Sign In

Informed discussion characterizes Regina end-of-life town hall

We need to make well-funded, comprehensive palliative care services available to all and advance care directives need to be better crafted and promoted: These messages were delivered repeatedly at the most recent Canadian Medical Association (CMA) town hall meeting on end-of-life care held in Regina.

As for the hot-button topic of euthanasia or physician-assisted dying, audience members expressed diverse views on whether it should be legalized in Canada.

This fourth of five scheduled meetings in the national dialogue hosted by the CMA and Maclean’s magazine attracted about 100 people for an informed and thoughtful discussion. The stage had been set for the Regina meeting by a lengthy interview with CMA President Dr. Louis Hugo Francescutti published the morning of the meeting in the Regina Leader-Post newspaper.

“Doctors grappling with public calls for euthanasia and assisted suicide are seeking a second opinion – yours,” wrote Pamela Cowan in explaining the rationale for the initiative. “This is an issue that physicians are directly involved in and it's an issue that Canadians want to talk about,” said Francescutti.

Francescutti referenced the excellent palliative care received by his mother at the West Island Palliative Care Residence in Montreal. Coincidentally, the same day as the Regina meeting, a commentary by Teresa Dellar, executive director of that centre appeared in The Montreal Gazette calling for Canadians to have ready access to quality palliative care services.

The Regina meeting was moderated by Ken MacQueen, Vancouver bureau chief of Maclean’s and featuring a panel consisting of Dr. Jeff Blackmer, the CMA's director of ethics, Dr. Ken Stakiw, co-medical director of palliative care services for the Saskatoon Health Region and Claire Bélanger-Parker, a palliative care volunteer.

Following the same format as all the town halls, discussion focused on three main areas: advance care directives, palliative care services, and euthanasia and physician-assisted dying.

“We all have an obligation to prepare our exit strategy,” Bélanger-Parker said, discussing the importance of advance care directives and giving examples from her own personal experiences. “We need to leave our family well prepared for our departure.”

Clarity and communication is the key to such planning, Stakiw confirmed, while acknowledging that the lack of standardization for advance care directives can create challenges.

Stakiw also reiterated comments made by palliative care experts at other town halls that while multidisciplinary palliative care services in urban centres are excellent, this “falls apart” even a few miles outside of major centres. “Shocking” was how Bélanger-Parker described the lack of palliative care services in First Nations reserves.

“Anybody who can get palliative care … their troubles are over,” a 96-year-old audience member commented.

A report on the public town hall meetings – which will conclude in Mississauga May 27 - will be released in June and will provide background information for the CMA's General Council meeting in August where it is anticipated delegates will debate the euthanasia issue.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’assemblée publique sur les soins de fin de vie à Regina : des discussions éclairées

Il faut offrir à tous des services de soins palliatifs complets et bien financés, et mieux formuler les directives de planification préalable des soins et en faire la promotion : ces messages ont été réitérés à la dernière assemblée publique sur les soins de fin de vie de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC), tenue à Regina.

Quant à la question épineuse de l’euthanasie ou de l’aide médicale à mourir, les participants ont exprimé divers points de vue sur la légalisation de cette pratique au Canada.

Cette quatrième de cinq rencontres prévues dans le cadre du dialogue national organisé par l’AMC et le magazine Maclean’s a attiré une centaine de personnes, qui ont participé à une discussion éclairée et réfléchie. L’assemblée de Regina avait été bien préparée, avec la publication d’une longue entrevue du président de l’AMC, le Dr Louis Hugo Francescutti, le matin même dans le quotidien Regina Leader-Post.

« Les médecins, confrontés à un public qui réclame l’euthanasie et l’aide au suicide, recherchent une seconde opinion – la vôtre », a écrit Pamela Cowan, expliquant la raison d’être de cette initiative. « C’est une question qui touche directement les médecins et dont les Canadiens veulent parler », a dit le Dr Francescutti.

Le Dr Francescutti a parlé des excellents soins palliatifs que sa mère a reçus à la Résidence de soins palliatifs de l’Ouest-de-l’Île, à Montréal. Par pure coïncidence, le jour de l’assemblée de Regina, des commentaires de Teresa Dellar, directrice exécutive de cette résidence, affirmant que les Canadiens doivent avoir un accès rapide à des services de soins palliatifs de qualité, avaient été publiés dans The Montreal Gazette.

L’assemblée de Regina était animée par Ken MacQueen, chef du bureau de Vancouver du Maclean’s, et mettait en vedette un groupe d’experts formé du Dr Jeff Blackmer, du Dr Ken Stakiw, codirecteur médical des services de soins palliatifs de la Région de santé de Saskatoon, et de Claire Bélanger-Parker, une bénévole en soins palliatifs.

Selon le même format que les autres assemblées publiques, les discussions étaient axées sur trois thèmes : les directives préalables, les services de soins palliatifs, et l’euthanasie et l’aide médicale à mourir.

« Nous avons tous l’obligation de préparer notre stratégie de sortie », a affirmé Mme Bélanger-Parker, au sujet de l’importance des directives préalables et citant en exemple ses propres expériences. « Il faut que notre famille soit bien préparée à notre départ. »

La clarté et la communication sont la clé d’une telle planification, a confirmé le Dr Stakiw, tout en reconnaissant que le manque d’uniformité des directives peut poser des défis.

Le Dr Stakiw a également réitéré des commentaires formulés par des spécialistes de soins palliatifs à l’occasion d’autres assemblées publiques : même si les services de soins palliatifs multidisciplinaires dans les centres urbains sont excellents, tout « s’effondre » à quelques kilomètres seulement des grands centres. Mme Bélanger-Parker a qualifié de « choquant » le manque de soins palliatifs dans les réserves des Premières Nations.

« Tous ceux qui peuvent recevoir des soins palliatifs […] n’ont plus de problèmes », a souligné un membre de l’auditoire âgé de 96 ans.

Un rapport sur les assemblées publiques – qui se termineront à Mississauga le 27 mai – sera publié en juin et fournira de l’information de fond pour la réunion du Conseil général de l’AMC en août, où l’on s’attend à ce que les délégués discutent de la question de l’euthanasie.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.