Sign In

Dr. Gigi Osler elected the 2017 CMA president-elect nominee​​

Dr. Gigi Osler has been selected by the members of Doctors Manitoba to be the nominee as president-elect of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA). Voting took place from February 1 to 22.  The other candidates were Dr. Martha Ainslie, Dr. Marcia Anderson DeCoteau, Dr. Darcy Johnson and Dr. Shannon Prud'homme. Pending confirmation of the nomination by General Council in August, Dr. Osler will serve as president-elect until August 2018, where she will then become CMA President.

"Now more than ever, we need a healthy and unified voice for Canadian doctors," explains Dr. Osler in one of her videos. "Think of it this way – what do you need and want from the CMA? And, more importantly, how can we better engage with you?"

A graduate from the University of Manitoba, Dr. Osler has been practicing in Winnipeg since 1998. She is currently Head of the Section of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at St. Boniface Hospital and is an Assistant Professor with the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Manitoba.

Dr. Osler's work is not limited to Canada; she has spent time educating physicians and nurses in Vietnam as part of the Canadians Helping Kids in Vietnam initiative, and has also volunteered in Africa to help train other surgeons.

Throughout her campaign, Dr. Osler promised to address physician health, ensure work-life balance and promote leadership development for all physicians. Excellence in medicine runs throughout her family, as Dr. Osler is the great-great-great niece in law of Sir William Osler, one of Canada's most famous physicians and former CMA President. 

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La Dre Gigi Osler élue candidate au poste de présidente désignée de l’AMC pour 2017​

La Dre Gigi Osler a été choisie par les membres de Doctors Manitoba pour être candidate au poste de présidente désignée de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC). Le vote s'est tenu du 1er au 22 février. Les autres candidates et le candidat étaient les Dres Martha Ainslie, Marcia Anderson DeCoteau, Shannon Prud'homme et le Dr Darcy Johnson. En attendant la confirmation de sa nomination par le Conseil général au mois d'août, la Dre Osler siégera comme présidente désignée jusqu'au mois d'août 2018 et deviendra ensuite la présidente de l'AMC.

« Maintenant plus que jamais, nous avons besoin d'une voix positive et unie pour les médecins canadiens », explique la Dre Osler dans l'une de ses vidéos. « Posez-vous la question suivante : qu'attendez-vous de l'AMC? Et surtout, comment pouvons-nous mieux collaborer avec vous? »

Diplômée de l'Université du Manitoba, la Dre Osler exerce la médecine à Winnipeg depuis 1998. Elle est actuellement la chef du service d'oto-rhino-laryngologie et de chirurgie cervico-faciale à l'Hôpital Saint-Boniface et est professeure adjointe au département d'oto-rhino-laryngologie et de chirurgie cervico-faciale à l'Université du Manitoba.

Le travail de la Dre Osler ne se limite pas au Canada : elle s'est consacrée à l'éducation des médecins et des infirmières au Vietnam dans le cadre de l'initiative d'aide aux enfants vietnamiens « Canadians Helping Kids in Vietnam » et a également travaillé bénévolement en Afrique pour aider à former d'autres chirurgiens.

Tout au long de sa campagne, la Dre Osler a promis de se pencher sur la santé des médecins, sur l'équilibre travail-vie personnelle et sur la promotion du développement du leadership pour tous les médecins. L'excellence en médecine est omniprésente dans sa famille, la Dre Osler étant l'arrière-arrière-petite-nièce par alliance de Sir William Osler, l'un des plus célèbres médecins canadiens et ancien président de l'AMC.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.