Sign In

Goldman tells profession to “aim high”

When it comes to the unique value that physicians bring to society, Dr. Brian Goldman urged CMA delegates to “aim high” and expand the scope of care that physicians provide to patients and society.

Goldman, an emergency physician and host of the popular CBC radio show White Coat Black Art, gave the keynote speech at a strategic session on professionalism during the CMA’s General Council meeting, in which he focused on his new book – The Secret Language of Doctors – about the use of slang in medicine.

“Slang symbolizes current beliefs and attitudes and I think we should pay attention to them,” said Goldman, in discussing many of the slang terms used by physicians and other health care professionals when dealing with patients and each other.

Much of the slang used in medicine describes issues involving medical futility and the challenges of dealing with patients at the end of life. Such situations often reflect the deep moral distress physicians face when dealing with cases where patients are dying but the care expectations held by the patients and their families are different.

Goldman also touched on slang used by physicians to describe other physicians: he described this as a “lack of empathy” between doctors.

Overall, Goldman said he “skates down the middle” on whether the use of slang is productive, but he affirmed derogatory slang terms referring to patients should be eliminated. “I believe there will always be a place for slang,” he noted.

He said use of slang, or argot, in the medical work environment reflects symbolic or medical cultural issues and could reflect frustrations that need attention.

Speaking about the unique value proposition document prepared for the CMA and discussed over the last two days, Goldman said it reflected goals that are lofty “but not lofty enough.”

He argued the document understates the fundamental role physicians play in diagnosis, and also the fact that physicians have an unprecedented opportunity to define their own practice.

Goldman’s presentation was made available through a live webcast, with online comments on the address posted for delegates in the meeting room to see. Underscoring the reach of social media, the hashtag used for the meeting (#cmagc) was the fifth most popular hashtag used in Canada during the time period when Goldman was speaking.

Much of the discussion in an education session on Sunday, and following Goldman’s presentation, focused on three key areas the CMA has identified as defining the unique value of physicians: the knowledge physicians hold, the application of that knowledge and accountability.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Le Dr Goldman dit à la profession de « viser haut »

Parlant de la valeur unique que les médecins peuvent apporter à la société, le Dr Brian Goldman a pressé les délégués à l’Assemblée de l’AMC de « viser haut » et d’élargir la portée des soins que les médecins offrent aux patients et à la société.

Le Dr Goldman, urgentiste et animateur de l’émission radiophonique bien connue White Coat, Black Art, sur CBC, a prononcé le discours principal à une séance stratégique sur le professionnalisme pendant la rencontre du Conseil général de l’AMC, et a parlé de son nouveau livre – The Secret Language of Doctors – qui traite de l’utilisation de l’argot en médecine.

« L’argot symbolise les croyances et les attitudes du moment, et je crois que nous devrions y porter attention », a dit le Dr Goldman, parlant des nombreux mots d’argot utilisés par les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé quand ils discutent avec les patients et entre eux.

La majeure partie de l’argot utilisé en médecine sert à décrire des situations liées à la futilité médicale et aux défis posés par l’échange avec des patients en fin de vie. Souvent, de telles situations reflètent le profond malaise qu’éprouvent les médecins quand un patient se meurt, alors que lui et sa famille ont des attentes différentes quant aux soins pouvant être prodigués.

Le Dr Goldman a aussi parlé de l’argot utilisé par les médecins pour décrire leurs collègues : il a dit que c’était un « manque d’empathie » entre les médecins.

D’une manière générale, le Dr Goldman a dit être partagé quant à savoir si l’utilisation de l’argot est productive, mais a affirmé que les termes désobligeants utilisés pour parler des patients devraient être éliminés. « Je crois que l’argot aura toujours sa place », a-t-il souligné.

Il a dit que l’utilisation de l’argot dans le milieu de travail médical reflète des enjeux culturels médicaux ou symboliques, et pourrait illustrer des frustrations auxquelles il faudrait porter attention.

Commentant le document sur la proposition de valeur unique préparé pour l’AMC et débattu ces deux derniers jours, le Dr Goldman a dit qu’il reflète des objectifs nobles, « mais pas suffisamment nobles ».

Selon lui, le document minimise le rôle fondamental que jouent les médecins dans l’établissement des diagnostics, et le fait que les médecins ont une occasion sans précédent de définir leur propre pratique.

La présentation du Dr Goldman a été diffusée en direct sur le Web, et les commentaires en ligne étaient affichés dans la salle de réunion, à l’intention des délégués. Soulignant la portée des médias sociaux, le mot-clic utilisé pour la rencontre (#cmagc) était le cinquième mot le plus suivi au Canada pendant l’allocution du Dr Goldman.

La majeure partie des discussions tenues pendant une séance d’éducation le dimanche, après la présentation du Dr Goldman, était axée sur trois domaines clés qui, selon l’AMC, définissent la valeur unique des médecins : le savoir que détiennent les médecins, l’application de ce savoir et l’obligation redditionnelle.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.