Sign In

Med 2.0: Canadian research at the fore

Results from new Canadian research in various innovative areas dominated many sessions at the Medicine 2.0: World Congress on Social Media, Mobile Apps, Internet/Web 2.0 held recently in Maui, Hawaii.

The meeting, with 220 delegates from 24 countries, was the second iteration of this year’s conference — and the eighth overall since its launch in 2008. An earlier 2014 version was held in Malaga, Spain, with a European focus.

The brainchild of University of Toronto associate professor Dr. Gunther Eysenbach, from the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation and senior scientist at the Centre for Global eHealth Innovation, the conference profiles academic research using new media and digital tools in health care.

“Medicine 2.0 is the science of applying technology for next generation medicine,” said Eysenbach in his introduction.

The Maui meeting had a strong Canadian contingent and featured presentations on a number of projects, including:

  • the first analysis of results from the comprehensive web-based dissemination strategy for the Canadian Diabetes Association 2013 Clinical Practice Guidelines presented by Drs. Catherine Yu and Calvin Ke, University of Toronto and the University of British Columbia, respectively
  • research from a Toronto-based team discussing “Loop” — a new networking tool designed to assist collaborative care between patients and health care providers at the Hospital for Sick Children and the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Toronto.
  • use of a wiki to develop electronic order sets for emergency physicians in a computer physician order entry system, by Dr. Patrick Archambault from Université Laval
  • animated comics used to teach medical students about empathy, presented by Yu; a tweet from this session quoting a medical student interviewed by Yu – “There is no billing code for empathy” – was one of the most retweeted comments from the conference
  • evaluation of a YouTube video that was developed at the IWK Health Centre, Halifax, and designed to provide parents with information to help reduce pain and anxiety related to receiving injections, presented by Dr. Christine Chambers
  • a tutorial on how to help seniors make better use of mobile apps, by Dr. Kelly Grindrod (PharmD), from the school of pharmacy at the University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON
  • data from the Canadian Medical Association Member e-Panel showing poor uptake in the professional use of social media tools and platforms by Canadian physicians

The conference also featured plenary presentations on a wide range of topics, including using Internet search data for health care purposes, bridging the digital divide and just how widely Wikipedia is used by medical students and physicians for medical information.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Med 2.0: La recherche canadienne à l’avant-plan

Les résultats de travaux de recherche effectués récemment au Canada dans divers domaines innovateurs ont été le point central de nombre des séances au Congrès mondial Medicine 2.0 sur les médias sociaux, les applis mobiles, l’Internet et le Web tenu récemment à Maui (Hawaï).

Cette rencontre, qui accueillait 220 délégués venant de 24 pays, était la deuxième cette année — et la huitième depuis le lancement initial en 2008. La rencontre précédente de 2014 a eu lieu à Malaga, en Espagne, et était axée sur l’Europe.

Ce congrès, qui est une initiative du Dr Gunther Eysenbach, professeur agrégé à l’Université de Toronto et à l’Institut des politiques, de la gestion et de l’évaluation de la santé et chercheur principal au Centre pour l’innovation mondiale en cybersanté, met en lumière la recherche universitaire réalisée à l’aide des nouveaux médias et d’outils numériques dans le secteur de la santé.

« Medicine 2.0, c’est la science de l’application de la technologie à la médecine de la prochaine génération », a dit le Dr Eysenbach dans ses propos d’ouverture.

La rencontre de Maui comptait un important contingent canadien et prévoyait des présentations sur divers sujets, dont :

  • la première analyse des résultats de la stratégie exhaustive de diffusion sur le Web des lignes directrices de pratique clinique 2013 de l’Association canadienne du diabète, par les Drs Catherine Yu et Calvin Ke, respectivement de l’Université de Toronto et de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • les résultats de recherche d’une équipe torontoise sur le « Loop » — un nouvel outil de réseautage visant à faciliter les soins en collaboration entre les patients et les fournisseurs de soins à l’Hôpital Sick Children et au Centre d’oncologie Princess Margaret, à Toronto;
  • l’utilisation d’un wiki pour développer des ensembles de commandes électroniques pour les médecins d’urgence dans un système d’entrée de commandes informatisé, par le Dr Patrick Archambault, de l’Université Laval;
  • des dessins animés pour enseigner l’empathie aux étudiants en médecine, présentés par la Dre Yu; un message Twitter citant un étudiant en médecine interviewé par la Dre Yu – « Il n’y a pas de code de facturation pour l’empathie » – a été l’un des commentaires du congrès les plus fréquemment repris sur Twitter;
  • l’évaluation d’une vidéo présentée sur YouTube, conçue par le Centre de santé IWK, à Halifax, visant à informer les parents afin de les aider à réduire la douleur et l’anxiété liées aux injections, présentée par la Dre Christine Chambers;
  • un tutoriel sur la façon d’aider les personnes âgées à mieux utiliser les applis mobiles, par la Dre Kelly Grindrod (DPharm), de l’École de pharmacie de l’Université de Waterloo, à Waterloo (Ontario);
  • des données du Forum électronique des membres de l’Association médicale canadienne montrant que les médecins du Canada utilisent peu les plateformes et les outils des médias sociaux dans leur pratique professionnelle.

Le congrès mettait également en vedette des présentations en plénière sur divers sujets, dont l’utilisation de données de recherche sur Internet à des fins de soins de santé, la façon de combler l’écart entre le numérique et le non numérique, et le degré d’utilisation réel de Wikipedia par les étudiants en médecine et les médecins qui recherchent de l’information médicale.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.