Sign In

Clinical guidance on avian influenza A(H7N9) virus now available

The Association of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Disease Canada (AMMI Canada) has developed interim guidance on the use of antiviral drugs to treat avian influenza A(H7N9) virus. The goal is to help ensure that front-line clinicians have access to necessary information should the novel virus emerge in Canada.

Interim Guidance for Antiviral Prophylaxis and Treatment of Influenza Illness due to Avian Influenza A(H7N9) Virus provides information on the use of antiviral drugs to prevent and clinically manage influenza-like illnesses that are either suspected or laboratory confirmed to be due to infection by avian influenza A(H7N9) virus.

The information is now available on the AMMI Canada web site. It can also be accessed via the Public Health Agency of Canada's web site (under Emerging Respiratory Pathogens), along with other resources concerning the A(H7N9) virus, and information on the Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV).

The first three cases of A(H7N9) infection were reported in China March 31, 2013. Infection has occurred mostly in patients who have had known or suspected contact with infected birds, chiefly poultry. The AMMI Canada paper says that sustained human-to-human transmission has not been documented to date.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Publication de lignes directrices cliniques au sujet du virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9)

L'Association pour la microbiologie médicale et l'infectiologie Canada (AMMI Canada) a produit un guide provisoire sur l'utilisation de médicaments antiviraux pour traiter le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9). Il s'agit d'aider les cliniciens des premières lignes à  avoir accès aux renseignements nécessaires si jamais le nouveau virus se manifeste au Canada.

Le guide, intitulé Interim Guidance for Antiviral Prophylaxis and Treatment of Influenza Illness due to Avian Influenza A(H7N9) Virus (en anglais seulement), donne des renseignements sur l'utilisation des médicaments antiviraux pour la prévention et la gestion clinique des maladies qui ressemblent à  la grippe, lorsque l'on soupçonne une infection par le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) ou qu'une telle infection est confirmée en laboratoire.

L'information est affichée sur le site web d'AMMI Canada. On peut aussi y accéder par l'entremise du site web de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (sous l'onglet Agents pathogènes des voies respiratoires émergents), qui propose aussi d'autres ressources au sujet du virus A(H7N9) ainsi que de l'information sur le coronavirus du syndrome respiratoire du Moyen-Orient (MERS-CoV).

Les trois premiers cas d'infection au virus A(H7N9) ont été signalés en Chine le 31 mars 2013. Les infections se sont manifestées surtout chez des patients qui avaient eu des contacts confirmés ou soupçonnés avec des oiseaux infectés, principalement de la volaille. Le document d'AMMI Canada affirme que la transmission soutenue entre humains n'a pas encore été documentée à  ce jour.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.