Sign In

Medicine's Twitter traffic growing

Research involving use of the CMA's main Twitter channel indicates that tweeting by Canada's doctors is on the upswing.

The research, which involved 411 physicians who had been following @CMA_DOCS, showed a consistent increase in the use of the social media tool. The results were presented in a poster presentation at the Medicine 2.0 World Congress on Social Media, Mobile Apps, Internet/Web 2.0 in September.

Results of the study, conducted by Drs. Naheed Dosani and Stephen Pomedli, came as no surprise to Dr. Chris Simpson.

Simpson, a cardiologist based in Kingston, Ont., began using Twitter regularly earlier this year during his successful campaign to become Ontario's nominee to serve as president-elect of the CMA. In an interview in the CMA's Future Practice magazine, Simpson described Twitter as an "extremely useful" tool because it collects large amounts of medical and political information in one place.

He is also starting to recognize the useful role it can play in medical education. "For those of us who have the philosophy that we want to graduate docs who are better than we are, Twitter is a great thing," he said. (The full interview with Simpson and other doctors who are using Twitter regularly is available in the September 2013 issue of Future Practice.)

During their well-attended poster presentation, Dosani and Pomedli said Twitter has emerged as the dominant social media platform for health care in Canada because it supports "increasingly rich" interactions between health providers and the public.

Because of the challenges associated with assessing Twitter use within Canada's entire physician population, Dosani and Pomedli - residents at the University of Toronto - chose to focus only on the doctors who followed and were followed by the @CMA_DOCS account.

Their analysis showed that 47% of this cohort identified themselves as family physicians, and 68% were from Ontario. However, the study population also included physicians from numerous disciplines, different regions and every career stage.

An analysis of the 193,192 tweets sent by these physicians from July 2012 to August 2013 showed a "steady and consistent increase" in their Twitter traffic. Dosani and Pomedli noted that the tweets covered numerous topics, and were not limited to discussions about health and health care.

"Based on the increasing frequency of Twitter use among this cohort, there is a need for more awareness and acceptance of, and academic approaches to, social media use among clinicians," they concluded.

A more comprehensive assessment of Twitter use by Canadian physicians will soon be available because social media use is one of the topics to be covered in the 2014 National Physician Survey.

As well, the CMA will be surveying its e-Panel members next year to assess trends in the use of social media by doctors. The last survey was conducted in 2010.

The CMA's policy on physician use of social media, Social media and Canadian physicians: issues and rules of engagement, was adopted in 2011.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Utilisation accrue de Twitter par les médecins

Les études portant sur l'utilisation du principal canal Twitter de l'AMC révèlent que les médecins du Canada se servent de plus en plus de ce mode de communication.

L'étude auprès de 411 médecins qui suivent @CMA_DOCS montre une hausse croissante de l'utilisation de ce média social. Les résultats de l'étude ont été présentés sur affiche en septembre au Congrès mondial « Medicine 2.0 » sur les médias sociaux, les applis mobiles, l'internet et le web.

Les résultats de l'étude, réalisée par les Drs Naheed Dosani et Stephen Pomedli, n'ont pas étonné le Dr Chris Simpson. Ce dernier, cardiologue de Kingston (Ont.), a commencé à utiliser Twitter régulièrement plus tôt cette année alors qu'il faisait campagne (avec succès) pour devenir le candidat de l'Ontario au poste de président désigné de l'AMC. Dans une entrevue donnée au magazine La pratique de l'avenir, le Dr Simpson a décrit Twitter comme un outil « extrêmement utile » parce qu'il réunit une grande quantité d'information médicale et politique en un seul lieu.

Il commence aussi à reconnaître le rôle utile que Twitter pourrait jouer en éducation médicale. « Pour ceux d'entre nous qui souhaitent que les futurs diplômés soient encore meilleurs médecins que nous, Twitter est formidable », dit-il. (Pour lire le texte intégral de l'entrevue avec le Dr Simpson et d'autres médecins qui utilisent Twitter régulièrement, voir www.cma.ca/futurepractice.)

Au cours de leur séance d'affiche, très populaire, les Drs Dosani et Pomedli ont dit que Twitter avait émergé comme plate-forme sociale dominante pour les soins de santé au Canada, parce que ce média appuie les interactions « de plus en plus riches » entre les fournisseurs de soins et le public.

En raison des défis que présenterait une évaluation de l'utilisation de Twitter à l'échelle de l'ensemble de la population canadienne, les Drs Dosani et Pomedli - résidents à l'Université de Toronto - ont choisi de cibler uniquement les médecins qui suivent le compte @CMA_DOCS et sont suivis par celui-ci.

Leur analyse a montré que 47 % des membres de cette cohorte s'identifient comme médecins de famille et que 6 % d'entre eux sont en Ontario. La population étudiée comportait cependant aussi des médecins de nombreuses disciplines, de diverses régions et à toutes les étapes de leur carrière.

Une analyse de 193 192 messages Twitter envoyés par ces médecins entre juillet 2012 et août 2013 a montré une « augmentation graduelle et soutenue » des échanges. Les Drs Dosani et Pomedli ont remarqué que les messages portaient sur un grand nombre de sujets et ne se limitaient pas aux discussions sur la santé et les soins de santé.

« D'après la fréquence croissante de l'utilisation de Twitter dans cette cohorte, on peut conclure que les cliniciens et les milieux universitaires devraient être mieux sensibilisés à l'utilisation des médias sociaux et les accepter davantage », ont-ils conclu.

Une évaluation plus complète de l'utilisation de Twitter par les médecins du Canada sera bientôt disponible, car l'utilisation des médias sociaux sera au nombre des sujets qu'abordera le Sondage national des médecins en 2014.

Aussi, l'AMC consultera les membres de son Forum électronique l'an prochain pour évaluer les tendances de l'utilisation des médias sociaux chez les médecins. Le dernier sondage à ce sujet a été effectué en 2010.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.