Sign In

"Landmark" agreement maintains reciprocity between Canadian, US medical schools

The CMA says a new "landmark" agreement signed by the organizations that oversee medical school accreditation in Canada and the US has achieved two major goals.

"This agreement protects the unique Canadian context in accreditation standards, while maintaining the strong historical ties with our American colleagues that have served medical graduates so well," Dr. Brian Brodie, chair of the CMA Board of Directors, said after it was signed Dec. 12, 2013.

The details are spelled out in a memorandum of understanding (MOU) that formalizes the partnership between the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) in the US and Canada's Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS). It was signed by those organizations' sponsoring bodies: the American Medical Association, Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), CMA and Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC). The CMA and AFMC co-founded CACMS in 1979.

Dr. Martin Vogel, the CMA's vice-president, community building, says the AFMC led the process that resulted in the MOU. "They deserve a lot of credit because they took the lead through their Future of Medical Education in Canada initiative," said Vogel. "The end result is good for everyone."

The AAMC says the agreement formally recognizes the two countries' commitment to quality medical education. "This will enhance our ability to maintain the world's premier medical education system and ensure it serves the ever-evolving health needs of our nations," said Dr. Darrell Kirch, the AAMC president.

Accreditation via LCME/CACMS is a detailed process used to ensure that uniform standards are applied at all 134 medical schools in the US (including Puerto Rico) and the 17 schools in Canada. It includes peer review and quality assurance, and requires schools to meet established standards.

For instance, when the University of Ottawa medical school was last accredited in 2010 it met 127 of the 131 standards that were then being reviewed. In a background document, the university said those results are considered "exceptionally good." It will undergo accreditation again in 2017-18; every medical school undergoes a full on-site assessment visit at least once every eight years.

Dr. Charmaine Roye, the CMA's director of professional affairs, says the formal agreement took about two years to finalize. She said it will be welcomed by Canadian medical students because of the reciprocity it provides for the undergraduate training received by medical students in North America, regardless of whether they went to school in the US or Canada.

One significant aspect of the new agreement is its recognition that schools in the two countries are not carbon copies. For instance, no Canadian medical school operates on a for-profit basis, while numerous American schools do. There is also recognition of the significant importance Canadian health care places on the social determinants of health as factors affecting health outcomes.

Vogel said there is still more work to do. "The ultimate goal of the AFMC is to align accreditation across the three training levels: undergraduate, postgraduate and CME," he said.

In the end, said Roye, the negotiations completed in December were designed to formalize an informal relationship that has existed for more than 50 years. "The CMA is very pleased with the way negotiations were conducted, and with the end result," she said.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Un accord « marquant » maintient la réciprocité entre les facultés de médecine canadiennes et américaines

L'AMC annonce qu'un nouvel accord « marquant », signé par les organisations qui supervisent l'agrément des facultés de médecine au Canada et aux États-Unis, a atteint deux objectifs majeurs.

« Cet accord protège le contexte unique du Canada en matière de normes d'agrément, tout en préservant les liens historiques étroits établis avec nos collègues américains, qui ont su si bien servir les diplômés en médecine », a déclaré le Dr Brian Brodie, président du Conseil d'administration de l'AMC, après la signature qui a eu lieu le 12 décembre 2013.

Les détails de l'accord figurent dans un protocole d'entente qui officialise le partenariat entre le Liaison Committee on Medical Education aux États-Unis (LCME) et le Comité d'agrément des facultés de médecine du Canada (CAFMC). Il a été signé par les organismes parrainant ces organisations, soit l'American Medical Association, l'Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), l'AMC et l'Association des facultés de médecine du Canada (AFMC). L'AMC et l'AFMC ont cofondé le CAFMC en 1979.

Le Dr Martin Vogel, vice-président, Développement de la communauté à l'AMC, a expliqué que l'AFMC a piloté le processus menant à l'accord. « Ils méritent beaucoup d'éloges parce qu'ils ont pris les devants par le biais du projet sur l'avenir de l'éducation médicale au Canada », a-t-il affirmé. « Le résultat final est bénéfique pour tous ».

L'AAMC dit que l'accord reconnaît officiellement l'engagement des deux pays envers une formation médicale de qualité. « Cet accord nous permettra d'améliorer notre capacité de maintenir le plus important système de formation médicale au monde et d'assurer que celui-ci puisse continuer à servir les besoins en évolution constante de nos deux pays », a déclaré le Dr Darrell Kirch, président de l'AAMC.

L'agrément par le biais du LCME et du CAFMC est un processus exhaustif permettant d'assurer que des normes communes sont appliquées dans chacune des 134 facultés de médecine des États-Unis (y compris à Puerto Rico) et dans les 17 facultés de médecine au Canada. Il comprend des dispositions d'examen par les pairs et d'assurance-qualité et exige que les facultés se conforment aux normes établies.

Par exemple, lorsque la Faculté de médecine de l'Université d'Ottawa a obtenu l'agrément en 2010, elle répondait à 127 des 131 normes qui étaient alors examinées. L'Université a affirmé, dans un document de travail, que ces résultats étaient considérés comme « exceptionnellement bons ». La Faculté sera à nouveau soumise au processus d'agrément en 2017-2018; chaque faculté fait l'objet d'une visite d'agrément complète sur place au moins tous les huit ans.

La Dre Charmaine Roye, directrice des Affaires professionnelles à l'AMC, explique qu'il a fallu deux ans pour rédiger l'accord. Elle dit que les étudiants canadiens y seront favorables car il garantit la réciprocité des études de premier cycle des étudiants en médecine partout en Amérique du Nord, qu'ils aient suivi leur formation aux États-Unis ou au Canada.

L'un des aspects importants de la nouvelle entente est la reconnaissance du fait que les écoles de médecine des deux pays ne sont pas identiques. Par exemple, aucune faculté de médecine du Canada n'est une entité à but lucratif, alors que de nombreuses écoles américaines le sont. Elle reconnaît également l'importance significative que le système de santé du Canada accorde aux déterminants sociaux de la santé comme facteurs influant sur les résultats en matière de santé.

Le Dr Vogel affirme qu'il reste du travail à faire. « L'objectif ultime de l'AFMC est d'harmoniser l'agrément aux trois niveaux de formation : premier cycle, doctorat et EMC », a-t-il ajouté.

Finalement, dit la Dre Roye, les négociations complétées en décembre ont été conçues de façon à officialiser une relation informelle qui existait depuis plus de 50 ans. « L'AMC est très satisfaite de la façon dont les négociations ont été menées et, en particulier, du résultat final », a-t-elle déclaré.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.