Sign In

Residents get job-hunting help as employment market tightens

Growing concern about the employment outlook for some newly trained doctors has resulted in the creation of a job-search service designed specifically for residents.

The Canadian Association of Internes and Residents (CAIR) says its Transition into Practice Service (TIPS) is now fully operational and has already registered more than 130 residents. Under the program, TIPS contacts recruiters on residents' behalf to help them determine what positions are available or may become available.

Dr. Jesse Pasternak, a general surgery resident at McMaster University who chairs CAIR's Standing Committee on Health Human Resources, says TIPS was created because of growing concern that job openings for new doctors are becoming scarce in many areas, and particularly within hospital-based specialties.

On March 12, for instance, the CMA's online career centre listed 56 job openings for physicians. There was only one opening listed for orthopedic surgeons - that job was in Singapore - but across Canada more than 20 positions were available for family physicians. (On March 13, the Saskatchewan government offered a $120,000 incentive to doctors who settle in communities with fewer than 10,000 residents. The program is aimed at FPs.)

Bryan MacLean, the TIPS program manager, says there's little doubt that the employment outlook is causing anxiety among residents nearing the end of training, but he says the situation is "not as dire" as some think.

"Yes, things are tightening up," says MacLean, who has been working as a physician recruiter since 1999. "But no, there are not a lot of unemployed doctors."

In a recent article in the newsletter of the Canadian Association of Staff Physician Recruiters, MacLean wrote: "Some areas of the country are overstocked with doctors, while other areas are crying for more. New docs can't find jobs, while older docs can't retire because there is no one to replace them. The myriad of reasons 'why' is practically endless."

MacLean said his message for certain new specialists is simply that "you are not able to be too picky these days."

Pasternak says this is certainly true for new surgeons, including general surgeons - he said it is "almost unheard of" in Ontario to graduate from a surgical residency program and find full-time work immediately. "Everyone is kind of nervous," he said. "People finish training and then do a fellowship or start covering call."

MacLean thinks the job market has tightened in all areas except family medicine and psychiatry. He said orthopedic surgery has been hit particularly hard, forcing some new graduates to turn to part-time work and locums.

"But these things always swing back," he said, noting that a large cohort of baby-boomer physicians is rapidly approaching retirement age. "In around five years, 10 at a maximum, we won't have the orthopedic surgeons we need."

MacLean's suggestion for solving the current problem jibes with the CMA's own recent call for more job-trend data and career-planning resources for trainees. "We have to be able to let residents know in a defined way where the jobs are," MacLean said. "This would provide them with some security."

"We need a national strategy," adds Pasternak.

CMA President Anna Reid said the CMA has been targeting the need for this national approach to physician resource planning for decades. "We brought this up again last summer by recommending that Ottawa collaborate with medical groups to lead a benchmark study on the current specialty mix in Canada," she said. "We also need a supply- and needs-based projection to support health human resources planning."

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les résidents reçoivent de l'aide à la recherche d'emploi dans un marché du travail qui se resserre

La préoccupation croissante de certains médecins nouvellement formés au sujet de leurs perspectives d'emploi a donné lieu à la création d'un service de recherche d'emploi conçu spécifiquement à l'intention des résidents.

L'Association canadienne des médecins résidents affirme que son service Transition into practice ou TIPS est maintenant entièrement opérationnel et qu'il compte déjà plus de 130 résidents inscrits. Dans le cadre du programme, TIPS communique directement avec des recruteurs au nom des résidents afin d'aider ceux-ci à déterminer quels postes sont disponibles ou pourraient devenir disponibles.

Le nouveau service a été lancé en raison de la préoccupation grandissante des nouveaux médecins quant aux offres d'emploi qui se font rares dans plusieurs domaines, particulièrement dans certaines spécialités en milieu hospitalier.

Le 12 mars, par exemple, le centre des carrières en ligne de l'AMC proposait 56 offres d'emploi pour les médecins. Il n'y avait qu'un poste de chirurgien orthopédique - et cet emploi était à Singapour - mais plus de 20 postes de médecin de famille un peu partout au Canada. (Le 13 mars, le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan offrait une prime de 120 000 $ aux médecins pour s'établir dans des communautés de moins de 10 000 habitants. Le programme vise les médecins de famille.)

Bryan MacLean, gestionnaire du programme TIPS, explique qu'il ne fait guère de doute que les perspectives d'emploi inquiètent les résidents qui approchent de la fin de leur formation, mais il croit que la situation « n'est pas aussi désastreuse » que certains le pensent.

M. MacLean, qui recrute des médecins depuis 1999, dit que le marché de l'emploi « s'est resserré » en médecine mais qu'en fait, « il n'y a pas beaucoup de médecins au chômage ».

Dans un article récent paru dans le bulletin de la Canadian Association of Staff Physician Recruiters, M. MacLean écrivait : « Il y a trop de médecins dans certaines régions du pays alors que d'autres régions en réclament à grands cris. Les nouveaux médecins ne trouvent pas d'emploi, alors que les médecins plus âgés ne peuvent pas prendre leur retraite parce qu'il n'y a personne pour les remplacer. Il existe un nombre presque infini de raisons qui expliquent cette situation. »

M. MacLean dit que le message qu'il lance à certains nouveaux spécialistes est simplement que « de nos jours, il ne faut pas être trop difficile ».

Il croit que le marché de l'emploi s'est resserré dans tous les domaines sauf en médecine familiale et psychiatrie. Il explique que la chirurgie orthopédique a été la plus durement touchée, ce qui a forcé certains médecins nouvellement diplômés à travailler à temps partiel ou à faire des suppléances.

« Mais ces situations finissent toujours par se corriger », a-t-il dit, en notant qu'une cohorte importante de médecins baby-boomers approche rapidement de l'âge de la retraite. « D'ici cinq ans, dix tout au plus, nous n'aurons pas assez de chirurgiens orthopédiques pour répondre aux besoins. »

La suggestion de M. MacLean pour résoudre le problème actuel concorde avec l'appel récent de l'AMC en faveur de la production de plus de données sur les tendances du marché de l'emploi et de l'ajout de ressources en planification de carrière pour les résidents. « Nous devons être en mesure de dire aux résidents de façon plus précise où se trouvent les emplois », affirme M. MacLean. « Cela leur donnerait une certaine sécurité. »

Anna Reid, la présidente de l'AMC, explique que l'Association réclame depuis des décennies une démarche nationale en planification des effectifs médicaux.

« Nous avons soulevé la question encore une fois l'été dernier en recommandant à Ottawa de collaborer avec les associations médicales pour diriger une étude de référence sur la répartition actuelle des spécialités au Canada », a-t-elle dit. « Nous avons aussi besoin de projections fondées sur l'offre et la demande afin de soutenir la planification des ressources humaines en santé. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.