Sign In

Rainy day on the Hill a productive one for CMA

Armed with persuasive new polling data on the importance Canadians place on the care of seniors, more than 30 CMA members braved the wind and rain of Parliament Hill April 8 to put this and other issues squarely in front of Canada’s federal politicians.

During the CMA’s annual Doctors in the House lobby day on Parliament Hill, the physicians held more than 80 meetings with MPs and senators, and discussed issues ranging from the health concerns surrounding a rapidly aging population to the shortage of palliative care services in Canada.

“One of the reasons the CMA exists is to be the national voice of Canadian physicians,” said CMA Board Chair Dr. Brian Brodie, “and today this voice was heard loud and clear.”

President-elect Chris Simpson welcomed participating physicians to the Hill, and said seniors’ issues will be critical for the CMA during the next federal election, expected in 2015. “We have never been better prepared,” he said before the meetings with MPs and senators began.

Prior to those meetings, participants were supplied with new polling data from Nanos Research. The company had surveyed the public on behalf of the CMA in 26 “battlefield” ridings across Canada in which the margin of victory was 3% or less in the 2011 federal election.

Pollster Nik Nanos said the findings provided “a look under the hood at Canadians’ perceptions of health care for seniors, and a look at the political ramifications.”

The key results include:

  • only 23% of respondents feel the federal government is ready to meet the future health care needs of Canadians
  • 87% believe federal political parties should make care of seniors a top priority in the next election
  • 87% support the CMA position calling for a pan-Canadian strategy on seniors’ care

Nanos said the findings indicated that Canadians are not prepared to raise taxes to fund seniors’ care, but support reduced government funding in other areas and the creation of tax-sheltered savings plans to help pay for seniors’ care.

During the lobby day physicians met with politicians from the three main parties, a list that included Rona Ambrose, the federal minister of health, and fellow cabinet ministers Gail Shea and Gary Goodyear. They also met NDP MP Thomas Mulcair, the leader of the official opposition, and MP Hedy Fry, the Liberal health critic.

Many of the participating physicians said the politicians they met had been receptive and engaged, and set aside extra time to discuss issues that were brought to their attention.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Une journée sur la Colline pluvieuse et productive pour l’AMC

Forts de nouvelles données de sondage éloquentes sur l’importance qu’accordent les Canadiens au soin des aînés, plus de 30 membres de l’AMC ont bravé le vent et la pluie sur la colline du Parlement le 8 avril afin de présenter cette question, et d’autres points importants, directement à des politiciens fédéraux.

Pendant la journée annuelle de lobbying Médecins en Chambre de l’AMC, des médecins ont assisté à plus de 80 rencontres avec des députés et des sénateurs afin de discuter de diverses questions, des préoccupations liées au vieillissement rapide de la population à la pénurie de soins palliatifs au Canada.

« L’une des raisons d’être de l’AMC consiste à représenter les médecins sur la scène nationale, a dit le président du Conseil d’administration de l’AMC, le Dr Brian Brodie. Cette voix s’est fait entendre haut et fort aujourd’hui. »

Le président désigné Chris Simpson a accueilli les médecins participants sur la Colline en disant que les questions touchant les aînés seront critique pour l’AMC aux prochaines élections fédérales, prévues en 2015. « Nous n’avons jamais été mieux préparés », a-t-il dit avant le début des rencontres avec les députés et les sénateurs.

Avant ces rencontres, on a communiqué aux participants de nouvelles données de sondage de Nanos Research. La firme a sollicité l’avis du grand public au nom de l’AMC dans 26 circonscriptions déterminantes partout au Canada, où la marge de la victoire a été de 3 % ou moins aux élections fédérales de 2011.

Selon le sondeur Nik Nanos, les résultats ont « permis de vraiment comprendre la perception qu’ont les Canadiens des soins aux aînés, et d’en examiner les ramifications politiques ».

Le sondage a notamment révélé ce qui suit :

  • seulement 23 % des répondants pensent que le gouvernement fédéral est prêt à répondre aux futurs besoins des Canadiens en matière de santé
  • 87 % pensent que les partis politiques fédéraux devraient traiter la question du soin des aînés en priorité aux prochaines élections
  • 87 % soutiennent la position de l’AMC, qui réclame une stratégie pancanadienne sur le soin des aînés.

Selon Nanos, les résultats indiquent que les Canadiens ne sont pas prêts à payer plus d’impôt pour financer le soin des aînés, mais sont en faveur d’une réduction du financement dans d’autres domaines et de la création de régimes d’épargne liés à des avantages fiscaux afin d’aider à payer pour le soin des aînés.

Pendant la journée de lobbying, les médecins ont rencontré des politiciens des trois principaux partis, dont Rona Ambrose, ministre fédérale de la Santé, et les ministres Gail Shea et Gary Goodyear. Ils ont également rencontré le leader du NPD Thomas Mulcair, chef de l’opposition officielle, et la députée Hedy Fry, porte-parole libérale sur la santé.

Nombre des médecins participants ont dit que les politiciens rencontrés se sont montrés réceptifs et engagés, et ont pris du temps additionnel pour discuter des questions qui ont été portées à leur attention.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.