Sign In

Physicians from across the country gather to discuss top issues in health 

Quebec City, Quebec, August 20, 2017 — Leaders of Canada's medical profession are gathering in Quebec City from August 20 to 23 to address some of the burning issues confronting the health of Canadians.

Top of the agenda is Canada's opioid crisis, medical aid in dying, innovation in health care and medical professionalism.

Federal Minister of Health Jane P​hilpott will deliver a keynote address on Monday, August 21, and Quebec Minister of Health and Social Services Gaétan Barrette will address the delegation on Tuesday, August 22.

In the context of this annual gathering, the CMA will also acknowledge a key milestone in the association's history – its 150th anniversary. The 2017 General Council and Annual Meeting is being held in Quebec City where the association was originally formed 150 years ago.

"With Canada's physicians coming together in Quebec City, there is no better time to build on 150 years of medical advances," states CMA President Dr. Granger Avery. "Canadian Health Care and the medical profession are at a cross-roads at this time, and our meeting in Quebec City, where CMA was founded 150 years ago, is an important opportunity to address the health challenges we face as a profession, and as a country as a whole".

Canadian physicians continue to play a key role in mitigating Canada's opioid crisis and experts and health care professionals who have been on the front lines of this issue will present their perspectives. This session will focus on how physician action and advocacy can help address the crisis, with a focus on the management and treatment of pain and addiction and through harm reduction.

Physicians, media and the public are encouraged to visit www.cma.ca to watch various sessions live over the course of the event. For the full program, please visit www.cma.ca/en/pages/gc-2017.aspx

Connexion

Des médecins de partout au pays se réunissent pour discuter d'enjeux majeurs en matière de santé 

Québec (Québec), le 20 août 2017 — Des leaders de la profession médicale se réuniront à Québec du 20 au 23 août afin de discuter de certains enjeux brulants d'actualité liés à la santé des Canadiens.

Les principaux points à l'ordre du jour sont la crise des opioïdes au Canada, l'aide médicale à mourir, l'innovation en soins de santé et le professionnalisme médical.

La ministre fédérale de la Santé, Jane Philpott, prononcera le discours liminaire le lundi 21 août, et le ministre québécois de la Santé et des Services sociaux, Gaétan Barrette, prononcera une allocution le mardi 22 août.

Dans le contexte de cette assemblée annuelle, l'AMC va également souligner une étape déterminante de son histoire – son 150anniversaire. Le Conseil général et l'Assemblée annuelle de 2017 ont lieu à Québec, ville où l'Association a été formée il y a 150 ans.

« Alors que les médecins du Canada se réunissent à Québec, le moment ne pourrait être mieux choisi pour tirer profit des 150 années de percées médicales », a déclaré le président de l'AMC, le Dr Granger Avery. « Les soins de santé et la profession médicale au Canada sont à la croisée des chemins, et notre rencontre à Québec, ville où l'AMC a été fondée il y a 150 ans, est une excellente occasion de discuter des défis en matière de santé auxquels nous faisons face en tant que profession et en tant que pays. »

Les médecins canadiens continuent à jouer un rôle clé dans l'atténuation de la crise des opioïdes, et des experts et des professionnels de la santé qui sont aux premières lignes de ce problème présenteront leur point de vue. Cette séance portera sur les mesures que peuvent prendre et préconiser les médecins afin de répondre à la crise, par la réduction des préjudices et en se concentrant sur la prise en charge et le traitement de la douleur et des toxicomanies.

Nous invitons les médecins, les médias et le grand public à visiter le site www.amc.ca pour suivre des séances en direct pendant l'événement. Le programme complet est présenté à l'adresse www.cma.ca/fr/pages/gc-2017.aspx.