Sign In

"Good bedside manner" leads to better online ratings for MDs: study

A new study involving Ontario urologists has determined that a good bedside manner tends to result in better online reviews from patients.

The analysis by Queen's University researchers involved an assessment of 3,288 online ratings for 224 urologists - 75% of the provincial total in that specialty - that had been posted on the popular RateMDs.com website.

The study's lead author, Dr. Michael Leveridge, said that even though many physicians are skeptical about the value of the online reviews, they reflect "one window into patients' minds that should not be ignored."

Online patient-rating sites have become popular worldwide, despite heavy criticism from some physicians. (In 2007, the CMA and Canadian Medical Protective Association sent letters to the site warning against the publication of defamatory comments about doctors, and some comments were removed as a result.)

Leveridge, an assistant professor of urology and oncology at Queen's, and medical student Sarah Ferrara presented their results at the annual meeting of the Canadian Urological Association.

Using an anonymized database, they assessed patients' comments and the resulting ratings received by the urologists. They found they had a mean score of 3.96 out of 5, with 67.4% rated 4 or higher.

Comments about good bedside manner were associated with higher ratings (mean 4.74 vs. 3.91, p < 0.001), while those about poor bedside manner produced lower ratings (mean 2.45 vs. 4.01, p < 0.001).

Patients who referred to surgery, a cancer diagnosis or good bedside manner rated their urologist highly, while longer comments, all-caps comments or the mention of a poor bedside manner were associated with lower ratings.

"It's heartening to see overall high opinions of Ontario urologists," said Leveridge. "Anecdotally, little trust is placed in these ratings by doctors due the 'acquisition bias' resulting from the fact that patients must be both self-directed and motivated enough to log on and complete the rating, which may self-select for extremes of emotion and opinion."

However, he concluded that because patient opinion, patient-reported outcomes and patient-centred care are "fundamental to modern medicine, these sites should... not be ignored."

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

« De bons contacts avec les patients » pour de meilleures évaluations des médecins en ligne

Une nouvelle étude auprès des urologues de l'Ontario a révélé qu'un bon contact avec les patients tend à produire de meilleures évaluations en ligne des médecins.

L'analyse effectuée par des chercheurs de l'Université Queen's a porté sur 3288 évaluations en ligne de 224 urologues, soit 75 % des médecins de cette spécialité dans la province, affichées sur le site web populaire RateMDs.

L'auteur principal de l'étude, le Dr Michael Leveridge, a dit que même si bien des médecins se montrent sceptiques quant à la valeur des évaluations en ligne, elles ouvrent « une fenêtre sur l'état d'esprit des patients qu'il ne faudrait pas négliger ».

Les sites internet d'évaluation des médecins par les patients sont devenus populaires partout dans le monde, malgré la vive critique de certains médecins à leur endroit. (En 2007, l'AMC et l'Association canadienne de protection médicale ont écrit au site pour les avertir de ne pas publier de commentaires diffamatoires au sujet des médecins, et certains commentaires ont été par la suite retirés.)

Le Dr Leveridge, professeur adjoint d'urologie et oncologie à l'Université Queen's, et l'étudiante en médecine Sarah Ferrara ont présenté leurs résultats à l'occasion du congrès annuel de l'Association canadienne d'urologie.

À partir d'une base de données anonymes, ils ont évalué les commentaires des patients et les scores reçus par les urologues. Ils ont constaté que les médecins avaient reçu un score moyen de 3,96 sur 5 et que 67,4 % d'entre eux avaient reçu un score de 4 ou plus.

Les commentaires au sujet de bons contacts avec les patients étaient associés à des scores plus élevés (moyenne de 4,74 c. 3,91, p < 0,001), tandis que les contacts avec les patients qualifiés de médiocres étaient associés à des scores plus faibles (moyenne de 2,45 c. 4,01, p < 0,001).

Les patients qui mentionnaient une chirurgie, un diagnostic de cancer ou de bons contacts avec le médecin accordaient un score élevé à leur urologue, tandis que les commentaires plus longs, écrits entièrement en majuscules ou mentionnant des contacts médiocres avec le médecin étaient associés à des scores plus faibles.

« Il est encourageant de voir que dans l'ensemble, les patients ont une bonne opinion des urologues de l'Ontario », a dit le Dr Leveridge. « Les médecins ne font guère confiance à ces évaluation en raison du "biais d'acquisition" (les patients prennent eux-mêmes la décision de commenter le médecin et doivent être suffisamment motivés pour aller en ligne et faire l'évaluation, ce qui peut résulter en une auto-sélection d'émotions et opinions extrêmes). »

Il conclut toutefois que l'opinion des patients, les résultats rapportés par ceux-ci et les soins axés sur les patients constituent « la base fondamentale de la médecine moderne et que, par conséquent, il ne faudrait pas balayer ces sites du revers de la main ».

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.