Sign In

Members urge federal government to protect tax fairness for physicians ​

Physicians from across the country attending the annual meeting of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) expressed concerns over proposed changes to the federal tax regime that could have serious unintended consequences on medical practices.

"Effects of the federal budget this year have the potential to significantly damage the (practice) structures that we have created and take away many of the supports that we have reached agreement on with our provincial government to support academic work and research as well as patient care," said Dr. Atul Kapur, a delegate from Ottawa.

In the 2016 federal budget released in late March, the government recognized the important contribution of health care practitioners as small businesses, following intensive advocacy efforts by the CMA and its members. While access to the incorporation framework has been maintained, the budget also proposed several technical changes targeting commercial ventures that have established a partnership with multiple corporations each claiming a small business deduction.

It is these changes that have caused concern among incorporated physicians, particularly those in the academic health science setting and certain specialties such as oncology, radiology and anesthesiology. If these proposed changes go through, they could force these partnerships to break up, which would have serious negative impacts on medical research projects, education and training for the next generation of physicians as well as Canadians' access to vital medical services.

"This proposed federal legislation is very disturbing to those of us in the academic centres because it would significantly impact what we're able to do in the research arena, the development of guidelines, the application of guidelines and following through," said Dr. Hugh Scully, a CMA past-president and current president of the academic health organization at the University Health Network in Toronto. "There's a very real concern about this, certainly from the academic setting."

CMA members are taking part in a grassroots advocacy campaign to educate parliamentarians on the potential negative impacts of proposed changes to the incorporation framework and can now send their concerns directly to their Member of Parliament, to Finance Minister Bill Morneau and to the ongoing public consultation being conducted by the government.

The CMA will continue to reach out and advocate on the issue through the consultation and legislative process ahead.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les membres exhortent le gouvernement fédéral à protéger l’équité fiscale pour les médecins ​

Les médecins de partout au Canada présents à l'assemblée annuelle de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) ont manifesté les préoccupations que soulèvent chez eux les modifications proposées du régime fiscal fédéral qui pourraient avoir de graves conséquences inattendues sur les cabinets de médecins.

« Les effets du budget fédéral cette année pourraient causer de graves dommages aux structures d'exercice que nous avons créées et faire disparaître un grand nombre des moyens de soutien sur lesquels nous nous sommes entendus avec notre gouvernement provincial pour appuyer le travail et la recherche universitaires, ainsi que les soins aux patients », a déclaré le Dr Atul Kapur, délégué d'Ottawa.

Dans le budget 2016 dévoilé fin mars, le gouvernement a reconnu la contribution importante des professionnels de la santé comme petits entrepreneurs à la suite des efforts intenses de représentation déployés par l'AMC et ses membres. L'accès au cadre de constitution en société est maintenu, mais le budget a aussi proposé plusieurs changements techniques visant les entreprises commerciales qui ont établi une société de personnes comportant de multiples personnes morales dont chacune réclame la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises.

Ce sont ces changements qui préoccupent les médecins dont la pratique est constituée en société, et en particulier ceux qui œuvrent dans le contexte universitaire des sciences de la santé et dans certaines spécialités comme l'oncologie, la radiologie et l'anesthésiologie. Si les changements proposés sont adoptés, ils pourraient forcer ces sociétés de personnes à se dissocier, ce qui aurait de graves répercussions négatives sur les projets de recherche en médecine, l'éducation et la formation de la prochaine génération de médecins, ainsi que sur l'accès des Canadiens à des services médicaux vitaux.

« Cette mesure législative proposée par le fédéral est très troublante pour ceux d'entre nous qui œuvrent dans des centres universitaires parce qu'elle aura des répercussions importantes sur ce que nous pouvons faire dans les domaines de la recherche, de l'élaboration, de l'application, ainsi que du suivi de lignes directrices », a déclaré le Dr Hugh Scully, ancien président de l'AMC et actuel président de l'organisation universitaire de santé au Réseau universitaire de la santé à Toronto. « Sans aucun doute, cette possibilité fait l'objet de préoccupations très concrètes, dans le milieu universitaire. »

Les membres de l'AMC participent à une campagne de représentation locale afin d'informer les parlementaires au sujet des effets négatifs que pourraient avoir des changements proposés du cadre de constitution en société et peuvent maintenant faire part de leurs préoccupations directement à leur député fédéral et au ministre des Finances Bill Morneau.

L'AMC continuera de cherchera à intervenir dans ce grand dossier au cours de la consultation et du processus législatif qui suivront.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.