Sign In

Statement by Dr. Laurent Marcoux, CMA president, on the occasion of National Physicians' Day in Canada​

Ottawa​ – May 1, 2018 –Today, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is celebrating Canada's physicians and physicians-in-training, bringing national attention to their contributions to patient care, research, teaching and innovation.

​It is fitting to celebrate National Physicians' Day on May 1, which marks the birthday in 1831 of Dr. Emily Stowe, Canada's first female practising physician. Dr. Stowe set an inspiring example of leadership for the generations of physicians who followed. Without her determination, we would not have the diverse and vibrant medical profession we do today.

From medical students to residents, to practising and retired physicians, the medical community is fueled by a passion for medicine and helping others. As we reflect on the role of physicians and medical learners in today's health care system, let's take a moment to recognize and be thankful for their hard work and achievements. I, personally, am thankful to be part of such a community.

The CMA is proud to join Ontario and Nova Scotia, who have traditionally acknowledged Doctors' Day at the provincial level on May 1. On behalf of Canadians, let me express our collective appreciation to our physicians and medical learners from coast-to-coast-to-coast. Thank you for all that you do, each and every day.

​Dr. Laurent Marcoux
CMA President

Connexion

Déclaration du Dr Laurent Marcoux, président de l'AMC, à l'occasion de la Journée nationale des médecins au Canada

Ottawa, le 1 mai 2018 – Aujourd'hui, l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) rend hommage aux médecins et aux médecins en formation du Canada en attirant l'attention du pays entier sur leurs contributions aux soins aux patients, à la recherche, à l'enseignement et à l'innovation.

Le 1er mai convient tout à fait pour célébrer la Journée nationale des médecins puisque cette date correspond à l'anniversaire de naissance, en 1831, de la Dre Emily Stowe, première femme à exercer la médecine au Canada. La Dre Stowe est un exemple de leadership et une source d'inspiration pour les générations de médecins qui l'ont suivie. Sans sa détermination, nous n'aurions pas la profession médicale diversifiée et dynamique que nous avons aujourd'hui.

Des étudiants en médecine aux médecins résidents, des médecins en exercice aux médecins à la retraite, la communauté médicale est alimentée par une passion pour la médecine et par le désir d'aider les autres. Alors que nous réfléchissons au rôle des médecins et des apprenants en médecine dans le système de soins de santé d'aujourd'hui, prenons quelques instants pour manifester notre reconnaissance pour leur travail acharné et leurs réalisations. Pour ma part, je suis honoré de faire partie d'une telle communauté.

L'AMC est fière de se joindre à l'Ontario et à la Nouvelle-Écosse qui, le 1er mai, ont traditionnellement souligné sur la scène provinciale la Journée des médecins. Au nom des Canadiens, je voudrais exprimer notre reconnaissance collective pour nos médecins et nos apprenants en médecine, d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Merci pour tout ce que vous faites, jour après jour.

​Le président de l'AMC
Dr Laurent Marcoux