Sign In

Second Canadian MD to head MSF: "I refuse to get used to death"

For the second time, a Canadian physician has been elected international president of Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF).

Dr. Joanne Liu of Montréal, a McGill University graduate whose humanitarian career with MSF began in 1996, has helped earthquake victims in Haiti, Somali refugees in Kenya, tsunami survivors in Indonesia and victims of natural and war-related disasters in many other countries. She will assume the Geneva-based position in October.

"I have been blessed because I have been able to use my medical skills to help alleviate suffering for people in crisis," she says. "MSF works in very difficult situations, but I refuse to get used to death. We do everything to ensure patient survival, but we also go a step further to affirm people's humanity and protect their dignity."

Liu, a former program manager at MSF's Paris office, is a pediatrician with subspecialty training in pediatric emergency care; she practises at Sainte-Justine University Health Centre in Montréal.

Dr. James Orbinski, now the chair of global health at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto, was the first Canadian to serve as MSF's international president. In 1999, he accepted the Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the organization.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Deuxième médecin canadien à assurer la présidence de MSF : « Je refuse de m'habituer à la mort »

Pour la deuxième fois, un médecin canadien est élu à la présidence internationale de Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF).

La Dre Joanne Liu de Montréal, une diplômée de l'Université McGill dont la carrière humanitaire auprès de MSF a débuté en 1996, a aidé des victimes du séisme à Haïti, des réfugiés somaliens au Kenya, des survivants du tsunami en Indonésie et des victimes de désastres naturels et de conflits armés dans de nombreux autres pays. La Dre Liu entrera en fonction à Genève, au mois d'octobre.

« J'ai le privilège de pouvoir utiliser mes compétences médicales pour permettre de soulager les souffrances de ceux qui vivent une crise », dit-elle. « MSF travaille dans des contextes très difficiles, mais je refuse de m'habituer à la mort. Nous faisons tout notre possible pour permettre aux patients de survivre. Mais nous allons aussi plus loin en revendiquant l'humanité des gens et en protégeant leur dignité. »

La Dre Liu, ancienne directrice des programmes au bureau de MSF à Paris, est une pédiatre avec une formation de spécialité en soins d'urgence pédiatriques. Elle pratique au Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine de Montréal.

Le Dr James Orbinski, qui dirige actuellement le Département de santé mondiale à la Dalla Lana School of Public Health de l'Université de Toronto, a été le premier Canadien à assurer la présidence internationale de MSF. En 1999, il a reçu le Prix Nobel de la paix au nom de l'organisation.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.