Sign In

Fee-for-service payments: down, but far from out

Fee-for-service (FFS) payments, which have anchored physician remuneration in Canada for decades, appear to be beating a slow but steady retreat in the face of growing popularity of other payment methods. Particularly popular are “blended payments” that combine different types of payments, from FFS to service contracts and practice incentives.

According to the CMA's Canadian Collaborative Centre for Physician Resources (C3PR), the proportion of MDs receiving at least 90% of their professional earnings from FFS has dropped from 66% in 1996 to 38% in 2013.

After analyzing data from the 2013 National Physician Survey (NPS), C3PR concluded: "The era of most physicians being paid solely by the fee-for-service method is over."

Its analysis of the NPS results also determined that FFS remains most popular in Alberta, where 47% of doctors reported getting at least 90% of their income via such payments. It is least popular in Prince Edward Island (14%) and the territories (10%).

Meanwhile, blended payments are most popular in PEI (55%) and New Brunswick (49%).

"Fee-for-service is by no means gone," says Lynda Buske, the C3PR manager. She pointed out that even physicians receiving blended payments typically received half of their income from FFS billings.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La rémunération à l’acte : en baisse, mais loin d’être disparue

La rémunération à l’acte, principale forme de paiement des médecins au Canada depuis des décennies, semble reculer lentement mais sûrement devant la popularité croissante des autres modes de rétribution. La rémunération « mixte », qui combine plusieurs modes de paiement (p. ex., rémunération à l’acte, contrats de service, incitatifs) est particulièrement populaire.

D’après le Centre canadien de collaboration sur les effectifs médicaux (C3EM) de l’AMC, la proportion des médecins qui reçoivent au moins 90 % de leurs revenus professionnels sous forme de rémunération à l’acte est passée de 66 % en 1996 à 38 %
en 2013.

Après avoir analysé les données du Sondage national des médecins (SNM) de 2013, le C3EM a conclu : « L’époque de la rémunération à l’acte comme seul mode de paiement pour la plupart des médecins est révolue. »

Son analyse des résultats du SNM a aussi montré que la rémunération à l’acte demeure la plus populaire en Alberta, où 47 % des médecins disent recevoir au moins 90 % de leurs revenus sous cette forme. Elle est la moins populaire à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (14 %) et dans les territoires (10 %).

Par ailleurs, la rémunération mixte est la plus populaire à l’Î.-P.-É. (55 %) et au Nouveau-Brunswick (49 %).

« La rémunération à l’acte est loi d’être disparue », explique Lynda Buske, gestionnaire du C3EM. Elle fait remarquer que même les médecins qui reçoivent des paiements mixtes reçoivent typiquement la moitié de leurs revenus de la facturation à l’acte.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.