Sign In

Statement by the Canadian Medical Association on "zero tolerance" U.S. immigration policy

​Ottawa – June 20, 2018 – The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) joins the American Medical Association (AMA) in strongly urging the U.S. administration to withdraw its "zero tolerance" policy that requires the separation of migrating children from their parents or caregivers.

As the voice of Canada's doctors, the CMA believes this policy contradicts what we all believe in – protecting and promoting children's health. Last summer, the CMA adopted a policy to promote legislative changes to protect migrants and refugees from arbitrary and indefinite detention in jails or jail-like facilities in Canada. The current situation unfolding in the U.S. and broadcasted across the world threatens children's well-being and may have a devastating impact on their future.

As we recognize World Refugee Day today – honoring the strength and perseverance of the millions of people displaced around the world – the CMA also urges the Canadian government to exercise its leadership role on this international issue on behalf of these children and their families.

Dr. Laurent Marcoux

CMA President

Connexion

Déclaration de l'Association médicale canadienne sur la politique américaine de « tolérance zéro » à l'endroit des migrants illégaux

​Ottawa, le 20 juin 2018. – L'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) se joint à l'American Medical Association (AMA) pour exhorter fortement l'administration américaine à révoquer sa politique de « tolérance zéro » exigeant que des enfants migrants soient séparés de leurs parents ou des personnes qui en prennent soin.

​À titre de porte-parole des médecins canadiens, l'AMC estime que cette politique contredit ce en quoi nous croyons tous : protéger et promouvoir la santé des enfants. L'été dernier, l'AMC a adopté une politique préconisant des modifications législatives visant à protéger les migrants et les réfugiés des détentions arbitraires et indéfinies dans des prisons et des installations de type carcéral au Canada. La situation qui prévaut actuellement aux États-Unis et qui est diffusée dans le monde entier menace le bien-être des enfants et pourrait avoir un effet dévastateur sur leur avenir.

En cette Journée mondiale des réfugiés, qui vise à souligner la force et la persévérance des millions de personnes déplacées partout dans le monde, l'AMC exhorte également le gouvernement canadien à exercer son leadership sur cette question internationale, au nom de ces enfants et de leur famille.

Dr Laurent Marcoux
Président de l'AMC