaïque de politiques provinciales ne fera que créer plus d'inégalités », a déclaré le Dr Marcoux. « L'AMC continuera de participer activement, comme spécialiste, à la discussion nationale sur les enjeux de la santé qui importent pour la population canadienne. »

L'AMC soutient qu'il faut repenser le système de santé pour répondre aux besoins de nos aînés de plus en plus nombreux. Les soins aux aînés devraient être une priorité publique pour tous les gouvernements au Canada, et une stratégie pancanadienne est requise pour répondre aux besoins plus complexes et chroniques des aînés.

« Le nombre de personnes âgées susceptibles d'avoir besoin d'aide ou de soins doublera au cours des 30 prochaines années, et le Canada n'est pas prêt à faire face à la situation », a prévenu le Dr Marcoux. « Maintenir le statu quo, c'est prescrire la catastrophe. »