Sign In

MDs warned to be cautious with their Facebook settings

The main inference to be drawn from a recent analysis involving family doctors in the Ottawa region is that a "reassuring" proportion of Canadian FPs do not share details from their Facebook pages with the general public.

However, the study of the 1,000 family physicians active in the Ottawa region did reveal that 10% of these physicians had Facebook profiles that could be viewed by anyone - including their patients.

The study's authors stress that doctors should be cautious when considering how much information they will make available online. "While a minority of physicians have a publicly accessible Facebook profile, those that do are sharing personal information that may expose them to unwanted intrusions into their personal lives and unexpected patient interactions outside of the office. Physicians should be aware of options for making their online information less publicly accessible."

Data for the study, conducted by Dr. Kamila Premji and colleagues from the Department of Family Medicine and the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Ottawa, were collected in 2012 by using information from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario to identify all active FPs in the Ottawa area. The degree to which these physicians made Facebook information available was then collected using a dummy Facebook account, and the researchers found that 102 physicians matched with publicly viewable Facebook profiles. (In 2010, an ePanel survey conducted by the CMA revealed that 51% of Canadian physicians had a Facebook account.)

The researchers concluded that the majority of Ottawa-area FPs are keeping their Facebook profiles confidential, as is recommended by many social media guidelines for physicians. However, they also warned that the 10% of FPs with public profiles that made their photos, relationships and other personal information available - and allowed them to be contacted directly through Facebook - left the doctors "vulnerable to breaches in professionalism and boundaries."

The study, published in the British Journal of Medicine & Medical Research, concluded: "Many users are likely unaware that their information is publicly viewable and that there are steps they can take to make their OSN [online social networking] usage more private and secure."

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les médecins doivent user de prudence dans la configuration de leur page Facebook

La principale conclusion à tirer d'une récente analyse auprès des médecins de famille de la région d'Ottawa, c'est qu'une proportion « rassurante » de ceux-ci ne partagent pas les détails de leur page Facebook avec le grand public.

L'étude de 1000 médecins de famille actifs dans la région d'Ottawa a toutefois révélé que les profils Facebook de 10 % d'entre eux étaient visibles pour tout le monde, y compris leurs patients.

Les auteurs de l'étude soulignent que les médecins devraient user de prudence lorsqu'ils choisissent l'information qu'ils et elles affichent en ligne. « Le profil Facebook d'une minorité de médecins seulement est accessible au grand public, mais ceux et celles qui partagent ainsi des renseignements personnels s'exposent à des intrusions non voulues dans leur vie personnelle et à des interactions inattendues avec les patients à l'extérieur de leur cabinet. Les médecins devraient connaître les options de configuration qui permettent de réduire l'accessibilité publique de leur information affichée en ligne. »

Les données de l'étude, effectuée par la Dre Kamila Premji et ses collègues du Département de médecine familiale et de la Faculté des sciences de la santé de l'Université d'Ottawa, ont été recueillies en 2012 à partir des renseignements du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario qui ont permis d'établir une liste de tous les médecins de famille actifs dans la région d'Ottawa. Le degré de visibilité du profil Facebook a ensuite été établi à l'aide d'un compte Facebook fictif, à partir duquel les chercheurs ont pu constater que 102 des médecins avaient un profil Facebook public. (En 2010, un sondage auprès du Forum électronique de l'AMC a révélé que 51 % des médecins du Canada avaient un compte Facebook.)

Les chercheurs ont conclu que la majorité des médecins de famille de la région d'Ottawa protègent la confidentialité de leur profil Facebook, ainsi que le recommandent les nombreux guides sur l'utilisation des médias sociaux à l'intention des médecins. Ils ont aussi souligné que les médecins de famille constituant les 10 % dont le profil était public permettaient ainsi à quiconque de voir leurs photos, leurs liens personnels et autres renseignements privés, ce qui les exposait à être contactés directement par l'entremise de Facebook et les rendait « vulnérables à l'outrepassement des limites professionnelles ».

L'étude, publiée dans le British Journal of Medicine & Medical Research, concluait que : « Beaucoup d'utilisateurs ne savent probablement pas que leur information est visible pour le grand public et qu'il existe des mesures à prendre pour rendre leur présence sur les réseaux sociaux plus privée et protégée. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.