Sign In

Dr. Sandy Buchman elected the 2019 CMA president-elect nominee 

Dr. Sandy Buchman has been selected by members of Ontario Medical Association, who are Canadian Medical Association members, to be the nominee for president-elect of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA). Dr. Buchman has spent much of his career as a family physician, and with a focus on providing home-based palliative care.  He is also a past president of the Ontario College of Family Physicians and the College of Family Physicians of Canada.

The other candidates were Dr. Mamta Gautam, Dr. Atul Kapur and Dr. Darren Larsen.  Pending confirmation of the nomination by General Council in August 2018, Dr. Buchman will serve as president-elect until August 2019, when he will then become CMA President.  All members of the OMA who are also CMA members were eligible to vote in this year's election.  Voting took place from February 15th to March 7th. 

 "Supporting physicians is critical to reach our collective potential to have a significant impact on the health and wellbeing of Canadians, "said Dr. Buchman.  "The federal election in 2019 will be a pivotal opportunity to have a strong principled voice, to act in unity and be represented by experienced leadership to ensure that our voice and concerns are heard, respected and influential. "

Dr. Buchman campaigned on the principle that in order to improve the patient experience, and the health of the population, we must also improve the work life of physicians, and medical learners. He also thanked the other candidates – Drs. Gautam, Kapur and Larsen for a very collegial and collaborative campaign.

"We need to value our health as well as that of our patients. As CMA President, one of my main priorities will be to continue to strengthen the work being done to address professionalism, physician stress and burnout".

With his long history in family medicine, Dr. Buchman also supports a "patient -centred" perspective for the CMA.  

"It is time for patients to have a seat at the table," said Dr. Buchman. "Shared responsibility, accountability and collaboration in co-designing improvements in the health care system are innovative ways to bring about the changes we need."

Dr. Buchman has received several awards for his work as a family physician, including an Award of Excellence from the College of Family Physicians of Canada for his work as Regional Primary Care Lead for the Toronto Regional Cancer Program at Cancer Care Ontario, and the Family Physician of the Year for Southern Ontario award, from the Ontario College of Family Physicians.

Outside of his medical practice, Dr. Buchman has devoted many volunteer hours to helping provide hospice care for the homeless, and has also volunteered on medical missions to Africa and South America.  He holds a BA from Western University, and an MD from McMaster University.  He is married with three grown sons, three daughters-in-law, and four grandchildren.

Forward any comments about this article to:

Connexion

Le Dr Sandy Buchman élu aspirant au poste de président désigné de l'AMC pour 2019

Le Dr Sandy Buchman a été choisi par les membres de l'Association médicale de l'Ontario (OMA) qui sont membres de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) pour devenir aspirant au poste de président désigné de l'AMC. Le Dr Buchman a consacré une grande partie de sa carrière à la médecine familiale et particulièrement à la prestation de soins palliatifs à domicile. Il a aussi été président du Collège des médecins de famille de l'Ontario et du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada.

Les autres candidats à ce poste étaient la Dre Mamta Gautam et les Drs Atul Kapur et Darren L​​arsen. Le Conseil général doit confirmer en août 2018 la nomination du Dr Buchman, moyennant quoi il deviendra alors président désigné et siégera jusqu'au mois d'août 2019 où il deviendra président de l'AMC. Tous les membres de l'OMA qui sont aussi membres de l'AMC avaient droit de vote au cours de la période de scrutin, qui s'est déroulée du 15 février au 7 mars.

Dr Buchman. Les élections fédérales de 2019 seront une occasion décisive d'exprimer nos principes haut et fort, de faire front commun et d'être représentés par des dirigeants d'expérience, afin que notre voix et nos préoccupations soient entendues, prises en compte et influentes. »

Le Dr Buchman avait axé sa campagne sur un principe, soit que l'amélioration de l'expérience du patient et de la santé de la population est tributaire de l'amélioration de la vie professionnelle des médecins et des apprenants en médecine. Il a aussi remercié les autres candidats, la Dre Gautam et les Drs Kapur et Larsen, d'avoir mené une campagne très collégiale, dans un esprit de collaboration.

« Nous devons accorder de l'importance à notre santé, au même titre que nous en accordons à celle de nos patients. Comme président de l'AMC, l'une de mes grandes priorités sera de continuer de consolider le travail dans le dossier du professionnalisme et dans celui du stress et de l'épuisement professionnel chez les médecins. »

Avec sa longue expérience en médecine familiale, le Dr Buchman favorise aussi la perspective du travail « axé sur les patients » adoptée par l'AMC.

« Il est temps que les patients aient leur place dans les discussions, a ajouté le Dr Buchman. La responsabilité partagée, la responsabilisation et la collaboration dans la conception de mesures d'amélioration du système de santé sont des façons novatrices de concrétiser les changements qui s'imposent. »

Le travail du Dr Buchman en médecine familiale a été récompensé par de nombreuses distinctions, notamment le Prix d'excellence du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada pour son leadership dans le cadre du Programme régional de cancérologie de Toronto mis en œuvre par Action Cancer Ontario et le prix du Médecin de famille de l'année pour la région du sud de l'Ontario du Collège des médecins de famille de l'Ontario.

Outre sa pratique médicale, le Dr Buchman a consacré bénévolement de nombreuses heures à prodiguer des soins palliatifs aux personnes sans-abri et il s'est aussi porté volontaire pour des missions médicales en Afrique et en Amérique du Sud. Il détient un B.A. de l'Université Western et il a obtenu son diplôme de médecine à l'Université McMaster. Il est marié et il a trois fils adultes, trois brus et quatre petits-enfants.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.