Sign In

Member participation options growing at CMA meeting

Unprecedented opportunities for member engagement and participation will exist at this year’s annual General Council meeting of the Canadian Medical Association.

The 147th annual General Council of the CMA will be held in Ottawa from August 17-20.

Any CMA members who are not already elected delegates to General Council can attend the meeting in person as observers, although voting on motions is reserved for accredited physician delegates. For those unable to attend, the number of options for observing proceedings and providing input has increased year by year.

Members have already been invited to participate in an online survey conducted last month to provide input on the major issues under discussion at this year’s meeting. Results from this poll will be used to inform discussions during the relevant GC sessions.

As they have for several years, members and others will be able to watch live and archived proceedings of the meeting at cma.ca/gc2014.

Members are also encouraged to log on to cma.ca on Monday, 3:15-4:30 (ET) for live streaming of an information session with the CMA Board of Directors. The Members’ Forum has become a popular venue for open and frank discussions of any items that members want to raise with the association leadership. Questions are taken from the floor and can be submitted online to membershour@cma.ca prior to the meeting or during the session.

For the first time this year, members are also invited to participate in a live chat and online voting opportunity during the education session dealing with marijuana for medical purposes to be held Monday from 1:45-3:05 pm (ET). Details will be available at cma.ca/gc2014.

Also for the first time this year, the CMA is initiating a Medical Student Ambassador Program and is inviting 10 Ontario medical students to participate in the meeting.

Regular reports on decisions made at General Council will be posted on cma.ca as always along with stories on the most day’s key issues. For the first time this year, the CMA will also be producing video newscasts for the day’s highlights over the three days that General Council is in session. These newscasts, in addition to major speeches, will be posted to the CMA YouTube channel.

Members who do attend General Council as observers but are not voting delegates will have the opportunity to provide their input on topics that are discussed during the meeting through an electronic voting system.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les options de participation des membres plus nombreuses à l’assemblée de l’AMC

Des possibilités d’engagement et de participation sans précédent seront offertes aux membres à l’assemblée annuelle du Conseil général de l’Association médicale canadienne cette année.

La 147e assemblée annuelle du Conseil général de l’AMC aura lieu à Ottawa du 17 au 20 août prochains.

Tous les membres de l’AMC qui ne sont pas déjà des délégués élus au Conseil général peuvent assister à l’assemblée en tant qu’observateurs, mais le droit de vote sur les motions sera réservé aux médecins délégués officiels. Pour les membres qui ne peuvent assister en personne, les options d’observation des travaux et de participation aux discussions augmentent d’année en année.

Les membres ont déjà été invités à participer à un sondage en ligne le mois dernier afin de faire connaître leur point de vue sur les principaux points qui seront soumis aux discussions à l’assemblée de cette année. Les résultats de ce sondage contribueront à orienter les discussions pendant les séances du CG visées.

Comme c'est le cas depuis plusieurs années, les membres et autres intéressés pourront regarder les débats en direct et les assemblées archivées sur amc.ca/cg2014.

De plus, nous encourageons les membres à se connecter à amc.ca lundi de 15 h 15 à 16 h 30 (heure de l’Est) pour voir la diffusion en direct d’une séance d’information avec le Conseil d'administration de l’AMC. Le Forum des membres est très apprécié pour discuter de façon franche et ouverte de toute question que les membres souhaitent soumettre aux dirigeants de l’Association. Les questions proviennent de l’auditoire et peuvent être soumises en ligne à membershour@cma.ca avant l’assemblée ou pendant la séance.

Pour la première fois cette année, les membres sont invités à participer à un clavardage en direct et à un vote en ligne pendant la séance éducative sur la question de la marijuana à des fins médicales, qui aura lieu lundi de 13 h 45 à 15 h 05 (heures de l’Est). Des précisions seront fournies sur amc.ca/cg2014.

Également pour la première fois cette année, l’AMC lance un programme d’ambassadeur étudiant et invite 10 étudiants en médecine de l’Ontario à participer à l’assemblée.

Comme toujours, des rapports réguliers sur les décisions rendues par le Conseil général seront affichés sur le site amc.ca, de même que des articles sur les principaux points soulevés pendant la journée. Pour la première fois cette année, l’AMC produira aussi des reportages vidéo sur les points saillants de la journée pendant les trois jours de séance du Conseil général. Ces reportages, de même que les principaux discours, seront affichés sur la chaîne YouTube de l’AMC.

Les membres qui assistent en qualité d’observateurs mais qui ne sont pas des délégués votants pourront exprimer leur point de vue sur les sujets soulevés pendant l’assemblée par l'intermédiaire d’un système de vote électronique.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.