Sign In

End-of-life town hall: "We're here to talk about one of the most important issues of our time"

When the CMA held its latest public town hall session on end-of-life care in Whitehorse in April, it chose an auspicious day because the April 16 meeting coincided with National Advance Care Planning Day.

That alignment proved appropriate because encouraging Canadians to discuss their end-of-life wishes with loved ones has been a key message during all of the CMA’s 2014 town halls for both the public and its members.

Approximately 150 Yukon residents attended the Whitehorse meeting, and many of them told personal stories and discussed topics ranging from palliative care to euthanasia and physician-assisted dying.

It was the third in a series of five public town halls the CMA is hosting in conjunction with Maclean’s, and the meeting was also broadcast live via webcast, giving the discussion a national audience.

The meeting, which was chaired by Maclean’s Ottawa Bureau Chief John Geddes, featured a three-member panel:

  • Wenda Bradley, a family caregiver and community nurse
  • Dr. Danusia Kanachowski, a palliative care physician who practises in Whitehorse
  • Dr. Jeff Blackmer, director of ethics at the CMA

CMA President Louis Hugo Francescutti provided the opening and closing remarks, but stressed that his role was to listen on behalf of Canada’s doctors. “Your opinions are going to be so incredibly important,” he said.

“We are here to talk about one of the most important issues of our time, and one of the most complex,” added Geddes.

The complexity Geddes referred to was reflected well during the meeting, particularly via the heartfelt nature of many of the comments. Certain common themes were also apparent, such as the importance of having conversations about end-of-life wishes, acknowledging the reality of preparing for death, and the need for comprehensive palliative care services.

Local issues were also discussed, such as the value of the hospice in Whitehorse and the lack of a specific palliative care centre separate from the city’s hospital, as well as the absence of palliative services elsewhere in the Yukon.

When the discussion turned to euthanasia, Blackmer noted that the CMA opposes the practice. “We have our opinion, but we respect that this is a societal debate,” he said, adding that discussion is underway at the CMA about what parameters will be required in the event euthanasia is legalized in Canada.

The two remaining town-hall meetings will be held in Regina May 7 and Mississauga, Ont., May 27. The CMA is also consulting its members in a parallel series of meetings, and is hosting an online consultation for members at wwww.cmadialogue.ca. More than 1,000 physicians have already registered for that discussion, and meetings with members have been held in St. John’s, Edmonton, Fredericton and Vancouver.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Assemblée publique sur les soins de fin de vie : « Nous sommes ici pour parler de l’un des enjeux les plus importants de notre époque »

Quand l’AMC a tenu sa dernière assemblée publique de consultation sur les soins de fin de vie à Whitehorse en avril dernier, elle a choisi une journée des plus indiquées, le 16 avril étant la Journée nationale de la planification préalable des soins.

Cette coïncidence s’est révélée appropriée, car le fait d’encourager les Canadiens à discuter avec leurs proches de leurs souhaits en fin de vie est l’un des messages clés des assemblées publiques de consultation de l’AMC pour les membres et la population en 2014.

Environ 150 résidants du Yukon ont assisté à l’assemblée de Whitehorse, et nombre d’entre eux ont partagé des histoires personnelles et ont soulevé diverses questions, des soins palliatifs à l’euthanasie, en passant par l’aide médicale à mourir.

C’était la troisième d’une série de cinq assemblées publiques que l’AMC anime conjointement avec le magazine Maclean’s, et cette rencontre a été diffusée en direct sur le web, touchant ainsi un auditoire national.

L’assemblée, qui était présidée par le chef de bureau d’Ottawa du Maclean’s, John Geddes, présentait un groupe de trois experts :

  • Wenda Bradley, aidante familiale et infirmière communautaire
  • Dre Danusia Kanachowski, médecin en soins palliatifs pratiquant à Whitehorse
  • Dr Jeff Blackmer, directeur de l’Éthique à l’AMC

Louis Hugo Francescutti, le président de l’AMC, a prononcé les mots d’ouverture et de clôture, mais a précisé que son rôle était d’écouter au nom des médecins du Canada. « Votre opinion sera incroyablement importante », a-t-il dit.

« Nous sommes ici pour parler de l’un des enjeux les plus importants de notre époque, qui est aussi l’un des plus complexes », a ajouté M. Geddes.

La complexité à laquelle M. Geddes faisait allusion a été constatée pendant l’assemblée, surtout en raison de la nature émotive de nombre des commentaires. Certains thèmes communs ont été soulevés, dont l’importance de discuter des souhaits en fin de vie, la reconnaissance qu’il faut se préparer à la mort, et la nécessité d’avoir des services de soins palliatifs exhaustifs.

Des enjeux locaux ont également été soulevés, notamment la valeur de l’hospice de Whitehorse et l’absence d’un centre de soins palliatifs distinct de l’hôpital de la ville, de même que l’absence de services palliatifs ailleurs au Yukon.

Quand les discussions ont porté sur l’euthanasie, M. Blackmer a souligné que l’AMC s’oppose à cette pratique. « Nous avons notre propre opinion, mais nous respectons le fait que c’est un débat de société », a-t-il dit, ajoutant que des discussions sont en cours à l’AMC sur les paramètres qui seront requis si jamais l’euthanasie est légalisée au Canada.

Les deux dernières assemblées publiques de consultation auront lieu à Regina le 7 mai et à Mississauga (Ontario), le 27 mai. De plus, l’AMC consulte ses membres dans le cadre de rencontres parallèles, et tient des consultations en ligne avec ses membres au www.dialogueamc.ca. Plus de mille médecins se sont déjà inscrits afin de participer aux discussions, et des rencontres ont eu lieu avec des membres à St. John’s, Edmonton, Fredericton et Vancouver.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.