Sign In

​Physician  perspective on end-of-life issues fully aired

Access to palliative care services rather than medical aid in dying was the priority for many delegates speaking during a second consecutive year of extensive discussion at General Council on end-of-life care.

But an advisory resolution brought forward by the CMA Board of Directors and adopted at the meeting supported the right of all physicians, within the bounds of existing legislation, to follow their conscience when deciding whether to provide medical aid in dying.

Dr. Ewan Affleck, who presented the resolution on behalf of the board, said the resolution represents a modification of existing policy and recognizes that unanimity on the issue of medical aid in dying within the profession is not going to be possible.

A straw vote of delegates taken at the meeting showed 70% felt the CMA should revise its existing policy on euthanasia and physician-assisted death, which opposes physician involvement in medical aid in dying. In another vote, 78% felt universal access to palliative care services would not eliminate the need for euthanasia and physician-assisted death.

For the past year, the CMA has been holding a national dialogue with Canadians and its membership on end-of-life care issues. As a result, CMA President Louis Hugo Francescutti said he felt the association had elevated the discussion “to a whole new level”— a comment echoed by many delegates who thanked the CMA for its initiative.

The session started with a video summary of many of the moving comments heard at the six public town hall meetings held across Canada earlier this year.

Results of the survey of almost 5,000 CMA members conducted earlier this summer were also presented. Findings showed:

  • 44.8% said they were in favour of legalizing physician-assisted death
  • 36.3% said they felt euthanasia should be legalized
  • 26.7% said they would be likely or very likely to participate if physician-assisted death was legalized

Among panel presenters at the strategic session, delegates heard from Eric van Wijlick, a health scientist from the Royal Dutch Medical Association in the Netherlands, where physician-assisted dying is legal.

Van Wijlick stressed that since the 2001 passage of legislation permitting physician-assisted dying there has been no “slippery slope” or widening of indications for the practice. He also stressed the provision of physician-assisted dying and palliative care services are part of the same care process. Of the 14,000 requests for medical aid in dying each year in the Netherlands, he said, about 3,800 are honoured.

The meeting was also addressed by Dr. Angela Genge, a neurologist and expert on incurable neuromuscular and neurodegenerative diseases, and by Ontario Medical Association Past President Scott Wooder.

Genge presented what she described as a case study in discussions around the provision of physician-assisted death, and Wooder discussed the OMA initiative he led last year to develop a strategy on end-of-life care.

When it comes to end-of-life discussions, Genge said “the elephant in the room is the family.” She also noted that the ability to have a good discussion with a patient who has a terminal condition is not innate or part of what students are taught when pursuing a medical degree.

Wooder said a key finding from the OMA study was the need to increase the “woefully small” number of people who engage in advance care planning. Extending the availability of palliative care is also a priority, he said.

Comments from delegates voiced during the debate:

  • Access to palliative care services “sucks”, lamented former CMA president John Haggie, from Newfoundland. “We don’t have a hospice in the province, anywhere.”
  •  “We all know palliative care services are inadequate”: Dr. Barry Turchen, British Columbia
  • “Increase supports for people who wish to die at home’: CMA former president Ruth Collins-Nakai, Alberta
  • “As family physicians, we must take palliative care back into our practices”: Dr. Suzanne  Strasberg, Ontario

Following the open discussion on end-of-life issues, delegates considered and approved several resolutions including:

  • supporting development of a strategy for advance care planning and palliative and end-of-life care in all provinces and territories
  • investigating and communicating Inuit, Metis and First Nations perspectives on euthanasia, physician-assisted death and end-of-life care
  • engaging in physician resource planning for an appropriate strategy for delivery of quality palliative care throughout Canada

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La perspective des médecins sur les enjeux de fin de vie mise au jour

L’accès aux services de soins palliatifs, et non pas l’aide médicale à mourir, était la priorité de nombreux délégués qui se sont exprimés lors d’une deuxième année consécutive de discussions exhaustives à la rencontre du Conseil général sur les soins de fin de vie.

Cependant, une résolution de consultation présentée par le Conseil d'administration de l’AMC et adoptée à la rencontre soutient le droit de tous les médecins, selon les limites des lois existantes, d’écouter leur conscience quand ils décident d’offrir ou non une aide médicale à mourir.

Le Dr Ewan Affleck, qui a soumis la résolution au nom du Conseil, a dit que cette résolution est une modification à la politique existante, et qu’elle reconnaît qu’il sera impossible d’arriver à une prise de position unanime sur la question de l’aide médicale à mourir au sein de la profession.

Un vote d’essai a révélé que 70 % des délégués estiment que l’AMC devrait revoir sa politique existante sur l’euthanasie et l’aide médicale à mourir, qui s’oppose à la participation des médecins à l’aide médicale à la mort. Un autre vote a révélé que 78 % des délégués pensent que l’accès universel à des services de soins palliatifs n’éliminera pas la nécessité de l’euthanasie et de l’aide médicale à mourir.

Cette dernière année, l’AMC a tenu un dialogue national avec les Canadiens et ses membres sur les enjeux des soins de fin de vie. Le président de l’AMC, le Dr Louis Hugo Francescutti, a dit qu’il estimait que l’Association avait élevé la discussion « à un niveau supérieur » — commentaire auquel ont fait écho de nombreux délégués, qui ont remercié l’AMC pour cette initiative.

La séance a commencé par un résumé vidéo de nombre des commentaires émouvants entendus lors des six assemblées publiques de consultation tenues un peu partout au pays plus tôt cette année.

Les résultats d’un sondage mené cet été auprès de quelque 5000 membres de l’AMC ont également été présentés. Ils indiquent que :

  • 44,8 % sont en faveur de la légalisation de l’aide médicale à mourir;
  • 36,3 % pensent que l’euthanasie devrait être légalisée;
  • 26,7 % participeraient probablement ou fort probablement à l’aide médicale à mourir si elle était légalisée.

L’un des présentateurs du panel à la séance stratégique était Eric van Wijlick, un chercheur en santé membre de l’Association médicale royale des Pays-Bas, pays où l’aide médicale à mourir est légale.

M. Van Wijlick a souligné que depuis l’adoption de la loi permettant l’aide médicale à mourir en 2001, il n’y a pas eu de « pente dangereuse » ou d’élargissement des indications au sein de la pratique. Il a ajouté que l’aide médicale à mourir et la prestation de soins palliatifs faisaient partie du même processus. Sur les 14 000 demandes d’aide médicale à mourir faites chaque année aux Pays-Bas, a-t-il précisé, environ 3800 sont acceptées.

Des allocutions ont également été prononcées par la Dre Angela Genge, une neurologue et spécialiste des maladies neuromusculaires et neurodégénératives incurables, et l’ancien président de l’Association médicale de l’Ontario, le Dr Scott Wooder. La Dre Genge a présenté ce qu’elle décrit comme une étude de cas lors des discussions sur l’aide médicale à mourir, et le Dr Wooder a parlé de l’initiative prise par l’AMO l’année dernière afin d’élaborer une stratégie sur les soins de fin de vie, initiative qu’il a dirigée.

En ce qui a trait aux discussions sur les soins de fin de vie, la Dre Genge a dit que « c'est la famille qui pos souvent problème ». Elle a également dit que la capacité d’avoir une discussion constructive avec un patient en phase terminale n’est pas innée et n’est pas prise en compte dans la formation des étudiants en médecine.

Le Dr Wooder a dit que l’un des résultats clés de l’étude de l’AMO était la nécessité d’augmenter le nombre « terriblement faible » de gens qui font une planification préalable des soins. L’amélioration de la disponibilité des soins palliatifs est aussi une priorité, a-t-il précisé.

Voici quelques-uns des commentaires faits par les délégués pendant le débat :

  • L’accès aux services de soins palliatifs « est nul », s’est plaint un ancien président de l’AMC, le Dr John Haggie, de Terre-Neuve. « Il n’y a aucun centre de soins palliatifs dans la province. »
  • « Nous savons tous que les services de soins palliatifs sont inadéquats » : Dr Barry Turchen, Colombie-Britannique.
  • « Il faut améliorer le soutien à ceux qui veulent mourir à la maison » : ancienne présidente de l’AMC, la Dre Collins-Nakai, Alberta.
  • « En tant que médecins de famille, nous devons ramener les soins palliatifs au sein de notre pratique » : Dre Suzanne  Strasberg, Ontario.

Après la discussion ouverte sur les enjeux des soins de fin de vie, les délégués ont étudié et approuvé plusieurs résolutions, notamment :

  • Soutenir l’élaboration d’une stratégie sur la planification préalable des soins et les soins palliatifs et de fin de vie dans l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires.
  • Se renseigner sur le point de vue des Inuits, des Métis et des Premières Nations sur l’euthanasie, l’aide médicale à mourir et les soins de fin de vie, et communiquer l’information recueillie.
  • Faire une planification des ressources pour élaborer une stratégie appropriée sur la prestation de soins palliatifs de qualité, partout au Canada.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.