Sign In

Ottawa orders plain-language labelling for drugs

In an attempt to reduce the amount of "preventable harm" within the health care system, the federal government has ordered drug manufacturers to make their product labelling and safety information easier for Canadians to understand.

"[We] will be making plain language a requirement on drug packages in order to help prevent adverse drug reactions and medication errors," then Health Minister Leona Aglukkaq said when she announced the changes in June.

Aglukkaq said the "plain language initiative" is an attempt to make the use of prescription drugs more beneficial. "Medications offer significant benefits but they can also carry some risks," she said.

Health Canada says the information accompanying prescription drugs contains crucial information, but because it can be "confusing to follow," unnecessary harm may result (see Plain language labelling).

President Anna Reid said the CMA is pleased with the change. "We believe plain-language drug product labelling will not only improve Canadians' knowledge about the medications they take but also improve patients' safety and adherence to drug therapy," she said.

The labelling changes will be rolled out for both prescription and non-prescription drugs, with prescription products affected first. Health Canada and drug manufacturers are currently in the midst of a 75-day consultation on the upcoming regulatory changes.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Ottawa impose l'étiquetage des médicaments en langage clair

Le gouvernement fédéral, qui veut réduire les préjudices évitables dans le système de santé, a ordonné aux fabricants de médicaments de rendre leurs étiquettes de produits et les renseignements sur l'innocuité des médicaments plus faciles à comprendre pour les Canadiens.

« [Nous] obligerons les fabricants à utiliser un langage clair sur les emballages de médicaments afin d'aider à prévenir les effets indésirables et les erreurs d'administration des médicaments », a déclaré l'ex-ministre de la Santé, Leona Aglukkaq, en annonçant les changements, le 14 juin.

Mme Aglukkaq a dit que « l'initiative sur le langage clair » constitue une tentative pour rendre plus bénéfique l'utilisation des médicaments d'ordonnance. « Les médicaments offrent des avantages importants, mais ils peuvent aussi comporter des risques », a-t-elle ajouté.

Selon Santé Canada, « les étiquettes et emballages des médicaments contiennent de l'information essentielle » mais qui peut être « difficile à comprendre ou susciter de la confusion » et par conséquent, ces produits peuvent causer inutilement du tort (Étiquetage en langage clair).

La présidente de l'AMC, Anna Reid, affirme que l'AMC se réjouit du changement. « Nous croyons que l'étiquetage en langage clair non seulement aidera les Canadiens à mieux connaître les médicaments qu'ils prennent, mais améliorera aussi la sécurité des patients et l'observance des traitements », a-t-elle dit.

Les modifications à l'étiquetage seront d'abord appliquées aux médicaments d'ordonnance, puis aux médicaments en vente libre. Santé Canada et les fabricants de médicaments ont entrepris une consultation de 75 jours au sujet des modifications réglementaires.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.