Sign In

Nunavut MDs finally a "working part" of CMA

Thanks to the Ontario Medical Association (OMA), physicians in Nunavut now have their own representative on the CMA's General Council (GC).

About 15 doctors reside in the vast northern territory, which is also served by fly-in physicians who make scheduled visits. Nunavut covers more than 2 million square kilometres and is home to about 33,300 people, with Inuit residents accounting for 85% of the total population.

"I'm very pleased that Ontario can step forward and help bring greater attention to the needs and concerns of Nunavut's medical community," OMA President Scott Wooder said in August when he announced the OMA would sponsor a Nunavut doctor's attendance at "Canada's parliament of medicine," the CMA's annual General Council meeting. "Ontario doctors have always participated in the treatment of Nunavut patients, so it's fitting that physicians from both jurisdictions are now formally linked."

Surgeon Katherine Canil, who has practised in Nunavut for 18 years, says the territory's doctors are delighted with the move.

"A group of long-term, dedicated physicians is living and working with the most marginalized people in Canada," she said. "We ourselves have also been marginalized because of our remoteness and small numbers.

"On behalf of the wonderful, resilient and worthy people we serve, we're most grateful to the OMA and CMA for this incredible opportunity to be a working part of the CMA."

GC delegates subsequently approved a bylaw amendment that makes the Nunavut participation possible.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les médecins du Nunavut : enfin « élément fonctionnel » de l'AMC

Grâce à l'Association médicale de l'Ontario (AMO), les médecins du Nunavut ont maintenant leur propre représentant au Conseil général (CG) de l'AMC.

Une quinzaine de médecins habitent dans ce vaste territoire du Nord, aussi desservi par des médecins visiteurs qui s'y rendent périodiquement par avion. Le Nunavut s'étend sur plus de 2 millions de kilomètres carrés et compte quelque 33 300 habitants; sa population se compose à 85 % d'Inuits.

« Je suis très heureux que l'Ontario puisse contribuer à attirer davantage l'attention sur les besoins et les préoccupations de la communauté médicale du Nunavut », a déclaré en août le président de l'AMO, Scott Wooder, lorsqu'il a annoncé que son association parrainerait la participation d'un médecin du Nunavut au « Parlement de la médecine canadienne », l'assemblée annuelle du Conseil général de l'AMC.

« Les médecins de l'Ontario ont toujours participé au soin des patients du Nunavut; il est donc de mise que les médecins des deux administrations soient désormais officiellement liés. »

La chirurgienne Katherine Canil, qui exerce au Nunavut depuis 18 ans, a dit que les médecins du territoire sont ravis de cette décision.

« Un groupe de médecins dévoués se consacrent depuis longtemps à vivre et travailler auprès des personnes les plus marginalisées du Canada », a-t-elle déclaré. « Nous-mêmes avons aussi été marginalisés en raison de notre éloignement et de la petite taille de notre effectif. »

« Au nom des gens merveilleux, résilients et méritants que nous servons, nous sommes très reconnaissants à l'AMO et l'AMC de cette incroyable occasion de devenir un élément fonctionnel de l'AMC. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.