Sign In

“Outstanding” accredited CME available for asking at cma.ca

The CMA’s Virtual Waiting Room suite of continuing medical education (CME) courses that deal with a variety of clinical topics now includes the final course in the series, Heart Failure.

It was posted on cma.ca in March, completing a project that was launched four years ago thanks to an education grant from Pfizer Canada. The first course became available in 2011, and since then there have been almost 4,400 course registrations.

The courses have tackled some of the most challenging clinical issues facing physicians, including Alzheimer’s dementia and type 2 diabetes. The topics were chosen based upon results from a poll of CMA members.

“This was a very complex project that brought together experts from several universities and specialty societies,” says Dr. Sam Shortt, the CMA’s director of quality initiatives. “We were in uncharted territory when we launched the program, but we’ve been delighted with the way things worked out — the feedback we’ve received from doctors who have completed modules has been very positive.”

The modules, which are available only to CMA members, are eligible for CME credits from both the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. Credits are transferred automatically upon completion of a course.

Shortt, who described the module content as “outstanding,” says the courses have earned high marks from participants, with 97.8% of physicians who took a course from October to December 2013 saying they would take another one. As well, the majority would recommend the modules to colleagues.

The topics covered are:

  • Acute/chronic pain
  • Acute coronary syndromes (now archived)
  • Alzheimer’s dementia
  • Chronic kidney disease
  • Common emergencies
  • Heart failure
  • Lipid guidelines
  • Obese patient
  • Parkinson’s
  • Resistant hypertension
  • Skin disorders
  • Type 2 diabetes

Complete details about all courses are available online.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Des cours agréés d’EMC « remarquables » disponibles sur demande sur amc.ca

La série de cours d’éducation médicale continue (EMC) sur divers sujets cliniques offerte par la « Salle d’attente virtuelle de l’AMC » a été complétée par l’affichage en ligne du module portant sur l’insuffisance cardiaque.

L’affichage de ce dernier cours sur amc.ca en mars complète un projet lancé il y a quatre ans grâce à une subvention à l’éducation de Pfizer Canada. Le premier cours a été offert en 2011 et depuis, la série a attiré près de 4400 inscriptions.

Les cours ont abordé certaines des questions cliniques les plus difficiles auxquelles les médecins sont confrontés, y compris la démence de type Alzheimer et le diabète de type 2. Les sujets ont été choisis en fonction des résultats d’un sondage effectué auprès des membres de l’AMC.

« Il s’agissait d’un projet complexe qui a réuni des experts de plusieurs universités et sociétés de spécialités », explique le Dr Sam Shortt, directeur des initiatives sur la qualité à l’AMC. « Nous étions en terrain inconnu lorsque nous avons lancé le programme, mais nous sommes ravis du succès du projet — les commentaires que nous avons reçus des médecins qui ont complété des modules ont été très positifs. »

Les modules, qui ne sont offerts qu’aux membres de l’AMC, sont admissibles aux crédits d’EMC du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Les crédits sont transférés automatiquement une fois le cours terminé.

Le Dr Shortt, qui a décrit le contenu des modules comme étant « remarquables », affirme que les cours ont reçu des participants une évaluation très positive. En effet, 97,8 % des médecins ayant suivi un cours entre octobre et décembre 2013 ont affirmé qu’ils en suivraient un autre. De plus, la majorité recommanderaient les modules à leurs collègues.

Les cours portent sur les sujets suivants :

  • La douleur aiguë et chronique
  • Les syndromes coronariens aigus (maintenant archivé)
  • La démence de type Alzheimer
  • La défaillance rénale chronique
  • Les urgences courantes
  • La défaillance cardiaque
  • La gestion des lipides
  • Le patient obèse
  • La maladie de Parkinson
  • L’hypertension résistante au traitement
  • Les maladies de la peau
  • Le diabète de type 2

Des renseignements complets au sujet de tous les cours sont affichés en ligne.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.